Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by becky from Austin, TX

It really is Grand!

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The grounds, the staff, the rooms and the bar. The hotel bar is so much fun!
Cons: In a high end resort, if you have staff that are not well versed in high end vehicles, they should be FORBIDDEN to touch them.
Location: Shopping, pool, boating, and many, many excellent restaurants,
We have been to the Grand for many meals and drinks but this was our first overnight stay. The place is beautiful inside and out. The front desk staff were wonderful and accommodating. Our room was beautiful with fantastic views and everything was Top Shelf in quality Our only "mishap" was very specific but a big one to us. I drive a Porsche and when we checked in, we told them we would be less than 5 minutes and please not to drive the Six Speed car as very few people know how to drive a Six Speed. We came out to find a rather large Valet in the car trying to move it and grinding the gears. We asked him to step out, and when he did, he lifted his rather large frame by grabbing the top of my convertible roof. Both actions could have resulted in thousands in damage and we were dismayed to start our tip that way. We never got near the Valet/ check in area again with our vehicle. Magical Fairhope is nearby and the hotel has a fabulous pool area, golf and marina.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by nathan from biloxi

super relaxation

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Quite relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kathy from atlanta

very customer service oriented

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: customer service was excellent-family oriented
Cons: The food at the Grille was ok-correct address needs to be given on expedia 17855 scenic hwy 98-not One Grand Blvd-that is their mailing address
Location: Found the department stores quite easily-Eastern Shore centre
Thoroughly enjoyed my state at this hotel. The staff was very friendly -Food was good but expensive. Beds were also very comfortable. Hope to go back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sally from Alabama

Paradise

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We actually live fifteen minutes away from The Grand but had to stay a night away from our house because of renovations. What a wonderful resort experience! Excellent destination if you have kids.
3 out of 5
by Holly from Mandeville, LA

Place not as nice as it used to be.

Posted Jul 29, 2013
For the high prices, we expected more. Have been here many times through the years and have found it's not as well maintained as it was. If we open the window for the gulf breeze, the ac cuts off and room becomes extremely wet. All table surfaces immediately get a very wet film on them and everything lying on tables gets wet. No vent fan in bathroom, though they claimed it was vented by ac vent (ac vent apparently working in bathroom as the only way to get it dry was to open the door and let ac from main area dry it out). We really wanted to use the bicycles and kayaks, but they closed at 6pm - 2 hours before sunset. Pool: The waterfalls in the hottub were not on and were apparently broken. The slide for the kids must have closed very early because it was never on when we wanted to use it. The breakfast buffet was amazing and we loved it but it was more than $20 per person. We had 4 people so breakfast each morning ran us about $100 including tax and tip. Checkin is at 4pm, but check-out is at 11am, which is very inconvenient. When we arrived, we tried to get a cart to bring our luggage up, but we found them locked to the stairwell. So we called to get them unlocked and no one came after 1/2 hour. We found some guys on the street who worked there and they helped us hand carry our luggage upstairs. Positive: The afternoon tea at 4pm is awesome and we loved the clotted cream. The grounds are beautiful with ponds, ducks, waterfalls and of course, the Gulf of Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paige from Atlanta, GA

Love this place!

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
We have been here many times but not since Hurricane Katrina. We felt like we did not miss a beat although the resort had been redone. We were upgraded to a room in the spa which was lovely! The beach area is beautiful and we enjoyed cocktails outside. I wish we lived closer - we would come more often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by allison from louisiana

Great hotel with lots of activities

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Great place to take kids, because the hotel offers complimentary swimming, sailing, kayaking, biking and tennis. The grounds of the hotel are meticulously cared for and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The spa is wonderful! The town is quaint with lots of cute restaurants. I love this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joni from Arkansas

Beautiful resort, beautiful trees, and landscaping

Posted Jul 3, 2013
Pros: I liked the large trees with the Spanish moss hanging from them. Also the swings and walkways around the resort area. Plus it seemed clean and safe.
Cons: The walls between the rooms are not well insulated and it is hard to block out the noise from adjoining rooms.
Location: Located in Fairhope, AL which is a small town with no fast food, but small shops and quaint restaurants that are lovely and interesting.
The resort is beautiful, with garden swings located around the resort facing the bay. The pools are beautiful, clean, and refreshing. There is a large slide in the children's pool, and water spray-ups that are fun for children of all ages. Large trees, with Spanish moss hanging from them, cover the grounds and provide a beautiful backdrop and welcome shade to the walkways and pool area. There are two beaches, one large and one small one. The large one has white sand, beach chairs, beach volleyball, yard swings; there are jet skis, kayaks, and other boats to rent as well. The bay water is somewhat brown, but not horrible. The pool area is beside the large beach and there is a restaurant attached that is a good place to get things like quesadillas, burgers, chips & dip, etc. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the main building; it was expensive but large, luxurious, and delicious. There was a safe in the room which are handy for leaving your valuables in while at the pool or beach. The whole resort has a safe, clean feel and I would recommend it to any family. The small town of Fairhope has shops that are fun to browse around in and a few restaurants that have a small, hometown feel. We enjoyed especially Gene's Beans which is a great place to get ice cream. The only drawback that we encountered was the walls of the rooms seem to be lacking in insulation, so if people are talking, laughing, or playing in the next room it is hard to ignore it and go to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Hether from Mandeville, LA

Beautiful place to relax

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
I loved it. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. It's perfect for a romantic getaway or even a family vacation. The beach on the bay is perfect, along with the pools and hot tubs. Our room had a beautiful view of the marina, and we saw a beautiful sunset from the balcony with comfy rocking chairs. We also loved the complimentary hobie cats, bicycles, kayaks, horseshoe game, croquet, and a mini golf course. We also loved the Saltwater Grill Restaurant, and the Birdcage Lounge, which features nightly music. I highly recommend a stay here. We also loved taking a bike ride up the bay, with a view of the rear of some of the most beautiful homes we've seen.