Ratings based on 1,681 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Nice hotel and close to Mall of America!

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Nice and clean hotel and a GOOD price!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone wants to stay next to Mall of America. They have a shuttle that takes you there so you don't have to worry about parking your car ;)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Comfortable and welcoming !

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Lovely oasis in the middle of the city. Felt safe and restful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our room was very run down/worn out.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: I liked that they were quite small so that I didn't have to walk down to the end of a mile long hallway to get to my room. They are close to the mall.
Cons: The employee moral, it is totally fine with me to feel "bha" and dull, or hate your job. But please do it where the guests can't see.
Location: The location was awesome, the main reason we went to the area was because of The Mall of America. If I remember correctly it's about 10-15 min away.
The staff were nice, just not great. They kind of seemed like it was just another boring day at work. Our room was very worn out and run down. By this I mean that the furniture had lots of nicks and scratches. I also found a clump of fur/hair in my bed in the middle of the night that was definitely not mine. Then when I woke up in the morning I found multiple strands of hair in my bed that were very long. I have very short hair so they weren't mine. They almost looked like a womens because they were so long.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomington, MN

Shopping Trip

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nice location
Loud air conditioner Limited TV channels No mini fridge No microwave No continental breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
The lobby is nice but they could really use a remodel - from the worn and poorly plastered walls in the halls to replacing the worn-out beds. Very uncomfortable. It was clean - but I hardly think it rated 4 stars; I would give it a 2.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Mary Ann, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Mary Ann Perpich Japs Director of Sales
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Rated too highly on Expedia

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: The beds, the towels, the power outlets (the one in the wall by my bed was loose so my charger kept falling out), and the wallpaper in the hallway
Location: Right off the 494 Freeway, close to Southdale Shopping Center, Perkin's, Trader Joe's, Marshall's, and a gas station.
I wasn't expecting a great resort-like stay when I got to the hotel, but I did expect decent at the least. While I was walking in to my room I noticed the hotel could use an update. It should at least seem nice from first glance. The wallpaper was coming off the walls and they were dirty from people touching them and from bags being dragged against them. I walked in to my room and it just smelled old. Later that night, I turned on the bedside lamp and it was broken, so I called the front desk to let them know that it was not working and to let housekeeping know to change it the following day- which never happened. After calling the front desk, I opened up my bed and there was a HUGE stain in my sheets. So gross and completely unacceptable. Housekeeping should've seen the stain and tossed the sheets while cleaning! I called the front desk again and they promptly sent someone upstairs to change my sheets. I obviously called Expedia to let them know what happened with the bed sheets, but having to pay for a new hotel while I was already in the area would have been costly and my hotel selection would be limited, and possibly worse, so we stayed at the Park Plaza. The pool and the gym were closed our last two days at the hotel. The gym was closed BECAUSE the pool was closed which was inconvenient. Why would someone have to go through the pool to get to the gym anyway? The staff was great and helpful. However, the ratings on this site are far from what this hotel deserves
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Mary Ann, Hotel Management
Dear Kristen, We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. I will share your feedback with our housekeeping staff, in order to avoid a similar situation in the future. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff. I will pass along your feedback to our team. Kind Regards, Mary Ann Perpich Japs Director of Sales
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marquette, mi

very nice location close to downtown Minneapolis

Posted Aug 19, 2014
hotel room is clean comfortable place very close to downtown Minneapolis Target Center very close to mall of America
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Beautiful hotel and 10 min away from Mall American

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great hotel choice i would come back again. The food was great. Your not far from stores, bars, Mall of America ,restaurants and Air port. The hotel has a shuttle bus. Very nice staff. The hotel is clean and cozy bedrooms. I wish I could have stayed longer. The beds are comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the hwy.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Room was nice and clean. Hallways were worn and needed updated. Hotel materials were outdated. It showed ice machine locations where ice machines were no longer there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic. Bring your own food/comforts

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Sheets were clean.
Cons: Better food. Outlet by the bed was not accessible (and kind of gross down back behind the bed to go digging for it too much).
Location: Was much farther from the airport than I had wanted.
Breakfast was a very sad experience for someone who likes to eat 'clean' and healthy. I was all sugary carbs, with some extra greesey bacon. Eggs were soaked in cheese. Only gluten free, dairy free option was some fruit and bacon (hopefully). And I got to pay $11 for my cup of fruit and slice of bacon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Mary Ann, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveler, We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you were not pleased with our breakfast offerings. This gives us the opportunity to review the situation and correct any deficiencies we may have with the variety of menu options. Our goal is to ensure fresh food is provided, and that healthy items are available for all of our guests. Again, thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Kind Regards, Mary Ann Perpich Japs Director of Sales