Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Overall very pleasant!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: the bed was very comfortable
Cons: Bathroom
Location: a gas station and convenience store next door, galleries, coffee shop and restaurant
I booked this hotel on line, looked very quant and had a sea side view which I wanted. The room was very spacious and clean but in need of some major renos in the bathroom! In a broucher, handed to me upon check in we were told we could not use the whirlpool tub in our room or face a $500 fine! Ok not what you want to hear when your paying but the other bathroom areas needed updating also! Breakfast was next door at a little coffee shop.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff very polite; bed was clean.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Staff friendly and helpful. The inn is in a good location and the price is reasonable.
Cons: Rooms need to be upgraded and bathroom definitely needs improvement.
Location: Very much enjoyed going to the beach at Half Moon Bay (about 7 miles away) and walking on the cliffs.
Photos and descriptions of hotel accommodations are extremely inaccurate. Ocean view is limited and traffic could be heard all night. Bathroom appeared to have water damage; fixtures were old and tub/shower tile appeared to have mildew. Wall paper is peeling and carpet extremely worn. Jacuzzis cannot be used. Outside stairs are dangerous and falling apart; the hotel does have a warning notice that stairs cannot be used. Had we not been told there was no refund we would have sought other accommodations. While the price is good, people should be informed of the reality of conditions and photos should reflect condition of the inn. Patrons should be better informed regarding conditions of lodgings. We did not see other rooms; perhaps they are better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

A Great Value near Half Moon Bay

Posted Jan 12, 2015
A great value for people looking for a get-away on a budget! We had a wonderful time at this cute little place in Montara. The room included a breakfast at the cute breakfast spot next door. We had an amazing dinner at La Costanero nearby and watched the sunset at The Ritz in Half Moon Bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sc

Great location close to the city

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Confortable, Expedia don't force people to write
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gastonfrom Miami

Linda ubicación en mal estado y mal servicio

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Definitivamente no esta de acuerdo al precio que cobran. Podria ser un hostel pero nunca un boutique B&B. El edificio es lindo pero esta muy descuidado, el servicio pésimo. Una habitación muy grande con hermosa vista pero muebles viejos, tapizados y alfombras raídas y la TV con el tubo quemado que apenas se ve (sí tubo en 2014).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by QWfrom Portland

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fine, not exceptional but fine.
2 out of 5
by Scottfrom Livermore, CA

Wanted a romantic getaway.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: The room and the hotel were nice, and the ocean view was beautiful.
Cons: THE STAFF!!!!!!!!!!
The room and the view were nice, although not worth the money in my opinion. What we didn't like was the completely unfriendly staff. It was like it was a burden on them for us to be there. They were not helpful in any way, never smiled, and they displayed so many rules about the hotel that it bordered on comical. The staff live on site and should probably close up shop and just enjoy the rest of their days on the coast alone.
1 out of 5
by lisafrom sebastopol, CA

not as marketed to be, it was old, and stuffy.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: nothing
After seeing the room, we opted out of staying there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Sunsets but a few quirks!

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lots of confusion at check in since the owner/manager was called away on an emergency but it all got sorted out. Did get upgraded to a room with a view (you don't want the room on the first floor under the stairs - enough said). Great sunsets and good value for the price. Might want to check the room out (one side of the bed seemed to be partly broken) and never got our room cleaned the first day! Attitude good and laid back plus a great restaurant next door - breakfast included! Great location if you are wanting to stay north of Half Moon Bay!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Malcolmfrom Livermore

Clean and Quite, But...

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean! Nice and quiet. Especially considering the proximity to the freeway. But nothing gets fixed here that I can tell. There is a warning on the Jacuzzi that running it gets you kicked out of the hotel. The fluorescent lite with half the covering as cardboard? Come on...these things are a few bucks at the hardware store. The open florescent fixture in the bath was just ugly. Plus the door barely locks and the bathroom door won't stay shut. It was a great room in a nice location, but it seems like it doesn't get any fixing. If something breaks then its broken forever. Bummer.