Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dag Werner Larsen from Norway

ok hotel, good situated in sentral mombasa but

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
far too expensive for the quality we got, if we paid a quarter of the price we had been pleased
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 1, 2013
2 out of 5
by Ruth from melbourne, australia

Disappointed

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Pros: Central position
Cons: Room
Location: Good
The hotel is not maintained to the standard it was suggested. This is the second time I have had to rewrite it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Dubai

Good hotel in the centre of town

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Convenient location with good sized bedrooms and helpful staff. Traditional food available in the restaurant.
Cons: The wifi (strong signal) in the lobby area could be free.
Location: Ideal for staying in central Mombasa for shopping and tourist sites such as Fort Jesus
Very convenient hotel that is the best option if you want to stay in the middle of town. A reliable restaurant with local food. Roomy and clean rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Aug 10, 2013
Pros: The terrace in front of the hotel is very nice.
Cons: tairs near my room were wet because of leakage
Location: centrally located in Mombasa
Royal castle hotel is one of the better hotels in Mombasa town and quite affordable and centrally located. Staff are friendly and helpful. The open air terrace in front of the hotel is pleasant to relax. I had some difficulties with internet access in my room, but was given another room later where it worked.
1 out of 5
by Ina from Colombia

The desaster Hotel

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The people were friendly.
Cons: Everything!!!!
Location: Near to an ATM and in the heart of Mombasa City. So crowded!
If it wouldn't be because of the friendly staff, I would say that this is the worst hotel ever!! The hotel looks like a ruin, in a very bad shape. The room was noisy, smelly, dirty and very uncomfortable. The breakfast was a desaster as well. The staff is friendly but completely unorganized. Fortunately I've only spent one night in this desaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Dubai - United Arab Emirates

Central location.

Posted Jul 5, 2013
Pros: Central location. Good food.
Location: Downtown
Good central location with secure parking. Unique in Mombasa. Good traditional African food.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Sydney

OK if your expectations are low

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Close to city sights
Staff were not all versed in good customer service. Saying that some were better then others. Place has seen better days - mattress was foam so got very hot. Location is good as your in the middle of the city, and its easy to get in and out of. It was rated in rough guide as one of the best hotels in the city - so the others must be pretty terrible. But ok for 1 or 2 nights
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bjorn

Mombasa

Posted Aug 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Not hot water in the shower, hotel needs to be upgraded asap: it looks very used, internet slow and not free, staff could be friendlier, my pillow stank!!! AC very noisy
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bertha

A bit pricey overall.

Posted Jun 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good location but Mombasa is noisy all night. The air conditioning did not work, a must in the warmer months, and while the fan kepy the air moving, it was still warm. Stingy with towels, only two bath and two hand towels for two guests who arrived tired and dirty from an impossible bus ride from Arusha. The rooms are spacious but the useless air condition makes it impossible to stay inside for other than fitful sleep. Thankfully, there were no mosquitos in the room.