Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south Florida

Secret Spot in Paradise

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Private beach area with gazebo.
Cons: Appliances need to be upgraded a bit.
Location: There's a nice little grocery/liquor store right across the street and next to it is a very good restaurant. Only 4 miles from downtown and shops.
Lovely grounds, beautiful steps down to beach off tree covered patio area. Great little pool and patios...quiet but friendly and private. Staff was wonderful. They are helpful, friendly and keep the rooms and grounds in perfect condition.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem

Posted May 1, 2015
Enjoyed 5 days in Jamaica. Chrisanns is a very nice place to stay especially if you are on a budget. I felt safe on property and the area is nice. Each apt. Is individually owned. I stayed in studio apt#6. Cons: You will need a car or a taxi to get everywhere. There's a restaurant and grocery store across the street. The store closes early by American standards so if you have a late arrival bring water, snacks etc before you leave the airport. I had two harmless lizards in my room. They come in thru the air conditioner. The bathroom needs major updating. Some mold under the sink and water damage above the shower. Pros: Incredible staff. Housekeeping cleans entire apt including dishes. The grounds are breathtaking. Beach is usable although rocky bring water shoes. The bed is comfy. They will provide beach towels. It's nice being away from the tourist feel of the mega resorts. I used the pool. Free wifi with a sometimes weak signal. Tranquil setting. Location is about a 5-7 minute drive to Dunn's River, Dolphin Cove etc. I would stay here again as long as I get to choose my apt. Apparently 9,10 & 25 are some of the recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Stress free vacation

Posted Apr 25, 2015
I loved the faculty they made our stay easier , they facilities our travel and helped even get discounts on a water park. Gave us their honest opinion and made sure other restaurant treat us amazingly.They cleaned very nice and righty even got us food for us and made our stay as relaxing and care free as possible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale Fl

Close to the beaches

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Overall my cond I stayed in need to be re decorate and refurbished, it also need new kitchen gadget,the unit has a beautiful view. The pool walls need to be clean you can see the grease around it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

beautiful beach side hotel for budget travelers

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Lovely little beach area and very quiet
Cons: adding some more towels, and kitchenware
Location: Just 20 min outside of Ocho Rios town (Accessible by route taxi). Close to Bamboo Beach.
An excellent hotel for the price. My husband and I stayed in one of the studio apartments. The staff were very helpful as we planned all of our sight seeing around Ocho Rios. The beach area and pool are not large, but very pretty and plenty of space for the few guests who stayed there at the time. The apartment was clean and cheerful and we had daily housekeeping. Our house keeper refreshed the two bathroom towels and did dishes each day (we made use of the kitchen to do some self-catering). The kitchen had plenty of plates, glasses, silver wear for the two of us. The one thing we could have used that we were missing a cutting board and chopping knife. Of course, it's not a full service resort, and there were some quirks (the housekeeper forgot to replace our bathmat one night, the "king bed" was actually two twins pushed together and not terribly comfortable, but overall it exceeded expectations for a budget friendly hotel. It's located outside the town of Ocho Rios but we appreciated the quite that comes with that. We found it easy to take route taxis (shared cars and mini vans which run a set route and pick up passengers along the way) into town from right in front of the hotel for about a dollar US each (the security guard helped us figure it out our first day). It's also across the street from Glen's restaurant, a local bar, and a small grocery/ corner store. And, Toscanini's amazing (upscale) Italian food is just a short walk down the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Awesome Jamaica Experience!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Very good hotel at a very reasonable price. Located directly on the ocean. Beautiful views. Plenty of lounge chairs. Access to good snorkeling (if the waves are calm) and in a very secure location (locked gate with security guard). Grocery store right across the street also gives a very fair exchange rate (June's Supermarket). Rooms very clean and housekeeping very thorough. We'd get sand and water and whatever in there and each day it was spotless. Housekeeper "Cathy" is really good. Locals are friendly and behaved. One of the only places we were not swamped with hagglers. Seriously, no one ever bugged us--while we were at this place. The other residents at this place also made the experience all the better. These are condos/time-shares and the owners are very polite and friendly. We met lots of people down by the pool and really enjoyed talking with them and finding out more about the island. One of the folks, Kevin, helped us out with snorkeling and took us out to see some of the better spots in the area. I'd go back there in a minute. stayed there 3 nights, wished it was 3 months.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fix it yourself

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: not much
Cons: see above
Location: Dunns River Falls - not my idea of a good time holding hands with a hundred other people and climbing the rocks
Had to defrost the fridge ourselves as we could not shut the door. Had to fix the plumbing - shower head was a slow drip. Toilet ran. Air conditioner was either freezing or off. Thank goodness it was not that hot out. Plugged in the fan one storey down with our own extension cord. Very quiet small beach (nice) but couldn't walk anywhere as it was located right on a major busy road. A ways out of town so needed a taxi to get there. And it was crowded with tourists from HUGE cruise ships. Would not recommend. This place is a bunch of individually owned condos - not a hotel - so up to the discretion of the owner. Some others looked great but not this one!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sharon from London

Good stay

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
I was very disappointed to find there was no " private beach". What was there was a pile of rocks, a little sand that led to a small portion of the sea. Bad misrepresention, but staff very friend and willing to assist so I would return on that basis and fact that it's very close to good local amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jill from New York

Perfect vacation

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time! Everyone was great, clean and comfortable. I loved so much I want to come back many times! Thank you.. Jill and Shawn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Very nice quiet beachfront apartment

Posted Oct 5, 2014
I greatly recommend this hotel. The staff is very nice and helpful. The pool and the little private beach are lovely and very quiet. The rooms are clean and well equiped for cooking. There is a market accross the street which is convenient, but you might need to rent a car to go to town for more variety of products.