Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Westhampton,NY

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The Staff, Views and Location.
Cons: Bathroom tub/shower shower door.
Location: Visit the towns by boat, dinner at night. Beautiful pool on the lake.
The staff is exceptional. Helpful, informative, polite. The balcony views are outstanding. The hotel is very modern. Rooms are not large but are comfortable. Bathroom shower could use updating. Pay the 20 euro's daily parking in the underground garage. There is no parking elsewhere. Take the ferry boat that is fifty feet from the front door of the hotel to all the towns. The views from the boat are outstanding, read the ferry time tables carefully. The three restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (200 ft.) are wonderful. Hotel Restaurant is fair. Remember, they do not start serving dinner anywhere until 7:30pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Enver from New Hampshire

Grand Hotel Imperiale - Moltrasio, Lake Como

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Its location, proximity to the boat dock, clean rooms and friendly and knowlegeable front dest staff.
Cons: Breakfast buffet.
Location: City of Como and Bellagio are easily accessible by ferry and offer lots to see and do for the traveler.
First visit to Lake Como. We wanted to relax, enjoy the views of the lake and visit several lakeside towns by boat. All these goals were accomplished since we could see the lake from our rooms. The hotel is situated practically accross the street from the boat dock, making it very easy to buy tickets and sail away to other towns along the lake. In general, the hotel was comfortable, most of the staff firendly and helpful. We were a bit disappointed with the buffet breakfast. For 20 euros per person, the selection was limited and coffee lukewarm.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MC from TN

Great staff, great location, nothing else

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
By no stretch of the imagination is this hotel a four star hotel. This was the most expensive hotel of our Italy trip and is above and beyond the worst. Our hotels included a suite in Naples and a main canal hotel in Venice. The above point does not apply to the location or most of the staff. The service was excellent as was the location. The reason I rate this hotel so poorly is the condition of the room and the property. The bathroom shower was full of mold which made for an unpleasant experience. Furthermore this "four star" hotel room had the wall paper pealing off of the walls around the entire room. The linens and the entire amenities of the room were what you would expect for a non-chain hotel found along a highway in the US. The TV was the size of my computer monitor which was accompanied by bigger stains on the carpet. Additionally, as another review pointed out, the hotel attempted to charge me 40Euro for a breakfast that was supposedly free. There was far too little fight from the head waiter for him to have just given me a 40euro breakfast that which I might say has been free in all other hotels I have booked. I walked away from this hotel feeling scammed. Yes I could have approached the staff to change my room, but after driving 3.5 hours from Venice and unpacking my luggage and getting ready to get in the shower, I was by no means in the mood to deal with this. This would never have been an issue in a real four star hotel, bottom line.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from California

Beautiful hotel close to boat dock

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The location was quiet and relaxed. We had been traveling steady and needed to relax. The views were wonderful and location to the dock great.
Cons: The staff is very limited with their English. Room services especially! Food choices very limited outside the hotel-including delis,etc
Location: Limited again but the boat dock access is amazing. It is a place to utilize the hotel services and enjoy the view but expensive.
We enjoyed the beautiful location and view of Lake Como. The hotel is across the street from the boat dock and convenient to each any area of the lake. The mountainside view is amazing as well. We were able to use the Spa facilities which were wonderful and the lakeside pool is not to be missed! It is a quieter location and dining is limited unless you plan to eat at the hotel for all your meals. Get the breakfast in advance on Expedia--it is more expensive at the hotel once you arrive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Niki from London, United Kingdom

Pleasant enough hotel set in a sleepy town

Posted Aug 8, 2013
The hotel was pleasant enough, although the room and bathroom were rather basic. There were 2 great restaurants - one off the lobby and the other across the road on the lakefront, but we were disappointed with the small town of Moltrasio, which does not really attract a young crowd. This place is more suited to the older generation and those who want quiet evenings. The town of Como is closeby and accessible by boat, but the last boat returning from Como to Moltrasio was at 7pm, and the last boat back from Bellagio/Tremezzo (where the main villa attractions of Lake Como are located) was at 5pm, so unless you drive, you end up being stuck in Moltrasio, where not much happens after 10pm. In our case, this meant drinking in the hotel's piano bar for a couple of nights, which featured a lone pianist and his singer crooning away until midnight, happily taking our requests. The hotel is fine, but next time we visit Lake Como, we will choose to base ourselves somewhere else which is more lively and closer to the main tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Donna from Los Angeles

Great location, but hotel could use a little TLC

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect location a stone's throw from the ferry landing. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but made an "error" on the invoice when I was checking out -- if I hadn't caught it, they would have overcharged me by 70 Euros. The hotel is nice, but looking a little old and worn. The view room I booked was a bit of a disappointment -- could only see the view by stepping outside on the communal terrace. Overpriced, I thought, but it was the middle of summer. Still, a friend of mine stayed at the hotel next door that was substantially less. Loved Lake Como, however, and will return...but probably not to that hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Perugina from London

Fading Fast

Posted Jul 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I thought that to be a 4* star hotel there needed to be more than just a swimming pool attached; any grandeur there may ever have been at this hotel is fading fast. The good points: a pool, free wifi in rooms and the lounge area, the most beautiful spa I've ever been to and I had the best massage ever. The bad points: the bed was the most uncomfortable I've ever slept in and I have come away with appalling backache; all that could be done to remedy the discomfort was to place a board under the mattress. I spent 100 euros having a second massage to try and help my back.. The room was very basic, but clean. The wifi was free but every time I went on to the internet I had to enter a username and password. The pool is nice enough, but sunbeds are crammed around it like sardines are crammed into a tin and even then there weren't enough of them for all the guests. The staff were not unfriendly, but they were not welcoming and friendly. The prices at the hotel and the poolside bar are ridiculous - twenty four euros for half a litre of coke, a basic ice cream and a tomato and mozzarella salad. The cost of breakfast is also taking the mickey. There is nothing around the hotel apart from two other over priced restaurants - climbing up into the town perched above the hotel was very hot and sweaty work and threw up no alternative places to go. I would not return to this hotel and wouldn't recommend it to others either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RM

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by glenn from nc. usa

Excellent hotel on lake Como

Posted Jul 14, 2013
Pros: Location. View. Room dinner
Cons: Breakfast cost
Location: Excellent location Up the lake about 10 minutes, but close to ferry for trip into Como
We spent a wonderful two nights at this hotel. Our room was great, overlooking the pool and lake. What a great view! We also enjoyed a lovely dinner lakeside in their formal dinning area. Great location on lake, in small town, but right next to ferry landing for easy boat access The room also had a very nice tub. The only negative was that the breakfast was an extra $20 euro per person. Too much. We skipped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com