Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in an historic building

Posted Feb 23, 2015
This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Stillwater within walking distance of numerous bars, restaurants, and shops. The building is in decent condition for such an old building. We noticed right away that the hallways were not heated well, but our room was comfortable. The staff seemed helpful and friendly - no issues there. The room was ok - the decor, while upscale was showing signs of wear. The furniture was not very comfortable, although the style fit with the historic nature of the whole. The bed was not great compared with many hotels I've stayed in, though everything was clean and well taken care of. The food at the pub was really good though the brunch buffet in the restaurant was just ok - nothing special, but acceptable. We enjoyed our stay and were able to walk to nearby shops easily. If your looking for a really comfortable stay and the location is not that important to you then I would recommenced a more modern hotel further from downtown. Don't get me wrong, the atmosphere here is great and we enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ham Lake

Upscale Elegance

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The bed, the town, the elegance!
Location: We went to a cave tour and wine tasting at Luna Rossa very nice!
This was by far the best of the best stays ever! The bed alone was to die for. Loved the furniture and the view. Staff was 10 out of 10!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Historic Inn

Posted Jan 20, 2015
We have stayed here before, and we love the historic feeling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shanafrom Sauk Centre

Simply perfect stay in Stillwater

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a must stay in Stillwater. The location is ideal. The staff is friendly and accommodating. My family was tickled with the beautiful room and the view overlooking the river. I can't say enough about the place. I will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terryfrom St Petersburg, FL

Fabulous romantic get-a-way.

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved our stay ! Room was fabulous, fireplace and Jacuzzi tub were very romantic. Bed was super comfortable. The only complaint would be that I had requested a river front room with balcony and we ended up with a street front room - no balcony. The road noise in the morning woke us up.....very early. Other than that we had a fabulous stay! Well worth the money and would LOVE LOVE LOVE to stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In desperate need of updating, not worth the money

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I booked this hotel for my husband and I's 19th wedding anniversary, hoping to have a romantic get away. The hotel was extremely disappointing. In desperate need of repair and updating. There was trim/molding missing in the bathroom, cracked sink and floor tile. A terrible cocking job around tub. The TV is hanging from the wall and is the smallest/oldest TV I've seen in a long time. There are two sides of this hotel. The river side and the alley (they liked to call it the "city side"). I called the hotel prior to our stay (because I booked it on Expedia and was not given a choose) and was told I was on the "city side". To make matters worse, the garbage truck comes through the alley at 5:58 Sunday morning. The location is terrific and the little bar was nice and we managed to have a romantic night but the price for this hotel is not worth the money, SUPER over priced even for a Saturday night. I wish they would put some of that money back INTO the hotel. SAD, we won't stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decrepit, understaffed.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: It had its own parking lot in a very busy little town.
Cons: As long as there were no loss of life, a good fire would do wonders for the place.
Location: It's on a noisy, busy street. Lots of shopping, dining and drinking establishments all over town.
Saturday night was very busy but they were understaffed. It took my wife and I hours to get our sandwiches. I ended up eating mine before hers came. In fact, we moved into the bar and hers eventually showed up there. She ate it amid loud music---a duo but one was sick so there was a fill-in trying to follow the guitarist. The entire night was truly a complete mess.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amyfrom Kessler

St. Croix Suite is spacious and charming

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The locations is steps from anything you would like to visit in Stillwater. Friendly staff and quiet co-guests. We bought a groupon for Luna Rosa wine cave tour (not in hotel, 5 min walk) and our balcony overlooked the lift bridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Grant

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stevefrom st.paul

Nice place in a nice town

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great bed