Ratings based on 966 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Really comfortable bed, great Bliss products, staff very helpful and knowledgeable about Minneapolis.
Cons: More natural lighting. Late night check in service.
Location: Great location! Historic building, One block from bustling Nicolett mall.
It is a very modern, upscale experience. There were a couple instances that were not up to my expectations. no Valet when were arrived at 12:30am and had to unload my own luggage & room was not cleaned after our first night. However, the hotel staff was very accommodating and rectified the situations quickly, cheerfully and satisfactorily! We were disappointed the observatory and museum we closed... that was a highlight we were looking forward to.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Disappointed

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Cons: Follow through. The experience wouldn't have been half as disappointing, had the staff done what they said they were going to.
Location: Great, central location!
Overall-- the lobby and common areas were beautiful. However, when we arrived to our room, we could barely breathe as we entered because it was stifling. We quickly adjusted the temp on the thermostat and assumed we would soon get some air circulation and be fine. The room we had was very large (which normally is a definite plus) but the only air vent was at the other end of the room, and unfortunately, the air flow never made it over to the side of the room where the bed was. There was no A/C option on the thermostat only the fan mode. So we called the front desk to be sure we had done everything right to get the room cooled off, because it was unbearable. They offered to bring up a fan to the room as they said this is something they encounter. We thought that would make the night more bearable, but, the fan never came... and after several frustrating calls to the front desk that went unanswered, we were left to sweat the night in our incubator room. When I informed the front desk the next morning, we received an apology which was appreciated, and the man said he would send an e-mail for me to let them know next time I came, so they could "maybe get you a discount or something." However, like the fan, I never received the e-mail. The room was handicapped accessible, and the extra space was nice, however, it seemed like it hadn't been dusted in a while. there was a strange white substance smeared on the card that lays on bed with information about the amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Excellent and very upscale. Very interesting and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom edgewater, NJ

Cool, chic but a little too dark

Posted Apr 13, 2015
I stayed four nights at the W. The staff was professional and friendly, my room clean and nice looking, if a little small. The hotel and its bar/restaurants are expensive, so be prepared. Surprising that in this day and age (and at these prices), the W is still charging for WiFi connectivity. That was a big negative for me and contrary to the chain's image as highly modern. The bar had good drinks and quality wine with apt and responsive bartenders. The food was a little disappointing. I had a rare tuna atop what seemed an old or refrigerated pallet of sushi-type rice. A mushroom flatbread was overly flaky. Although I appreciated the atmospheric lighting in the bars and restaurants, its continuation throughout the lobby, hallways and rooms had an almost David-Lynchian horror movie effect. After a day or two, I half expected to run into a desperate-eyed Isabella Rosselini (not a wholly bad thing) or even Nosferatu. I will likely return, but eat elsewhere and bring a flashlight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis Metro

Glamour!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The room was great, slick, with great lighting, and a huge shower. It's got more character than many chain hotels.
Cons: - Steakhouse smell... - Elevator noise in some rooms - WiFi charges (thankfully) were not as announced - Fuchsia lighting (OK by me)
Location: Downtown Minneapolis, enough said: the theaters, the Saloon, the Warehouse District, Nicollet Mall... Loring Park is just a short walk away.
An amazing historic building smack in the midst of downtown, with a lovely 1920's looking lobby, all of it redone in a minimalist style.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chisago city Minnesota

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The first room we were in we were happy with the view was beautiful but there ended up to be a fire on our floor a few rooms down from us. We had to switch rooms and that view was a brick wall (not happy at all with that) and through the time we had to take the time to switch rooms we missed our show we were suppose to go to and all the hotel did was give us 50 dollars to spend at the hotel bar which we had 2 drinks cuz it took at least a hour just to get them all and all it was a horrible experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Fargo, ND

Nice location in the heart of Mpls.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The location, cleanliness of the rooms.
Cons: Parking was a rip off at 36.00 per night and the rooms and halls were a little noisy.
Location: Great location in downtown.
This was a nice hotel with a great location. The hotel has limited amenities, only a small workout area and no pool or hot tub. Be sure to check out the Prohibition Bar on the 27th floor and the bar on the main level is a great late night spot.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bemidji, MN

Downtown Minneapolis

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: The room was neat. Also very close to the Target Center.
Cons: Staff friendliness, elevators.
Location: Timberwolves game!
When we got to the hotel we waited at least 20 minutes to check-in, even though there were two desks open and only two people in front of us. Two of the elevators were out of order and every time we needed to get to our room we would wait for 20 minutes before an elevator would show up, in which they were usually packed full. The fridge in the room was so full that we couldn't put our food in it. Overall, just a not pleasing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fargo, ND

Great hotel in the heart of downtown Minneapolis

Posted Mar 3, 2015
From the minute I checked in to when I got in my car and drove away I had the best experience. The staff was friendly and professional, the hotel was clean and comfortable, and it was in the perfect location to enjoy downtown minutes while also being close to the light rail to enjoy the entire city. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel and my experience there. I highly recommend a stay at the W Foshay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rice, MN

Wonderful Place!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Location: We visited both Manny's and Keys Cafe which are both connected to the hotel and both restaurants were amazing!!
We stayed there over the MN State Dance competition and from the moment we pulled up to even after we left, the staff at the W Hotel was amazing! So accommodating and pleasant! The room was a little on the small side, but the rain shower was great!! Highly recommend anyone staying there and will definitely be back next year!