Ratings based on 888 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun, classy, chic hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2015
I was there for a friend's bachelorette party. The hotel staff were nice and courteous. Rooms were clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: The atmosphere
Cons: Check in area is really small
Location: So many restaurants nearby
The hotel and rooms were great. Thought we were going to have great time at the living room bar but by time we got back from dinner, it was a complete meat market. So tried the upstairs bar, that was the same. I really wanted to enjoy the bars at our hotel, but they were way too crowded.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

new years stay

Posted Jan 3, 2015
i got a fantastic suite on new years this year. room was very nice when walked in. proceeded to be there for a couple hours and noticed the heat wasnt working, tried multiple settigns and nothing. also there was no vent fan in the bathroom... i dont think i have ever seen that. we had dinner reservations so we had to leave and told the front desk about the heat on our way out. they said the would sent someone to check it out. when we got back to our room the heat still didnt work. all they did was bring a space heater up in the room.... really? a 5 star hotel and we have a suite and they bring us a space heater... rather than transfer us rooms?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hopkins, MN

Staycation

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Bars/club atmosphere. Romantic, quiet and relaxing room.
Cons: I was looking forward to the soaker tub, but we didn't have one in our corner room.
Location: We walked to Fogo de Chao for dinner, which was only about 5-10 minute walk (0.5 miles). We had breakfast at Keys, just downstairs from our room!
We are from the Twin Cities and wanted a short get-away. The W is fun, modern and near a lot of attractions. The shower is amazing, and views from upper floors are very nice. We enjoyed going to Keys Cafe just downstairs for an outstanding breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Good service and clean a little crowded and loud at night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Always an amazing experience. I am treated so well!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom greater Minneapolis area

Room shuffle

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Overall staff
Cons: Management, simplictic assistant to guest when plumbing doesn't work in a "specialty" room.
Location: Great
After checking in early, I indicted a problem with bathroom faucet while departing for a company event, no water. On return from Holiday Party, there was another room givent to us, we repacked and transferred to another room, smaller, less amenities I originally paid for. Disappointed in the room transfer, downgrade, we received a $30 bar credit. If you know anything about their bar that's 1 1/2 drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Beautiful, modern, stylish hotel right downtown.

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel. I felt it was well worth it for the price.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: I like to go to bars, and there were plenty of good ones within a close walking distance.
It was a perfect experience. The room decor, the bathroom, the lighting, the full bar, internet, etc. I don't remember any microwave, but that's no big deal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Great showers
The room was quite small, very nice bathrooms and excellent shower. Everything at this hotel was an add on.....and I have never been in a room that had NO coffee machine. The location is good, but there are plenty of nice hotels in this same area and they offer more amenities and larger rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Has turned into a party hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The staff was absolutely fantastic.
Cons: The living room bar should be a sophisticated environment on the weekends---the chintzy clubby thing that they're trying to do is uncomfortable.
Location: Manny's Steakhouse is absolutely fantastic!!!!
I first stayed at this W about 4 years ago--it was clean, quiet, upscale. I usually stay at one of the other hotels downtown but figured it would be nice to stay at the W again. It was party village USA. Having to share the elevator with drunken fratboys heading up to the public bar on the 27th floor was not just annoying but felt a little dangerous for a woman who was alone (one tried to follow me off to my room even though that floor is not supposed to be public access). They need to designate one elevator for the public bar upstairs and one for guests to ensure guest safety. I also made the mistake of trying to go to the downstairs lobby bar for a drink on a Friday night. I expected a sophisticated and worldly clientele--but instead was surrounded by tacky 21 year olds guzzling from bottles of grey goose and sloppily running around the room. It is just not a hotel for grownups anymore. If you're a tacky, orange, chubby girl in a too tight dress who screams "WOOOOOO!!!!" every time the beat changes on a song, this is the place for you (or if you are one of the men who loves them). It's such a shame that this place has gone downhill. The staff at the hotel itself are fantastic and amazing and that is the only reason that I haven't given the experience fewer stars. Everyone from the front desk to doormen were extremely helpful. The clientele though are something out of a bad 5th rate reality t.v. show that I would like to stay as far away from as possible.