Ratings based on 782 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful historic Hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: History
Cons: Bed mattress was uncomfortable.
Great location, within walking distance to Target Field. Manny's was very expensive Key's Café was very good. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The W is Tough to review

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The location is good and the hotel has a nice feel
Cons: If you claim to be a superior place to stay then management should ensure standards are being upheld. Parking is expensive.
Location: Plenty of places to eat and drink near-by. Mpls. Night life is second to none. Very close to the action.
Was in Minneapolis over night and wanted something on West end of Marquette Ave. I remember being taken to see the Foshay Tower when I was a kid some 60 years ago. The renovation has been done well. The look is modern and the colors sophisticated. The rooms are small and view is somewhat obstructed by taller buildings surrounding the tower. The beds are comfortable,the pillows good. The rain head shower is pleasant. It lives up to the reputation of a Four-Star and that is my problem. Many hotel chains have similar comfort today. I can usually find a hotel with similar comfort that offers little amenities like , in room coffee, refrigerators, microwaves and a short walk down the hall to vending areas. Places like the W offer in room wet bars and charge extortionist prices for the contents. No in room coffee. Room service Is advertised but there was no menu in the room. My wife said to call the desk but since I didn't plan to eat in I did not bother. Every one we had dealings with was friendly, helpful, and professional. Unfortunately I always come out of the up-scale places feeling I did not quite get enough "bang for my bucks". I realize the usual customer for the up-scale places is on an expense account so four time the going rate for a bottle of water is shrugged off. I am retired and spending my money now so I have gotten a little tighter in my old age. If you feel like "putting on the dog" the W will suit the bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Decorah, Iowa

My new favorite hotel in downtown MSP

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Love staying at the W. Discovered the observation deck and museum at the top of the tower.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

A Little Disappointing

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very nice. The beds and linens were fabulous. Manny's restaurant was really good. Our waiter, Scott was wondeful.
This hotel was just ok. The blend of historic and modern clashed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

W

Posted Aug 26, 2014
We stayed one night for first wedding anniversary. We were immediately upgraded and given credit at the bar, we appreciated the special effort. The room was interesting and had cool touches. The shower was awesome, along with a comfy bed. Unfortunately the AC unit continuously ran on and off about every 30 sec because the vent blew in the thermostat. Not sure if that's the case in all rooms, but it was pretty annoying. Again staff did what they could to acknowledge the situation and comped our breakfast at Manny s. No one can guarantee a perfect stay but they certainly did their best to rectify the problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

SERVICE...ABOVE AND BEYOND!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The W Minneapolis was outstanding. The Living Room bar staff was fantastic... make sure to ask for Brie. The concierge Anna was absolutely amazing in helping me make my stay fantastic. Her suggestions and ability to get me last minute reservations was impressive. Particularly, my last evening in Minneapolis. She was able to arrange a last minute reservation at one of Minneapolis' top restaurants as well as coordinating one of the best & envied tables in the restaurant. As a business owner of two companies, I am well aware how difficult it is finding and keeping top employees / team members. Anna, and Brie are truly one of Starwood's best and why when I travel I stay at the W.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as described

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Actually providing room that was described and having friendly staff members.
Location: Close to everything.
The description stated we were receiving waterfall shower head definitely did not meet those standards, we ended up getting a handicap accessible room which was inconvenient for my wife and which we were celebrating our anniversary. The staff wasn't friendly and was snippy. Only positive was hotel location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Nice enough hotel for a boutique.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The people were great - food and drink were great but grossly overpriced....
Location: Location is great - skyway mall was great for walking around....
I enjoyed the hotel and the unique aspect that you get when staying at a boutique hotel. The pillows were really soft and they only had two choices. The cost of food and liquor is high - about 4 times that of cost. This hotel could double liquor sales if they cut prices both in the bar and from their honor bar. Whatever - walmart only made the richest family in the world by offering competitive pricing..... Other than that it was fine - quiet rooms, big enough - but still kinda small. Gotta say if I could have done it over again I would have probably just stayed at a full service Marriott or Hyatt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Good hotel - quiet

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Nice hotel - quiet room - nice bathroom - the bed and pillows were marginal. This place would double liquor sales if they cut their honor bar and main bar prices in half.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington, MN

Celebrated our 30th Anniversary

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Clean and helpful staff. Prohibition Bar was great.
Cons: We were charged $13 for a bottle of water we didn't drink. We called the "W" and the charge was removed.
Location: Dakota Jazz Club offer excellent music/food. Great walking and people watching.
Very friendly staff. Excellent location. Lots of things to do in Minneapolis (restaurants, music, etc.).