Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Blake from Houston

Lovely, quaint hotel on Lake Como

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Charming hotel one block away from Lake Como. Ample parking in garage (although you have to pay to park) and a few restaurants within walking distance. The town is tiny and this is a pretty remote location relatively speaking, but experience was great. Super clean, spacious room with excellent views from balconies. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rene from London, Ontario

By Lake Como

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: The ambience, staff, food, beds, views of and closeness to lake, housekeeping staff.
Cons: Shower enclosure somewhat dated as was the tv in room.Lack of exhaust fan in bathroom.
Location: Great location on lake with easy access to ferry boat service for entire lake, ie, Como, Bellagio.
3 magnificent days by the lake. Very elegant hotel. Staff very professional and helpful. The food and the views are superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dave from London

excellent pool. Cosy bar .

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Pool and Villa. Breakfast. Olives etc with pre dinner drinks.. nice touch.
Cons: Piano player in bar plays like he is deaf ! good fun though.
Location: lots of towns to visit by Ferry. easy to get around
Excellent Breakfast. Lovely Pool. Allow time to go to bagglioli. Check ferry schedule at desk and claim OAP discount if over 65. Hotel next to Ferry stop. Romantic lunch/dinner place next to lake ( expensive but that is Italy ). Cheap friendly Pizza joint ( not part of hotel ) near-by. Also try " Harry's bar " for sophisticated pre lunc drinks in Cernobbio ( next town toward Como ). Osteria restaurant for authentic local place ( not expensive )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bina. Pharmcist from london

Lovely hotel close to the lake and transport.

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Beautifull setting
Cons: See as above
Location: You can visit many towns nearby by boat
Loved the hotel and the rooms were excellent in the new block with balcony facing the lake Beautifull bathrooms best i have ever seen. Need to have more free facilities like spa and indoor swimmingpool when the weather is bad outside. Breakfast needs to be near the lake where the lunch is served. We find the place where the lunch and dinner was served was always empty. The lunch place had a beautifull location overlooking the lake but hardly used .They need to think as to how to make people make use of that place. We found that the choice of food was not great and was expensive. Needs to have more variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Westhampton,NY

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2013
Pros: The Staff, Views and Location.
Cons: Bathroom tub/shower shower door.
Location: Visit the towns by boat, dinner at night. Beautiful pool on the lake.
The staff is exceptional. Helpful, informative, polite. The balcony views are outstanding. The hotel is very modern. Rooms are not large but are comfortable. Bathroom shower could use updating. Pay the 20 euro's daily parking in the underground garage. There is no parking elsewhere. Take the ferry boat that is fifty feet from the front door of the hotel to all the towns. The views from the boat are outstanding, read the ferry time tables carefully. The three restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (200 ft.) are wonderful. Hotel Restaurant is fair. Remember, they do not start serving dinner anywhere until 7:30pm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Enver from New Hampshire

Grand Hotel Imperiale - Moltrasio, Lake Como

Posted Sep 7, 2013
Pros: Its location, proximity to the boat dock, clean rooms and friendly and knowlegeable front dest staff.
Cons: Breakfast buffet.
Location: City of Como and Bellagio are easily accessible by ferry and offer lots to see and do for the traveler.
First visit to Lake Como. We wanted to relax, enjoy the views of the lake and visit several lakeside towns by boat. All these goals were accomplished since we could see the lake from our rooms. The hotel is situated practically accross the street from the boat dock, making it very easy to buy tickets and sail away to other towns along the lake. In general, the hotel was comfortable, most of the staff firendly and helpful. We were a bit disappointed with the buffet breakfast. For 20 euros per person, the selection was limited and coffee lukewarm.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MC from TN

Great staff, great location, nothing else

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
By no stretch of the imagination is this hotel a four star hotel. This was the most expensive hotel of our Italy trip and is above and beyond the worst. Our hotels included a suite in Naples and a main canal hotel in Venice. The above point does not apply to the location or most of the staff. The service was excellent as was the location. The reason I rate this hotel so poorly is the condition of the room and the property. The bathroom shower was full of mold which made for an unpleasant experience. Furthermore this "four star" hotel room had the wall paper pealing off of the walls around the entire room. The linens and the entire amenities of the room were what you would expect for a non-chain hotel found along a highway in the US. The TV was the size of my computer monitor which was accompanied by bigger stains on the carpet. Additionally, as another review pointed out, the hotel attempted to charge me 40Euro for a breakfast that was supposedly free. There was far too little fight from the head waiter for him to have just given me a 40euro breakfast that which I might say has been free in all other hotels I have booked. I walked away from this hotel feeling scammed. Yes I could have approached the staff to change my room, but after driving 3.5 hours from Venice and unpacking my luggage and getting ready to get in the shower, I was by no means in the mood to deal with this. This would never have been an issue in a real four star hotel, bottom line.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from California

Beautiful hotel close to boat dock

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The location was quiet and relaxed. We had been traveling steady and needed to relax. The views were wonderful and location to the dock great.
Cons: The staff is very limited with their English. Room services especially! Food choices very limited outside the hotel-including delis,etc
Location: Limited again but the boat dock access is amazing. It is a place to utilize the hotel services and enjoy the view but expensive.
We enjoyed the beautiful location and view of Lake Como. The hotel is across the street from the boat dock and convenient to each any area of the lake. The mountainside view is amazing as well. We were able to use the Spa facilities which were wonderful and the lakeside pool is not to be missed! It is a quieter location and dining is limited unless you plan to eat at the hotel for all your meals. Get the breakfast in advance on Expedia--it is more expensive at the hotel once you arrive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Niki from London, United Kingdom

Pleasant enough hotel set in a sleepy town

Posted Aug 8, 2013
The hotel was pleasant enough, although the room and bathroom were rather basic. There were 2 great restaurants - one off the lobby and the other across the road on the lakefront, but we were disappointed with the small town of Moltrasio, which does not really attract a young crowd. This place is more suited to the older generation and those who want quiet evenings. The town of Como is closeby and accessible by boat, but the last boat returning from Como to Moltrasio was at 7pm, and the last boat back from Bellagio/Tremezzo (where the main villa attractions of Lake Como are located) was at 5pm, so unless you drive, you end up being stuck in Moltrasio, where not much happens after 10pm. In our case, this meant drinking in the hotel's piano bar for a couple of nights, which featured a lone pianist and his singer crooning away until midnight, happily taking our requests. The hotel is fine, but next time we visit Lake Como, we will choose to base ourselves somewhere else which is more lively and closer to the main tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Donna from Los Angeles

Great location, but hotel could use a little TLC

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect location a stone's throw from the ferry landing. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but made an "error" on the invoice when I was checking out -- if I hadn't caught it, they would have overcharged me by 70 Euros. The hotel is nice, but looking a little old and worn. The view room I booked was a bit of a disappointment -- could only see the view by stepping outside on the communal terrace. Overpriced, I thought, but it was the middle of summer. Still, a friend of mine stayed at the hotel next door that was substantially less. Loved Lake Como, however, and will return...but probably not to that hotel.