Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Overpriced and out of date but friendly staff

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Cons: The rooms needs serious upgrading - even attending to broken air con, broken ventilation would help somewhat.
Booked a room with double and single bed for €170 which was very overpriced for the quality of furnishings in the room. The air con didn't work and on the hottest day of the year, the room was unbearably hot. There was no ventilation in the bathroom, which wasn't pleasant with 3 people showering, using the facilities etc... Insist on a room with proper working air con & ventilation if thinking of booking here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Friendly hotel, good for business traveller

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Good sized room, good location, quiet, slightly eccentric.
Comfortable, surprisingly large for a small town. Big health club attached. Lobby/Reception refurbishment underway which made things "interesting". Friendly staff in the bar/lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mrb from n.ireland

beautiful hotel super friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: room service- only limited cold sandwiches after 9pm. As we arrived at 9.15 after a 3 hour drive we were ready for food and very disappointed at this
Location: close to town centre
Travel a lot with my husband on business. The room was very spacious, spotless and well equipped but best of all was the breakfast yummy porridge (a feat in itself) and delicious freshly cooked buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by C from Co. Armagh

Our stay was just a one night stay for my birthday

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The staff & atmosphere but also the condition of the rooms and cleanliness.
Cons: We didn't find any problems whatsoever, so in short, nothing.
Location: Only half an hour or so from home, so location ideal. Just a one-night stay & didn't experience near by attractions.
Very pleasant experience. Great atmosphere around the hotel & would have stayed longer if possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rob from Manchester

Great room

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was big (three beds), lot of space to walk around and the room had both a bath and a shower. It was clean and it was quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by John G from Dublin

Perfect for a weekend getaway

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Been there couple of times - really nice hotel - ask for a room in the wing in the back though, it's quieter and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paula from Derry

Fantastic service

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had such a great time when we stayed in this hotel,the staff are amazing,the hotel is so cosy,and the health suite is the best ever,We cannot wait to come back vist again.hopefully very very soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David Traynor from Carlow

Excellent value for money

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I regularly visit the Hillgrove as I have a lot of business around the area. On every occasion I have to say that it is a pleasure to stay here and excellent value for money. The rooms are modern and well maintained, the gym and pool are clean and well supervised and the food, while basic, is good and portions are good.I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anybody.