Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Detroit, MI

autiful hotel with Historic Significance

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Hotel employees were genuinely accomodating, the place was IMMACULATE!
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Karen- Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am so happy to hear that our employees were so accomodating during your stay with us. It is fantastic to hear when our guests experience such great service. I'm also happy to hear that you found our property to be immaculate. Our Housekeeping staff works extremely hard to keep our property looking so good and I will be sure to share your kind words with their team as well. Thank you again for your fantastic review, we hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela from Minneapolis MN

Good location, nice view

Posted Mar 21, 2014
Pros: The room was nicely decorated, had a great view and was fairly spacious. The beds were ok--better than most hotel beds but not great.
Location: Central location close to everything.
Our room had a great view but also had trash from a previous guest in both trash cans. It took 2 calls and finally a visit to the front desk to get someone to take it out. The manager, Tom, was very apologetic and accommodating and gave us free parking (expensive at $15 a night) and dinner at the hotel restaurant. However, the dining experience was not good. The waitress didn't seem to know the menu because she gave us wrong information on 2 items. My friend's meal came before my wine and I had to ask for it 2 times after that. We asked for a manager and she (Randee) was great, got my wine right away, got my food (which was not what I'd ordered, but she resolved that as well) and was very kind and empathetic. The food that night was overall pretty bad (not just the service but the actual food) but we got 2 free breakfasts which were much better than the dinner. Overall, despite the problems we had, the staff addressed our complaints quickly and did everything they could to resolve the problem.
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Angela- Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear that it took more than one phone call to get your room fully cleaned. That is definitely not a standard of ours and I'm sorry if it had a negative impact on your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that Tom and Randee were able to take care of you and that you were able to enjoy our fantastic Charley's breakfast! Should you find yourself in the area again, I hope you will choose to stay with us so we can show you the best of the best in terms of service. Thank you again for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Heather from Msp MN

Great location!

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: location, staff, rooms were comfy,etc..
Friendly staff, very helpful. Great location downtown MSP! We stayed just one night but it was very pleasant and we had fun!
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Heather- Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am thrilled that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, that is what we strive for every day! I'm glad you had a pleasant stay and hope you find yourself in the area again for another night of fun! Thank you again for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Pickering, Ontario, Canada

Wonderful experience.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Clean and modern but a historic motif. Good location. Great price on expedia
Cons: Free Breakfast Buffet.
Location: Near the University. This was important as that is why we came to Minneapolis-The 2014 Big Ten Woman's Swimming Championships.
This is a fantastic Hotel. Clean, comfortable and friendly. It has a nice feeling. We especially enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the Hotel Restaurant. Staff were lovely. Great stay.
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Laura- Thank you for the taking the time to review your stay at the Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel. I'm happy to hear you took advantage of our breakfast buffet and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Should your travels ever bring you back to Minneapolis, we hope to host you again. Thank you again for your review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel. But was over charged multiple times.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Love this Hotel. We come here for our kidsto have a small bday party every once in a while. The small water park, ice skating and arcade is perfect for a small or large group to enjoy themselves. This last visit was great except for a couple things that I find difficult to except. 1. When checking in the Hotel staff told me with my booking on line I had 5 passes to the waterpark that came with my room. I didn't remember choosing that option, but she insisted and I told her I would only need 4 for the kids. Come to find out on my bill left under my door in the AM, no, they were not included. So when I checked out I explained to a different staff memeber and she explained the wording must have been confusing for me when the other staff said they "came with" the room. Fine, what ever. So, she was nice enough to take the cost off ($40+tax) then I see a $56 charge from the Bar that wasn't mine. She took that off. When I got home and checked my account I found 2 more charges pending in other increments. When I called she said those were holds on my account for the passes and bar tabs. THAT I DIDN'T AUTHORIZE nor were told about at check in. Never had this type if experience from any hotel, let alone a 5 star Hotel. Most likely won't go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable Hotel; Not So Reasonable Food

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Location and history (it used to be a train depot).
Cons: The food. The food was "ok" but didn't warrant the $30 - $40 price tags per meal. Breakfast was $18 for a $8 meal in other places. Way overpriced.
Location: It's right off downtown (blocks away from the center of the city). There are restaurants, shops and the light rail (to Mall of America) nearby.
Nice building with cool history, however: the bed was rock-hard, as were the pillows. The room I was assigned was "disabled accessible" and had no tub. Showers in the morning resulted in the entire bathroom floor becoming a soaking wet, slippery hazard. No minibar. TV was HD but only had analog channels, so it was virtually unwatchable due to graininess. Aside from that, it was warm, cozy, decorated nicely, and the "easy" chair was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sheryl Christianson from Isanti, MN

Close to MMA fights at Epic Nightclub

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service. Very nice hotel. We would stay here again when in the area.
Comment from
Jan 12, 2014
Ms. Christianson - Thank you for your review! I am thrilled to hear that we offered you excellent service during your visit. I hope you enjoyed the event you attended just as much! I hope you have a chance to visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Amy b from he Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel

Amazing!!

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
We attended a family member's wedding reception it was BEAUTIFUL! To use the town car at the hotel was a little pricey for only going 8 blocks it was $25.00 but worth it so we did not have to attempt to find our way through town! The hotel accommodations were amazing! The food at the wedding reception was AWESOME! The steaks you could cut with a bread knife! The next morning we had a breakfast brunch which was a little pricey but over all good! Than the hotel provided tickets to the water park and the ice skating rank!! What an awesome hotel!! I would highly recommend the water park for younger kids (it is not meant or designed for older kids as we are)... The ice skating was a great alternative!
Comment from
Jan 12, 2014
Amy B- I am so happy to hear that such a special event went so well for you and your family. I apologize if the cost of the towncar service was not explained to you correctly and I will make a point of sharing your comment with our front desk staff so that a future guest is not caught off guard. I am also happy to hear that you were able to utilize our ice rink and waterpark while visiting! We love that our hotel offers a few unique options for our guests. Thank you for your very kind review and we hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

New years eve

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed new year eve. The hotel was busy and the staff was still friendly and helpful. Very guest oriented. The only terrible thing about the hotel is the parking there was none on site and had to park off property and haul our things to the hotel otherwise nice place to stay.