Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.0 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Williston, Nd

Think three times before you stay here.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: they could gut the rooms and start over with new everything. Sound proofing walls separating the parking lot from the bar joining. Police patrols.
Location: Minot State University, The mall. downtown restaurants.
We were stuck in an ice storm and choose the first place we could find. It was a poor choice as the Motel rooms and parking lot face a rowdy nightclub. People were outside hooting and hollering all night long, till at least 4am. The bed was old and worn out. We both sank into the middle of it hitting the springs. We are average size people. the room smelled moldy and mildewed. The showers had the walls crumbling around them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Cons: TV doesn't have any of the local channels (ABC, CBS, NBC). Would have been nice for local news & events.
Convenient location. Error in recording reservation dates, but the desk clerk fixed it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ontario

Very old and in need of many repairs

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Reception staff nice, dog friendly
Cons: Needs to be totally overhauled
Location: Just passing thru
Felt nervous in the area, phone did not work. Bathroom door broken, wouldn't close. Toilet kept running until we turned it off. There were people with kids living in the adjoining rooms, not travellers. Breakfast was advertised but none was to be found. No coffee maker in room The room was clean but big stains on carpets. Beds were comfortable. Reception staff was friendly and helpful Would never go or recommend this motel to anyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montana

Not luxurious but a good value

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: I believe I answered that in my experience box. To reiterate, that staff was exceptional and most previous reviewers all rated them highly as well.
Cons: Though difficult to maintain on parking lot level with outside doors, the carpet could have been less stained. Hard flooring as in the bathroom area
Location: There was a Chinese restaurant which I liked on the same property. I don't go into bars; no idea of what that was like. Busy street but quite distant
The amenities were far above average for such a motel on two floors with outside access. I would not try to compare it with a multistory motel, but it is among the nicest I've stayed in of the type. Amenities were better than I would have expected for the price including microwave, refrigerator, shampoo, lotion, hair conditioner, WiFi, and iron with ironing board. Furnishing were new and in good shape. The staff was exceptional--picked me up at the train station and returned me there the next morning. About the only thing I saw which could be improved was a stained carpet--not something I regard as that important since even new looking carpet is apt to house numerous microorganisms of indeterminate danger. And if one is sensitive to late night noise, there is a bar which shares the parking lot. That was no problem for me, but then I did not have a car along. And, while nicely laid out and clean, the bathroom housed older types of inexpensive fixtures. Nice Chinese buffet behind the bar facing Broadway Ave. Part of my high recommendation is the result of seeing so many negative ones on this site. In fact when I looked up Magic City motel on one of the map sites, it said the property was permanently closed. I've no idea where that came from as the whole area was bustling the Sunday night I was there. It is possible that I received one of the most newly remodeled rooms and that others are not quite as good. But I was well satisfied and would stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dr Kirofrom Canada

Good price for good beds

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was expecting worse for the price. Noisy neighbourghood with loitering from adjacent bar. Good beds in old hotel. Worn tub but clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom saskatoon sk

Our stay at magic

Posted Aug 27, 2014
our experience was a good one..the hotel is close to a buffet as well as the mall and the zoo is not far away...it was comfortable...the only bad thing was no curtain on the bathroom window...otherwise our stay was comfortable....I would do it again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vi fik ikke lov at tjekke ind

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Vi reserverer hotellet omkring 22.30, og var der omkring 22.40. Der var ingen i receptionen til at tage imod os. Vi bankede på ruderne og gik og kiggede efter nogen. Da klokken blev 23, var der et personale der prøvede at snige sig ud af receptionen. Vi nåede at fange hende og sagde at vi havde reserveret. Hun sagde at de lukkede kl. 23. Vi forklarede hende at vi havde stået her i 20 min. Men hun blev bare ved at sige at de havde lukket og sendte os over på et andet motel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Magic City Motelfrom Minot North Dakota

Magic City Motel

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was satisfactory for the price. The Hotel.com website stated that breakfast was included. When I checked in, I was told that the website was incorrect. That was disappointing. The beds were comfortable. The carpet had holes in it.