Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Greenfield, IN

Historic Hotel close to the Mississippi River

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The service, the waterpark and the location were excellent
Cons: The parking was pricey however had I not needed to get my car out a few times I had a feeling they wouldn't have charged me for that either.
Location: Right near the Riverfront. Close to an easy walking bridge. Walked down to many waterfront parks and restaurants. Minneapolis is a great city.
I was very impressed by the Depot Renaissance Hotel. We checked in and asked for a roll away bed which was delivered even before we got up to our room. The hotel which was which was in the hotel typically was 10 dollars per person although adults are free if they are just observing. The front desk ended up giving us 5 passes for free. My wife ran a 1/2 marathon that weekend and this was the host hotel so perhaps this was the reason for the generosity but I greatly appreciated it. They have an excellent breakfast buffet that is 16 dollars per person however for every paying adult they give one child the buffet for free. My wife and I paid but they gave all three of our children a free meal which made it very reasonable. Even Maple and bacon donuts, what a splendid treat! I will certainly stay here again next time we are in Minneapolis/St. Paul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Downtown, close to a lot .

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: There is no spa/hot tub available except in the waterpark during waterpark hours. Very limiting.Very noisy.
Location: Lots of new trendy places located within walking distance.
I liked the hotel but thought it was overpriced for what you get. Small room, decor needs updating - getting on the shabby side for the price. Thought it would be more elegantly old than just tired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, nice for kids

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The Depot is a really nice hotel. Great location in downtown. We went to a couple of Twins games, and the walk to Target Field was easy. The waterpark is great for little kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent facility, close to activities.

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Water park was a pleasant surprise, my grandson and I had a ball splashing around. Great service, food & beverag options were superb, staff courteous & attentive. 5 star rating at minimum.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff

Posted Jun 10, 2015
My first (poor) impression of this hotel was my check-in experience, and it was horrible! I did not write down her name, but the woman that checked us in was very rude and insistent that we change from a King room to double queen room to accommodate the comfort of my kids. Disregarding the fact that I was fully aware of what I had reserved and prepaid for, understanding there was a pull-out sofa for them to sleep on, which they have no problem doing. But yet, because she didn't mention anything to me about the extra cost of the pool uses, we had to return back to the desk to ask how to get passes for the pool. So if she was really concerned about my kids' stay, she would have mentioned that up front.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moorhead, MN

Great location close to the Mississippi River

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The location was important to us and it was great for a weekend getaway.
Location: The location is close to the river and great walking and biking paths.
We wanted access to the bike paths along the river and downtown activities. The location was great and the facilities were very nice as well. The room was clean, quiet, and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Our new favorite

Posted May 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel for family or couple's getaway. The Renaissance is our go-to hotel in Minneapolis!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun get away

Posted May 4, 2015
Great place to stay for theater night. The room and service was wonderful. Surprisingly quiet despite all the activities going on in the hotel. The restaurant and bar did not impress however: So so service, undercooked fish, darn good drinks though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eau Claire, WI

Walking distance to many places.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
First time we have stayed here but would not hesitate to come back. Very nice hotel, outdoor seating was very nice, parking was very convenient, within walking distance to many things. We had brunch in the restaurant and the staff was wonderful. Everything was clean and well kept. Over all a very pleasant experience.