Ratings based on 1,208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mankato, MN

Beautiful hotel with great downtown location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Location Perks-bar, minibar, complimentary bikes Quiet Classy Workout facility
Cons: Maybe a bowl of fruit in the lobby or some cookies. The view is non existent but can't change that.
Location: Close to Nicollet Mall, Hennepin Ave, great bars, restaurants and entertainment close by, Mississippi River and other Minneapolis destinations.
After a rocky start (three different rooms in 30 minutes) we settled in nicely to the beautiful Grand Hotel. Our first room was a corner room that was beautiful and quaint but still good sized. Unfortunately the toilet didn't work and they had to move us. They gave us a free upgrade to a King Premier Suite that had a great living area, bedroom and a huge bathroom. Unfortunately it didn't have the large soaking tub, tv in the bathroom and separate shower that we really enjoyed in the first room. So we passed on the upgrade and asked for a regular king room, they were out of corner rooms. These rooms were still nice and had the bathroom features we wanted. The hotel staff was extremely nice and accommodating. Champagne and chocolate for our anniversary was a great surprise. The hotel is in a great location in downtown Minneapolis. Just a few blocks from Nicollet Mall and within walking distance of Hennepin Ave, the Mississippi River and other great features. The overall feel of the hotel was very quiet, we never heard any of our neighbors during a three night stay. The gym/workout facility/pool and other features are phenomenal. And we loved the complimentary bikes! We put on 30 miles one day on the phenomenal Minneapolis trails and another five miles another day. Don't book this hotel if you want a view of the city, but do book it if you want a phenomenal stay in a central location and a lot of perks along the way! Will be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great Location in Downtown Minneapolis

Posted May 30, 2015
Cons: Front desk staff was great, valet staff was good but a few didn't seem as attentive as others.
Visited for my son's graduation. It was a great hotel in a perfect location for easy access around the twin cities. The room was clean, spacious and well appointed. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd highly recommend The Grand Hotel for anyone staying downtown Minneapolis.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach

6th Floor Room With Only A Skylight

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Location, right across from where my business conferences were being held. The lobby is pleasant enough.
Cons: Better amenities, newer telephone equipment. Notification that the room is windowless prior to occupancy, air conditioning upgrade.
Location: Located in the heart of the Minneapolis Financial District
Checked in at what is published as a 4 Star Hotel. Was provided a room on the 6th floor that did not have any windows, only a skylight approximately 6' off the ground. The air conditioning system (which had to be kept running for obvious reasons) was extremely loud and had to be turned off every time the phone rang. The phone system was something out of the 1980's, being wireless and almost impossible to use because of the poor speaker system. WiFi connectivity was way below par (they charge $12.95 for "standard" WiFi and $14.95 for "high speed". I tried both and couldn't tell in difference. I was told by someone that the building the hotel is located in had been built as an athletic club of some sort, that was the reason the window situation was as stated. All in all a very disappointing stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Good central location

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Central location, comfortable bed, nice bathroom.
Location: Lots of things to do in Minneapolis and nearby St Paul.
We had an atrium view room, which was actually quite dark, looking out on a central well in the middle of the building. Apart from that, the hotel was very pleasant and comfortable. We appreciated the free coffee in the morning and glass of wine in the evening.The hotel has good sports facilities attached, and a lovely spa, which I used.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, the hotel was very nice. Didn't get a chance to use the fitness center, the parking was inconvenient. It was on the edge of being to far from what we had attended through our 2 night stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Nice downtown hotel close to Minneapolis lightrail

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the light rail and skyway connected. Also the feel of a classic hotel that includes modern features.
Cons: Our room had a noisy AC unit that was not the same as the other two rooms in our party.
We came to Minneapolis for my son's graduation and had three rooms. Each of the rooms where different size and layout and all of them where larger than standard chain hotel rooms. The hotel is an older building that has been updated with modern convienences, but still maintains a classic feel. We all enjoyed our stay that included a nightly wine reception. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel to stay in.

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Centrally located in downtown. Close walking distance to river, stadium, mall, and transit
Cons: Have longer gym and pool hours. 9:30 PM is very early for operating hours. Also, add a heavy bag.
Staff was very responsive to noise issue. Price was more than preferred, but all in all, still worth the cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
Good quality stay. Good location and right down the street from Target Field and Target Center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jerry from Las Vegas

Great hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect hotel. The staff was AMAZING!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David from San Francisco

Stay in Minnepolis

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in the hotel for three days, while we visited attractions in the area. Our room was upgraded, which was a pleasant surprise. Great service and staff and we definitely would recommend it highly. Also, great location!