Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Scott from Livermore, CA

Wanted a romantic getaway.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The room and the hotel were nice, and the ocean view was beautiful.
Cons: THE STAFF!!!!!!!!!!
The room and the view were nice, although not worth the money in my opinion. What we didn't like was the completely unfriendly staff. It was like it was a burden on them for us to be there. They were not helpful in any way, never smiled, and they displayed so many rules about the hotel that it bordered on comical. The staff live on site and should probably close up shop and just enjoy the rest of their days on the coast alone.
1 out of 5
by lisa from sebastopol, CA

not as marketed to be, it was old, and stuffy.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: nothing
After seeing the room, we opted out of staying there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Sunsets but a few quirks!

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lots of confusion at check in since the owner/manager was called away on an emergency but it all got sorted out. Did get upgraded to a room with a view (you don't want the room on the first floor under the stairs - enough said). Great sunsets and good value for the price. Might want to check the room out (one side of the bed seemed to be partly broken) and never got our room cleaned the first day! Attitude good and laid back plus a great restaurant next door - breakfast included! Great location if you are wanting to stay north of Half Moon Bay!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Malcolm from Livermore

Clean and Quite, But...

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean! Nice and quiet. Especially considering the proximity to the freeway. But nothing gets fixed here that I can tell. There is a warning on the Jacuzzi that running it gets you kicked out of the hotel. The fluorescent lite with half the covering as cardboard? Come on...these things are a few bucks at the hardware store. The open florescent fixture in the bath was just ugly. Plus the door barely locks and the bathroom door won't stay shut. It was a great room in a nice location, but it seems like it doesn't get any fixing. If something breaks then its broken forever. Bummer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Shirley from San Jose, Ca

Disappointing

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Not much
Cons: Broken spa tub, broken toilet tank lid, peeling wall paper
Location: Location is fine, many lovely beaches, and variaty of resturants
Building is under repair, many steep steps. Just not a pleasant experience. Hotel employee very pleasant, but did not make up for disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Inn, great view of the ocean.

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: Very friendly checking in. Large room. great view.
Cons: They have plans to update it, so it should be even better in the future.
Location: Gas station and convenience store next door.. across the street from the ocean.
Checked in late an left early. Had a 3rd floor "penthouse" room which was quite spacious The bathroom has a whirl pool tub but a note in the room said not to use or or be fined. The continental breakfast was packaged food, no real treat and very limited. Got there at 8:30 as it opened and the person ahead of me got the last orange juice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rose from Los Angeles

homey / comfortable inn

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place was wonderful,only stayed one nite but will definitely be coming back. The room had a homey feeling. Next time will plan in advance and get a ocean view room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great surprise!

Posted Sep 12, 2013
Pros: We started the day expecting to end up in a Comfort Suite or Holiday Inn. The Ocean View Inn ended up being a great treat for us. We loved it!
Cons: Parts of the property are showing it's age. We just chalked it up to "ambiance"
Location: You're on the PCH, south of San Fran between Pacifica and Half Moon Bay, overlooking the pacific ocean. Great local spots, just ask the front desk,
Part of the fun for my wife and I is "rolling the dice" for last-minute hotel deals. It let's us adjust our schedule on the fly. We read the reviews about this property and almost booked something else, but rooms were scarce in San Francisco and this was still close enough to the airport to work, and at a really nice price. What a great find! Maybe they've upgraded since some of the negative reviews, maybe it wasn't the right "fit" for some. For us it was perfect. Charming, maybe a bit quirky, an extremely helpful staff, and a spectacular room. We'll be back!