Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city

Excellent hotel close to many attractions

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: the location, the bed, the price
Location: easy drive to downtown (Target field) and mall of America
Very good price for plush hotel (bedding was awesome, room was spacious) that was an easy drive to downtown (Target field) and Mall of America. Didn't get to stay long enough to check out surrounding area, but had a handy mall across the street as well. did not use bar or restaurant, so no opinion there. pool was nearby and always busy, but it did not bother us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2014 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your warm words about our hotel. Your patronage is appreciated and we look forward to your return to our great property. The feedback you have provided is essential to see where we can improve to satisfy our guests. Shawn Nayyar General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's nice hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
They say it's very close to the airport . Wrong 35 minutes to airport and no shuttle hotel works only week days
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2014 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I do apologize but our shuttle only travels within 5 miles of the hotel. We are always more than willing to help our guests arrange any travel needs. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to serve you again soon. Neil Russell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Are room was nice size. The only thing I would suggest is that brings the pool hour closes at 10:00 everyone should have to leave the area. My room was close to the pool and my first night there was a group of 10 people sitting by the pool area drinking and talking which were very loud so we couldn't get to sleep until after 12:30 it should be quite after 10:00 for the respect of others trying to sleep. Otherwise my stay was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2014 by Shawn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your previous stay. I'm sorry to hear there were issues with noise. My team and I are always discussing ways to improve our property to better serve our guests. We will be discussing the pool times and will make a decision that we feel most benefits our guests. I really do appreciate your honesty and time you have taken in providing us feedback. Shawn Nayyar General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The only thing that my wife and I missed was the free breakfast in the morning. In our travels we always try to stay where we get this for the same amount of money we paid for the room. Stay was excellent other than that one thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Shawn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your trip! We are pleased that you had an excellent time! Some special rates do include breakfast with your reservation. Be sure to ask about these and our Sheraton Club level rooms. These rooms include Club Lounge access, which includes a continental style breakfast, hors d'oeuvres and around the clock snacks and beverages! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Could have been better

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Nice tv
Cons: Friendly staff, less noise in the mornings, less excuses
Location: Target field moa
The hotel was nice on the outside and inside was well put together. However we got woken up in the morning by pounding and drilling right about our room. Very disappointed. When we talked to the front desk about it, they said it was construction and did not apologize.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by Shawn, Hotel Management
Dear Ben, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Sheraton Minneapolis West. Please accept my apology for the disappointment and the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I am deeply sorry you were disturbed while we were renovating our rooms. We do our best to limit the disturbance and most often we are successful. However, it looks like we were not while you were our guest. My team and I will continue to focus on additional ways to help prevent the noise. As we continue to improve our hotels and services, comments like yours provide us with a valuable feedback in identifying areas that concern our guests. Thank you for your taking the time to bring your comments to our attention. Shawn Nayyar General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room switch

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: rest of the staff super friendly and kind
Cons: give customer what was requested.
Checked in with reservation in hand and was told no 2 double beds at all and wouldbe on club floor. Came back hour later, room would be on first floor......handicap room and one king bed, and right by elevator. Requested 2 double beds?????
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Shawn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for taking the time to send us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are sorry that you didn't get your requested room type. To accomodate you best, in the future, if you book a king call the hotel and request 2 double beds prior to arrival. Please know that we make every effort to strive for excellence with our accomodations and service. Thank you for staying with us. Shawn Nayyar General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Birthday / Vacation Getaway

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Beautiful hotel and great location, staff very helpful.
Cons: Was extremely disappointed in the pool hours. Please consider offering an hour, like 10 to 11 p.m. for adults only.
Location: Easy to find, everything we did was within 20 minutes of the hotel, Como Park, Movies, Mall of America, Ikea, Ridgedale, and Cheesecake Factory.
Great experience, wish we would have had more time in the hotel to enjoy all its amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Shawn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Very exciting to hear that you had such a great time with us! I agree that we are within minutes of so many fun things to do! Which attraction was your favorite? Next time you are in town check out some of the lakes in Minnetonka. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pool hours. We have made modifications in the past due to guest feedback and will continue to monitor what our guests are saying. Your feedback is a valuable tool in how we monitor our hotels performance. I will be sure to discuss your request with our entire management team. Thank you and hope to see you back soon! Shawn Nayyar General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by patsy from oregon

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Pillows and bed were excellent
They had very comfortable beds and the best pillows ever! Very clean hotel and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Patsy, I agree, I love the comfort of our beds! Glad you enjoyed them! Thank you for your valuable feedback. Thank you for your time and we hope you have a great summer. Neil Russell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ursula from Maryland

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great state
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for letting us know your stay was great! Hope to see you back this summer! Neil Russell Guest Service Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Ursula, Thank you for letting us know that your stay went well. Come visit again soon! Lots of fun activities to do in the area for your next trip. Hope you have a great summer! Neil Russell Guest Service Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jessica from Wisconsin

Work Trip

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my first time at this hotel. I was up from Wisconsin for work. Overall, the stay was satisfactory. It's kind of weird that a pool is inside, in the middle of the floor space for everyone walking by to see. I ordered breakfast, but did not have time to eat when it arrived-I sent it back. The lady who brought it up to me made a suggestion. She should probably not make suggestions to me that early in the morning when I've had a long drive, didn't sleep well, and was getting ready. For that, I rate the hotel a 4. Had the front desk said anything to me I didn't care for, I'd never consider the place again. But, they were very friendly, so there's still a chance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 20, 2014 by Neil, Hotel Management
Dear Jessica, Thank you for your comments and suggestions for improvement. I will follow up with the food and beverage manager to discuss additional ways to offer assistance. I apologize for the inconvenience of the server. I am glad the front desk team provided great service for you. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we can do better. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire management team. We look forward to seeing you back with us soon. Neil Russell Guest Service Manager