Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by terry from mobile al

Nice location & staff but that's it

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Location good, great staff but the room was out dated & over priced, I woke up thinking I was in my grandmothers house. The parking is horrible, if u carry alot of luggage I suggest u stay else where cause ur in for a nice lil walk from the parking garage to the hotel
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Captnshaw from Savannah, GA

Dated and tired

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here on New Years Eve 2014. The rooms were in need of an update. The heat did not work and the room was 55 degrees. The only thing the could offer me was a downgrade from a Deluxe King. I would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Ruth from Oregon

Not as presented on the website-disappointed

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Cons: Hotel is in need of staffing, remodeling, etc. Looks to be out of cash.
Room was cramped, mismatched furniture, noisy heater and clouded window. Hotel is old and in need of maintenance - restaurant closed at dinnertime, lounge closed after lunch - basically no services. Hardly a beautiful historic hotel - checked out early due to further problems with TV reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by R Dennis from Mobile

Great stay

Posted Dec 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has improved since we stayed there a couple of years ago. Check in was easy and the room was clean and overlooked the Main Street in Mobile.
2 out of 5
by KD from Athens, GA

This hotel has gone down.

Posted Dec 16, 2013
I stayed at this hotel 20 years ago, and it was regarded as one of the nicer hotels in the city. It is now really dated, has very poor lighting in the bathroom and dressing areas, and all the fixtures are outdated. It really needs a facelift. There were brown ceiling stains in the vanity area. The heater did not work the first night. We asked to change rooms, but all they had available was a smoking room. Every time it would try to come on, it would make this really loud noise. Despite the poor aesthetics, the room was very clean. The TVs are the old boxy type. Also, I had very little hot water when I took a bath on Sunday. The coffe creamer packets were "crunchy." They provide small coffee pots, but there was no where in the hotel to buy decent coffee. Seriously? My husband asked one of the staff. She referred him to the dining room which was not open. I never saw it open the whole time I was there. They did refund us our parking fee. I would pass.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Joshua Winslow from Leroy, Alabama

Admiral Semees is AWESOME!

Posted Nov 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay was incredibly pleasant. There was no difficulty checking in- except for a few minutes wait for a desk clerk to show up from the back, but even that was short and hardly a bother. Parking was a breeze, the elevator was simply beautiful, and our room was wonderful. We loved the curtains and the bed was both comfortable and cleanly. Bathroom might be a bit cramped for those not used to hotels. My wife put it best when she said that she'd choose the Semmes over Holiday Inn any day. We're both so glad we chose it for our honeymoon.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by UK Travellers from Leicester UK

Worst Hotel in the South over our 21 Days Touring

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The communal areas of the hotel are acceptable, the front desk staff friendly but service in the restaurant "Oliver's" was slow and we were the only guests in it that Monday morning. The food was fresh though. The room was atrocious. It smelt musty, the Carpet had marks all over it, the walls had evidence of dried out damp and were marked and very tatty. The fridge did not work and was next to the bed as if it was a bedside table. The bath was so old and worn by scouring it clean, it was like sandpaper. The taps were not fully functional and the water drained out of the bath even with the plug well in. This is the worst hotel room we have stayed in over our 21 days touring the South. The roadside motels were 500% better and less costly. The Admiral Semmes needs major investment or this business will fail - deservedly so in my opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
great locatiion for our needs. hotel is a little dated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only stayed one night and were barely in the room. So it's hard to judge. That said, the bed was like sleeping on a piece of wood. It really was the hardest bed I've ever been on. I'm not complaining because bed firmness doesn't bother me. Just warning in case it matters to you. The restaurant and bar were not open, but it was a Sunday evening. Still would have been nice. The architecture is gorgeous. Nowhere to park so you have to pay extra to stay in the parking garage ($7). Very convenient to the downtown bar/restaurant venues, which was why we stayed there in the first place. Hope this helps.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com