Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great Time for Kids

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: My favorite part is the pool, there's a section for kids, a waterfall, a hot tub, a huge water slide, and a completely separate section for adults.
Cons: parking parking parking
Location: We spent most of our time at the resort, but we also visited the outlet mall that's about 30-45 mins away, and we ate at some of the local restaurants
This was our second time visiting the hotel. The first time was in September and this trip was in May for Memorial Day weekend. Parking was terrible, but that's probably the only real complaint we have. The room was really nice, and the balcony came in handy for wet swimsuits. We enjoyed the spa and the restaurants both in town and at the resort. There are a ton of activities for kids and adults to enjoy that are planned daily by the resort. We'll definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2014
Thank you for recently spending your Holiday weekend with us at The Grand Hotel Marriott. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your second visit with us including the many amenities we have to offer. On behalf of The Grand team thank you, we eagerly await your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Darb

Great fun on off-season for kids

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are only 2 main suggestions I would have 1. at least one green-type salad, more modern salad. The only thing on the menu was a Cobb. 2. The in house toiletries smelled dated and masculine. Maybe update that. In general very traditional southern get-away for families or older people. My kids, 2 and 6, had a great time biking, swimming in the indoor pool, feeding ducks, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your visit here at The Grand Hotel Marriott. We appreciate your feedback regarding the amenities and your dining experience. We are very happy that the entire family had a good time while our guest and we hope to see you again real soon (the ducks are getting hungry).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by becky from Austin, TX

It really is Grand!

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The grounds, the staff, the rooms and the bar. The hotel bar is so much fun!
Cons: In a high end resort, if you have staff that are not well versed in high end vehicles, they should be FORBIDDEN to touch them.
Location: Shopping, pool, boating, and many, many excellent restaurants,
We have been to the Grand for many meals and drinks but this was our first overnight stay. The place is beautiful inside and out. The front desk staff were wonderful and accommodating. Our room was beautiful with fantastic views and everything was Top Shelf in quality Our only "mishap" was very specific but a big one to us. I drive a Porsche and when we checked in, we told them we would be less than 5 minutes and please not to drive the Six Speed car as very few people know how to drive a Six Speed. We came out to find a rather large Valet in the car trying to move it and grinding the gears. We asked him to step out, and when he did, he lifted his rather large frame by grabbing the top of my convertible roof. Both actions could have resulted in thousands in damage and we were dismayed to start our tip that way. We never got near the Valet/ check in area again with our vehicle. Magical Fairhope is nearby and the hotel has a fabulous pool area, golf and marina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by nathan from biloxi

super relaxation

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quite relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kathy from atlanta

very customer service oriented

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: customer service was excellent-family oriented
Cons: The food at the Grille was ok-correct address needs to be given on expedia 17855 scenic hwy 98-not One Grand Blvd-that is their mailing address
Location: Found the department stores quite easily-Eastern Shore centre
Thoroughly enjoyed my state at this hotel. The staff was very friendly -Food was good but expensive. Beds were also very comfortable. Hope to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sally from Alabama

Paradise

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We actually live fifteen minutes away from The Grand but had to stay a night away from our house because of renovations. What a wonderful resort experience! Excellent destination if you have kids.
3 out of 5
by Holly from Mandeville, LA

Place not as nice as it used to be.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
For the high prices, we expected more. Have been here many times through the years and have found it's not as well maintained as it was. If we open the window for the gulf breeze, the ac cuts off and room becomes extremely wet. All table surfaces immediately get a very wet film on them and everything lying on tables gets wet. No vent fan in bathroom, though they claimed it was vented by ac vent (ac vent apparently working in bathroom as the only way to get it dry was to open the door and let ac from main area dry it out). We really wanted to use the bicycles and kayaks, but they closed at 6pm - 2 hours before sunset. Pool: The waterfalls in the hottub were not on and were apparently broken. The slide for the kids must have closed very early because it was never on when we wanted to use it. The breakfast buffet was amazing and we loved it but it was more than $20 per person. We had 4 people so breakfast each morning ran us about $100 including tax and tip. Checkin is at 4pm, but check-out is at 11am, which is very inconvenient. When we arrived, we tried to get a cart to bring our luggage up, but we found them locked to the stairwell. So we called to get them unlocked and no one came after 1/2 hour. We found some guys on the street who worked there and they helped us hand carry our luggage upstairs. Positive: The afternoon tea at 4pm is awesome and we loved the clotted cream. The grounds are beautiful with ponds, ducks, waterfalls and of course, the Gulf of Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paige from Atlanta, GA

Love this place!

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have been here many times but not since Hurricane Katrina. We felt like we did not miss a beat although the resort had been redone. We were upgraded to a room in the spa which was lovely! The beach area is beautiful and we enjoyed cocktails outside. I wish we lived closer - we would come more often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by allison from louisiana

Great hotel with lots of activities

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Great place to take kids, because the hotel offers complimentary swimming, sailing, kayaking, biking and tennis. The grounds of the hotel are meticulously cared for and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The spa is wonderful! The town is quaint with lots of cute restaurants. I love this place!