Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Overpriced and out of date but friendly staff

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Cons: The rooms needs serious upgrading - even attending to broken air con, broken ventilation would help somewhat.
Booked a room with double and single bed for €170 which was very overpriced for the quality of furnishings in the room. The air con didn't work and on the hottest day of the year, the room was unbearably hot. There was no ventilation in the bathroom, which wasn't pleasant with 3 people showering, using the facilities etc... Insist on a room with proper working air con & ventilation if thinking of booking here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bob from Belfast

Great hotel with friendly service

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was delighted by the accommodating staff members, both in the reception area and the spa facilities. The room was delightful with modern facilities. Excellent Wifi in the bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tazman5 from Oxford

Best Hotel in the World 'probably'

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ok, so a slightly heady headline but pound for pound or pound for euro the Hillgrove is a first class hotel. I have stayed here at least 10 times in the past few years and things are always changing for the better. During my stay they were redecorating the main entrance area and this was only done a few years ago. It has a great leisure/spa area which is immaculate. The rooms are big and very comfortable. Mine was a slightly older one but more than adequate. The prices either direct or via websites are always very reasonable. Have stayed 10 times and will stay another 10 given the chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Friendly hotel, good for business traveller

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Good sized room, good location, quiet, slightly eccentric.
Comfortable, surprisingly large for a small town. Big health club attached. Lobby/Reception refurbishment underway which made things "interesting". Friendly staff in the bar/lounge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mrb from n.ireland

beautiful hotel super friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: room service- only limited cold sandwiches after 9pm. As we arrived at 9.15 after a 3 hour drive we were ready for food and very disappointed at this
Location: close to town centre
Travel a lot with my husband on business. The room was very spacious, spotless and well equipped but best of all was the breakfast yummy porridge (a feat in itself) and delicious freshly cooked buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colm from Dublin

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5e for ice and no water in the room only negative
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mary G from Tyrone

A lovably friendly hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant. Friendly staff,lovely clean, quiet room. We were there for a concert in the nearby Cathedral (it was so convenient) & almost felt like staying in the hotel lobby & enjoying the Children's Fleadh instead! We used the pool &jacuzzi next morning(so refreshing) before a delicious breakfast. I look forward to a return visit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by C from Co. Armagh

Our stay was just a one night stay for my birthday

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The staff & atmosphere but also the condition of the rooms and cleanliness.
Cons: We didn't find any problems whatsoever, so in short, nothing.
Location: Only half an hour or so from home, so location ideal. Just a one-night stay & didn't experience near by attractions.
Very pleasant experience. Great atmosphere around the hotel & would have stayed longer if possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com