Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I was expecting.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Cons: Carriage House rooms need window locks.
Location: Nothing within walking distance.
Rooms were on the small side but clean. I had seen a lot of positive reviews for the food but the restaurant was closed. We were able to eat the same menu from the lounge. My pickerel dinner was overcooked and full of bones. Disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haileybury, ON

Loved the ambience

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: The ambience of the old mansion I absolutely love! Large stone fireplaces giving a warm glow and atmosphere made our stay so inviting. Gooood coffee!
A most enjoyable stay. The front desk clerk was so friendly and told me about the history of Glenerin Inn which I am still pondering over and telling others about it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Not as expected. Room 104 was right next to the main door to the corridor. It was also the room next to the breakfast area which made it very noisy. Staff vacuumed this area at 7:30 am. An event was also on in the evening which made the main lobby very crowded and noisy. The "restaurant" is essentially half a dozen tables in a room separated from the main corridor by French doors. The music from this large "event" room which was located across from the dining area drowned out the music in the dining room. Children were allowed to run up and down the halls until 1am... The newborn in the next room cried all night and the parents stood outside our room in the corridor with it. We never really slept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Nice hotel but limited for the business traveller

Posted Feb 3, 2015
There was no desk in my room so if you need to do some work, you need to improvise. Love the hotel decor and the room was super clean. Great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tornto, Ont.

Wonderful Stay

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: I love the castle look and feel with the stoneware.
Cons: Everything was great!
Location: Quiet setting, near the ravine feels like in the country but shops are still nearby
Our stay was a wonderful birthday celebration. It was relaxing sitting by the fire. The prime rib dinner was delicious. The staff service is phenomanal and I never want to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY NICE HOTEL IN A GREAT NEIGHBORHOOD

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: The historic ambiance
Location: great area
No issues with this hotel. I totally enjoyed the historic atmosphere. The room was small, but well equipped and super clean. I would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary, AB

A dated hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: The staff really do go out of there way to be helpful.
Cons: The hotel is older and the cheaper rooms are quite small and musty
The staff were great, the location is tranquil but the rooms are old, small and a bit musty. The gym is more of a cave but the beds are very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Old world charm

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Small hotel, but really felt like a b&b. Great value for the money.
Cons: In room coffee. Tell your guests that breakfasts are ordered from a menu, and not a buffet. Missed breakfast the first day because I didn't know.
Location: Lots of restaurant choices along Dundas Street if you don't want to eat at the hotel. Breakfasts were excellent!
Very pleasant stay. Older B&B style hotel, with nicely appointed rooms. Great comfortable beds, nice linens, plush towels and robes. Nice bathroom but very little counter space. Very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Charm cannot overcome the overall tired premises.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: free wifi, ample parkng
Cons: See comments above. No obvious doorman service upon arrival. Fairly indifferent front desk staff.
While the Glenerin offers a different experience from the usual urban hotel, it does not really live up to the image of country charm it would project. Overall, my room felt very tired. The matress was lumpy and uncomfortable. The heating/cooling system needs a serious updating. The honeywell thermostat looked like it was from the 1960s (yes, I remember the 1960s) and adjusted only stubbornly. The window tratments were inadequate. The window should have a retractable shade, but the only way to achieve privacy was to loosen the heavy decorative draperies which then blocked the heating/cooling unit. The blower unit itself produced a vibration that made it sound like a jet taking off in the bathroom. Small touches were lacking, such as no "privacy" sign avaiable to be hung on the door knob. The bar area is an odd mix of country tavern and dated tables and chairs that were not particularly comfortable or functional. Free wifi availabilty was a plus, but not enough to overcome an overall undistinguished experience.