Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good and Bad - Here's the REAL SKINNY on El Grecco

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: 1) Close proximity to nightlife/Beaches/Town etc. 2) Free Breakfast whhich is quite good. 4) Place is relatively safe/with guard
Cons: 1) Decor 2) Furnitures 3) Rooms in general
Location: Fishing Beach Nightlife Center of Town Restaurants Shopping
Best Attributes of El Grecco 1) Close proximity to nightlife/Beaches/Town etc. 2) Free Breakfast whhich is quite good. 3) Staff is friendly 4) Place is relatively safe/with guards at all entrances/exits. Reasons against staying at El Grecco 1) If you are looking for above average accomodations to a first class hotel..This is not the place for you. Bare minimum in terms of quality and comfort....You get what you pay for. 2) Place needs modernization in quality and comfort... That being said if you are on a budget or you are not really high on first class accommodations. This should work well for you. If you like the finer things in life and a vacation..Go to Riu or Iberostar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Trenton, NJ

Cheap Stay for College Students

Posted Mar 22, 2015
One of my friends and I stayed at El Greco recently for our spring break vacation. As most of the other reviews have said, the hotel is nothing glamorous. However it is safe, comfortable, convenient, and in a prime location. The rooms certainly could have used a facelift, but for the price that we paid we were not expecting much. The beach is literally down an elevator and across the street. It is absolutely gorgeous. The restaurant where you eat your complimentary breakfast overlooks all of Montego Bay, as well as the sea. Five minutes to the airport. The nightlife in the area, however, is nonexistent. Places are fun during the day, but very chill at night (at least during the week when we were there). This was fine for us, as we were looking for relaxation anyway. It is definitely a budget hotel, if you are looking for anything better than El Greco, I suggest you severely increase your budget and stay at one of the nearby all inclusive resorts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Got much more than expected especially at $100/night rate. Was given free upgrade to 2 bedroom 2 story townhouse. Very good free breakfast. Good free wifi. Secure and great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: proximity to beach and area attractions
Cons: Suite air conditioners.
Location: Doctors Cave beach an elevator ride away and complimentary entrance for guests.
Room partially air conditioned. At time made it uncomfortable. Reception desk staff unfriendly at times (impatient) Other staff pleasant and willing to help. Enjoyed the variety/abundance of complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom ny by way of richmond, va.

better than expected

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: love the room layout. very comfortable. very good food. love the day passes for doc cave beach
Cons: bar stay open longer
Location: hop skip and jump to get to main strip.
better than i expected. wish i had stayed longer. feel more like home. great check in. staff really nice. booked a king but received two twins. they quickly corrected the problem by sending a fella to push the two twins together to make the king. one twin was 2 inches taller than the other, lol. still it wasn't a big deal, just funny. he tried. can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach and hip strip

Posted Mar 19, 2015
I stayed at the resort for 4 days. The resort was nice and clean it is a older resort but the staff does a good job keeping it clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. The restaurant on the property had good food and the prices are reasonable. The complimentary breakfast is served at the restaurant and is also good. The hip strip is in the back of the hotel and so is the beach. The beach is very nice and the hotel gives u a free pass to the beach so u don't have to pay. Margaritaville is on the hip strip its nice and it has a water slide. They also have parties here on Saturday nights. Overall I would stay at this resort again the next time I come to Jamaica. We also visited Negril (Margaritaville and Ricks Cafe) and Ocho Rio (Dunns River) during our stay. I recommend going to these places if u can.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Affordable suite with a great breakfast & location

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Free, delicious breakfast. Free beach passes. Easy to work with. Location The snorkeling right on Doctor's Cave Beach is actually pretty good.
Cons: Updating the decor, furniture, A/C, wifi, showers and windows.
Location: Bioluminescent Bay, Doctor's Cave Beach, Pork Pit, YS Falls, Haunted Rose Hall, local food at stands in the rural areas (get a private driver)
This property contains a mix of hotel rooms, private condos and residences. We stayed at the El Greco Hotel. The staff was courteous and easy to work with. They provided us with a great private driver (Soloman) who we used on three separate days and worked with us on price. Both the authentic Jamaican and American breakfast options at the El Greco are delicious and included in the price of your stay. That, plus the unlimited free beach passes to Doctor's Cave Beach, with free towels, were a tipping point for us to book this hotel (rather than a private condo on the same property) or elsewhere on the Hip Strip. There were 5 of us staying in a 2 bedroom, 2.5 bathroom suite with a shared kitchen and living room. There was a fee of $500 for the extra guest (over 4 people), but we knew about it upfront and paid via Expedia. They gave us two extra twin beds and a safe key for free. We were in Block/Building B on the third floor and it was VERY VERY loud. It sounded like the vehicles went right through the room. The room was dated, but clean, and had plenty of space. The hot water was tricky, but overall, the only real complaint was the noise, so make sure you don't stay in that building. The wifi worked best in the rooms facing the interior of the property.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mich

It was average

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Near a beach
Cons: The condition of the property.
Location: Doctors Cave
It was average.The property needs much improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom green bay, wi

El Greco

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Location, amenities, staff, price, the room
Cons: Pool side chairs they are very worn out.
Location: BIGGS BBQ, Porkpit, margaritaville, shops, doctors cove beach, luminous lagoon, downtown Montego Bay
My husband and I stayed here for 14 days. It has free breakfast which was great! We saved a lot of money staying here and we don't mind that it is not completely all inclusive. We are not that picky, so if you are high maintenance or don't want to find your own food for lunch and dinner you might want to stay at an all inclusive (they do have a restaurant on site though which was good.) We stayed in the D block which is quieter than the other blocks that are near the highway. The room is like a little apartment with a living room, kitchenette, bedroom with bathroom. You can request pots, pans dish-soap at the main desk or anything else you need. There is an air conditioner in the bedroom only, which was just fine for us. All rooms have a balcony that was awesome! Some people complained about their AC not working, which ours wasn't when we got there but you just call the staff and they gladly came and fixed it for us. My only complaint is the poolside chairs. They are very very worn out and need to be replaced because they were really uncomfortable if the few good chairs were already taken. I just scoped out the chairs and took the best one available.The hotel is near the "hip strip" which was convenient. You get free daily beach passes to Doctor's Cove beach. The staff was very friendly didn't have any issues with that. VERY close to airport, probably 2 miles. They also have a scale we weighed our luggage on before leaving. We will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ny

Nice hotel and great beaches

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Very peaceful and quite, the staff is very helpful and the beaches are great, great shopping on the hip strip