Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, rustic getaway from the daily grind

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful grounds, friendly staff, charming rooms, a swimming pool that must be seen - straight out if the 1920s!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Storied History...but overpriced!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
My husband and I stayed here for one night when in town for a wedding. The room was $350 for the evening, and this did not include breakfast which was an additional $22 each. The room itself was not only dated in its decor, but the location within the hotel left a lot to be desires considering how much we had paid. It was pretty much in the lobby and on the first floor which made for a noisey stay with the volume of traffic up and down the halls, and within the lobby area itself. As our window was on the ground level there was also a significant amount of noise from those passing by in addition to the valet car traffic. The ammenities were good, however I would not recommend this hotel if you are only intending on staying for a single night as you will not get full enjoyment with check in not being until 3:00pm and check out at 12:00 the following day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill, Ontario

Family of four, two day stay

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The hotel was impressive and the property well kept. Lots of activities available but beware, they are not all free. Our room was nice and comfortable(two double beds), the outdoor pool was nice but not very clean. There was visible ring of dirt around the inside of the pool. In the evening you could sit around the huge fireplace in the lobby and play board games and have a drink, a very cozy atmosphere. We only ate breakfast at the hotel . Our kids had the buffet and the best part was the crepes with maple butter and chocolate danish. Overall it was a nice experience but two days were enough.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Lovely hotel with comfortable bed & pillows :))

Posted Jul 4, 2014
We had our summer trip in 3 diff't hotels in different places of Quebec.. First in Montebello 2nd was Piedmont & lastly was at Beaupre.. All of them had lovely views & pool but Fairmont Chateau Montebello gave us Best Comfort in sleeping.. D best of it all a good signal of wifi even out side d hotel.. D Grill Buffet in patio is not that great lots of flies everywhere in d food & quite costly for a very limited choice of food :(( we didn't enjoy our dinner :(( We love this hotel & we'll be coming back again:))
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pascal from Ottawa

A very nice site.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The site and the area is very nice and the hotel is great place to stay even it is not cheap. The problem now is this new fee of 17$ who is supposed to cover a bunch of service who do not exist in reality and this fee pays the parking and the internet. So, your room price goes systematically up by 17$ for every night. Parking space is not a problem with the huge area available, so, to pay for parking and the internet in this type of hotel is not normal. Internet is free in very coffee chop......
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joey from Moncton

Quick stay in Quebec

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Love Montebello, lovely hidden gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Pete from Atlantic Canada

Rustic Stay

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel, love Montebello. A couple of small irrantants however. I`ve been going to the Chateau for 27 years, so I know it well. No digital clock in the room bothers me as I like to know what time it is when I awake in the middle of the night. Also, for the price of the rooms one would think that you could jump on a computer in the Business Centre for free. Not so, $21 to be on the web for 5 minutes to print one small document. Rather ridiculous. One last point. On the second level are a number of chess/backgammon/checker tables. Quite fun with a lovely view of the foyer. Most of the backgammon pieces are gone/unmatched or in one case a piece of stone was replacing a marker. Could Fairmont not afford to buy 5 backgammon sets at perhaps a cost of $50 ??? Overall I love the place, just a bit more attention to small detauls would be appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Average hotel with an outstanding restaurant

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were expected a more luxurious hotel. The hotel is all in wood which is very nice. However the room was quite small an average. We had to ask for a new room because the first one was very smelly. The second one was ok but the bathroom door was very hard to close (due to the wood construction). We could not use any outdoor activities because the winter saison was over and the summer saison has not started yet. The surrounding was very nice with the still frozen lake. The restaurant was definitively the best part: the food was excellent and well presented; the best we had in our stay in Canada!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com