Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Great Place to Relax

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The hosts and the ambience.
Cons: Things were just fine.
Location: Quite location, a great Peruvian restaurant close by and all the ammenities of the San Mateo coast close by.
Goose and Turrets B&B was a great place to relax. A lovely setting, great hosts and comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly owners and gourmet breakfast

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: The charm
Cons: na
Location: the only thing missing was an ocean view but the area was very charming and many things to do including the beach less than 5 minutes away.
It reminded me of a European stay. Rooms were small but very interesting, decor was eclectic. Most important everything was very clean and proprietors were very friendly and accommodating. A bonus was the wonderful gourmet breakfast.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Alpharetta, GA

Disappointed business traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels
Need to stay here on business and was very misled. The Clipper Room does not have a private bathroom (you need to walk across a public hallway to access the bathroom and shower), breakfast is served after 9am (nothing available otherwise) and no one to speak with at the reception desk. For such a beautiful location, very disappointing stay for $180 per night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by mark from Tokyo japan

Ok. Nothing specia

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels
Room was clean. Nothing matched and the room had lots of strange antiques in it. The hotel itself was clean. Not much interaction with the staff. Nothing special about this place. Very expensive for what I got
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from San Francisco, CA

Very nice classic B&B

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely quaint B&B owned by a nice retired couple. The husband is friendly and loves to chat with the guests. Tea and snacks were offered at check-in time and it was a lovely time to talk with the owners and other guests. The owners have many great suggestions for local restaurants and activities. Breakfast was fancy and delicious. The room was charming and eclectic with an aeronautical theme. The private bathroom across the hallway was very nice with fantastic towel warmers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charles from Mundelein, IL

A Sleeper of a Sleeper (OK, B&B) in the Bay Area

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
Raymond and Emily are wonderful B&B keepers. Their historic building has an intriguing and quirky history, which they reinforced by their informative and quirky decoration of the common area and our room. The room itself was fine, though the mattress wasn't as thick as is usual these days and there was no TV -- no doubt part of the innkeepers' mindset to retreat to the past from our overplugged world, and that was fine with me. The breakfast was fabulous -- interesting, beautifully served, and memorably pleasing to the palate. After staying nearer to congested San Francisco for the earlier days of our trip, it was delightful to remove ourselves to the quieter area south of the city, with breathtaking views of the ocean not far from the inn, and not so incidentally, a shorter and far less crowded drive to the airport in the morning. My wife and I would DEFINITELY recommend The Goose and Turrets -- this B&B is an underpatronized and, for the Bay area, reasonably-priced gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Memorable people and place

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Lovely people, gourmet cooking and tea, interesting building, great location.
Cons: Bit of a fusty odor when you walk in. From our room, we started to hear noises (cuckoo clock on the 1/4 hour, walking about on wood floors, ...) at 6
Location: Scenic and interesting coast up and down. Excellent access to Frisco without being in it. This is not on the beach, but 2 minutes away by car.
Distinctive B&B in great coastal town. The more time and interest you have in the building and proprietors, the more rewarding it will be. Truly impressive 4-course breakfast (takes nearly an hour) served at 9AM sharp, so you schedule around it. Fascinating historical/scientific decor around the place, and fascinating hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A.F. from Calgary, AB

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels
Loved the history of the building and the extensive collection of international artifacts collected by our very friendly hosts. Breakfast was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bamberg

Persönliche Unterkunft mit Museums-Charakter!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Persönliche Betreuung, Frühstück.
Das Hotel / B&B ist sicherlich nicht für jeden etwas. Uns hat es jedoch sehr gut gefallen! Sowohl die Lobby/Frühstücksraum als auch die Zimmer erinnern mehr an ein Museum als an ein Hotel. Hinter allen Sachen steckt jedoch eine Geschichte und die Besitzer Raymond & Emily geben bereitwillig Auskunft. Auch sonst haben sie uns den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich gemacht, uns gute Tips für Restaurants oder Unternehmungen gegeben. Das Zimmer war urig eingerichtet, die Schlafqualität war sehr gut. Das Frühstück bestand jeweils aus 4 Gängen, welche liebevoll serviert wurden. Insgesamt gute und zudem für SF einigermaßen preisgünstige Möglichkeit zu übernachten.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels