Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pacific Northwest

I didn't think a hotel could be this bad.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: It needs to be torn down.
Location: Near the freeway and some other hotels - go to one of them!
I really didn't believe those reviews that said awful things about this hotel. I thought people from competing hotels were publishing awful reviews to steer business away from this hotel. I was dead wrong. I was concerned when we arrived at the "night window" to check in and it was dirty and dingy and a little creepy. And stunk of cigarette smoke. We checked in without a problem, and the desk attendant was perfectly pleasant, but then we went to our rooms. I couldn't say which made the biggest first impression: the powerful stench of very stale cigarette smoke, the walls painted a dark rusty orange with dark teal trim, or the carpet nearly blackened with filth, a handful of stark white paint splotches providing contrast. We entered and discovered some other delights: hole in the carpet, empty McDonalds French fry bag in the corner, a pile of flaked off paint in front of the bathroom sink, dirt and dust everywhere, a toilet with many days of filth on the back of it, and hairs in the shower - both on the walls and at the drain. We'd arrived after midnight and were exhausted and just couldn't bring ourselves to go somewhere else, but this was by far the worst hotel I've ever been in. If you can possibly afford to spend more money on a room, do it! My son and I were seriously considering sleeping in the car. We left right away in the morning and felt traumatized for a couple of days afterward.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
im still here but the cleanliness wyfi and service is etrousacious run down no remotes 4tv i bought 1 you should not recomend this location 2 anyone
1 out of 5
Recommended
by K and A from Ohio

Move on down the road!

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
When we arrived, I waited as my husband checked in. After 15-20 minutes I joined him in the lobby. The new employee could not find our reservation and had charged us again for a room. I showed her our confirmation number. She called her manager who said she would be back shortly. (When she couldn't find our reservation initially, she had told my husband the manager ran across the street to the store and would be back in a few minutes. This call to her was almost 30 minutes later). We were given a room. When we opened the door, the smell of animal/urine was overpowering. We requested another room. When we opened that door, again we were hit with the smell of animal and cigarette smoke. We told the employee we could not stay and requested a refund for both times we were charged. She called her manager who said she would be back in 20 minutes. She informed the manager that we would be waiting for her in the lobby. After 40 minutes my husband requested the manager be called again. This time the manager stated we didn’t need to be present for a refund. We had been at his hotel dealing with this mess for almost 2 hours. While we had been waiting, we made another reservation for a hotel down the road. For under $5 more than the Knights Inn, we received fast, friendly service and a clean, odor free room. The hotel is not worth the money! In addition we observed that most rooms were rented out for long periods due to grills, patio furniture, bikes, etc outside doors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hell in Monroe

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Near our boat
Cons: Outside area cleaned up.
Very much depressed area with many people staying long term. Too many dogs on site.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by CLM from Michigan

Pay the extra and stay across the road at the Qual

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The smell of the room was awful, the carpet had holes in it and the mattress was very old, lumpy, and dirty. We will not stay here again. The staff was very nice and professional. These buidlings have not had any maintanence in a very long time.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

?

Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Beds were wore out/ For a non smoking place burns everywhere in the room / our room was placed in the back where it felt like crack alley ! maid service was a joke / Over all a very unpleasant place to stay, was not a clean place at all. Very sorry I spent what I did for the 3 night stay.It will not ever happen again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Chris L. from Pennsylvania

Fine for an overnight stay

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
A bit dated and worn but decent and fine for an overnight stay. Fridge in room and complimentary continental breakfast in AM. Beds OK. Free fast wifi.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kim from Cleveland

Monroe Knights Inn

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was well worn and had seen better days. There was an empty condom wrapper outside the door of the room and even though I was assured that Michigan law prohibits smoking in hotel rooms, the non-smoking room reeked of smoke and my clothes smelled of it too when I got home.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KD from Loudoun County, VA

Cheap, Quick Hotel Stay

Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was only at hotel 8 hours. The crowd was a little rough, but everyone was well behaved. Taxi driver tried to sway us from staying and he was right that crowd was different. If you are not adventurous and a timid person do not stay here. But for me, the hotel was a cheap sleep for $50 rather than $100 right across the street. Hotel needs to be demolished in a few years so it doesn't make much sense to upkeep but so much.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Motel need to have room face lift and a real in depth cleaning. The room smelled bad when first entered. Carpet was not vaccumed could see dirt on floor. Air conditioner filter was cover in 1/4 inch of dirt an lent had to wash out so it get air flow in room.