Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee from NY

Poor booking system

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Food,rooms,general facility's conditions
Cons: Booking Services needs a whole lot of transparency and efficiency
Location: Beach.
Had to cancel my original booking and was charged twice the price I had seen online.
1 out of 5
by D

Very Disappointing

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: A complete review of the operations, maintenance and treatment of customers is required to improve the hotel.
Location: Golf, Beach
The hotel has the perfect location but the staff and management clearly do not put in any effort to satisfy customers. There is little or no maintenance of the buildings with patched, unpainted repairs on walls with no attempt to repaint areas repaired. The buildings is generally run down, and rooms are very basic with no or very slow internet access. The bathroom have poor water pressure and are dirty. The bar area is uncomfortable and not very inviting. On a Sunday they have extremely loud music catering for day visitors at the pool area. The music is so load that you cannot order drinks from the bar as they cannot hear you. When we requested that they turn down the music under the thatched bar area where we were seated, we were told that they will not do it (despite being able to control the volume of these areas independently) and they don't care if we think it is too load as 'people pay to listen to this on a Sunday'. We had no problem with the music, only that it was unnecessarily loud and became very unpleasant. Many Hotel guest were unhappy and numerous people left the area as it was very unpleasant. Day visitors seem to be the top priority here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by chris from fleet, hants

friendly and helpful staff

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable and relaxing, beach access very easy. Food and staff excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Mr. Wine

Posted Dec 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
Very good location with a beautiful garden, beach, with simming pools. Very good atmosphere. Excellent staff, very polite, and professional. I would recommend this to anyone who want to have big events.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

We hoped a nice return for us.

Posted Oct 17, 2011
It was we were thinking a pleasant return to a resort that we rated very highly between us. The last time we were there they had some slight building work being done and we looked forward to seeing both the results and some friends we made while we where there. We couldn’t fault the finished work and the resort is now well up to the standard that would make it one of the best in the region. However in the time between our return, the resort has changed hands and the new owners are still in the process on putting there own mark on the place. So I wish the new owner, his wife and her staff all the best in making the resort an Asian paradise in Africa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Salisbury

Wonderful people

Posted Jul 24, 2011
Nyali International Hotel is situated in beautiful grounds, right on the beach and being one of the oldest hotels in Mombasa it still has the charm of colonial days. The rooms of the hotel are very dated but I understand they are in the process of doing some much need renovation. At the present time the hotel is mainly used for conferences and business trips and during our stay there in July there weren't many tourists staying at all and there was no entertainment in the evenings. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you but the hotel does lack a certain vibe that it once had.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Oxford

The people are everything

Posted Sep 7, 2010
Obviously a top hotel back in its day, Nyali Beach now has a kind of faded luxury feel to it. The standard rooms, whilst comfy and clean, are in need of refurbishing (particularly the bathrooms), and the mosquito nets need to be checked for holes (had to 'fix' mine with hair grips). The tv reception also left something to be desired, but then you don't go to Kenya to watch tv, so it wasn't really a problem. The communal areas are lovely. Unfortunately, throughout our stay, considerable building work was being conducted, which meant relaxing by the pool was often punctuated by the sound of sawing, hammering, and occasionally clouds of dust. However, to be honest, this wasn't a massive problem, and I'm sure the new buildings will improve the hotel. But the major plus point for this place was the staff - friendly, polite, cheerful, incredibly helpful wherever they could be, I couldn't have asked for better. The concierge, Mohamed, was particularly helpful, recommending a trip to Mombasa on the matatu (20 Schillings) rather than the taxi (780 Schillings) when we were short of cash - confidence and taking care of your belongings are the keys! The food was excellent too - I've never had such good sea bass or eaten so much in all my life! The salon offers massages and beauty treatments at very reasonable rates. If I end up in Mombasa again, I will certainly stay at Nyali Beach and recommend it to people who are looking for somewhere nice on a reasonable budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nyali Intl Beach Hotel - Loved this hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2010 on Hotels.com
Location: The beach was fantastic.
My wife and I stayed here as part of our Kenya honeymoon experience. This was a wonderful hotel. They were particularly excellent at service, professionalism, friendliness, and resources available at the hotel. Our room was very nice, with a balcony facing the ocean (on an angle), and the pool was wonderful. Dinners were delicious. Be careful- my wife got food poisoning, which was probably from their lettuce, but everything else was fine and delicious. They have internet, shops, gelato stand, outdoor bar, great poolside service, cool English style bar, room service, etc. Only complaints- the beach was lovely but hard to walk around without getting hounded by local hawkers, and a few mosquitos were somehow able to get past the so-so netting in our room. Overall, though, we were really impressed with the hotel and we would definitely stay there again. Thanks for a great stay!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

wait a couple of years....

Posted Aug 8, 2010
At the moment the hotel is undergoing refurbishment with a lot of building work and many facilities closed. Also they are not on tour operators itineraries so there is little in the way of entertainment or activities. if you want a quiet time in a not very busy hotel, then this might be for you. They also seemed to be concentrating on the conference market, rather than catering for staying guests. Food was pretty much the same every day, which would be ok for a short time, but not for a long holiday. The beach, not the hotel's fault, is not very clean, with lots of plastic rubbish and, on one occasion, a full set of intestines floating about.