Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Best for families by far!

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Relaxing casual atmosphere, great food, huge rooms (2 bed-2bth), friendly, diligent staff, lush grounds, small beach.
Location: Location in Runaway Bay - can sign up for off resort activities like zip-lining, horseback riding, shopping trips.
When we checked in we were the fourth family with a set of twins at this hotel -- because parents of twins need a rest sometimes! Our four year old boys were on the go with their nanny within an hour of arriving while my husband and I took our time getting settled before joining them at the pool - but we could sit and have a beverage while the boys were under the nanny's watchful eye. The entire week was a seamless blend of the boys being off and about with the nanny and us relaxing, eating, swimming - or joining up with them when we wanted. The resort size is just perfect so you can meet up easily (not huge & sprawling). My husband and I had two romantic dinners alone while the boys ate at the kids dinner and then were put to bed by their nanny. The overall experience was absolutely wonderful - relaxing, fun, exciting for our boys.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Best for families with young kids!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
This was our first trip to FDR but it definitely won't be our last. It's perfect for families with young children. I was a little hesitant about leaving my kids 2&4 with the nanny at first ( never done anything like that before) but after a couple of days my kids were begging me to go with the Nanny and have craft time. It gave us adults a real break so we could enjoy some free time! And we never had to worry about where our kids were or what they were doing- as the resort is small enough that you can see them from almost everywhere. The service at this resort is second to none, and the food was great for an all inclusive.It was truly the best family vacation we have been on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Good for small kids, can use some updating

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Food, service, waterslide, beach access, plenty of activities and easy to arrange outside tours. Top shelf liquor and good bartenders.
Cons: Preventative maintenance: waterslide broke, should have had a backup motor. Internet is very spotty. Also list weekly activities online to plan ahead
Location: Close to Ocho Rios, Dunn Falls, Mystic Mountain, Chukka (canopy, horseback, float trips) and local caves
We went with our just teen son, were a little concerned it would be too focused on small children but there were plenty of teens and teen activities. The resort is ideally suited for small children, as they assign nannies (we declined ours) for the day (extra cost for evenings, seems like most families pay that). Without the nanny it took a little extra effort to get things like supplies for the room, otherwise no issues. Food was good, although 2 restaurants are adult only (found out later we could get food and eat in the general area, we didn't want to split up). Drinks were top shelf (run punch is addictive) although wine selection is very poor and even the purchase wines ($40-65/bottle) are mediocre at best. We took a car service in so we would get there faster, and should have stopped on the way for wine and bottled water (they sell for $1-3, most everything else is complementary). We took the return shuttle and that was fine. Pool was good for kids and adults, and the waterslide was fun, that is until it broke down. This was unacceptible, a major attraction like this should have had a backup motor ready to swap in, just incredibly poor preventative maintenance on their part. It was down several days. The other major issue is internet service. Wifi is available resort wide but it was very inconsistent, constantly going down. I tried to work with the person they called IT, but they clearly were struggling to understand it themselves. Otherwise strongly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fl

Weekend getaway for the fam.

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Charmung, quiet, perfect for a family weekend getaway. Hotel staff was awesome, suite was big, loved the amenities but the best part was having a nanny. Our nanny Renee was amazing and made our trip even more enjoyable. Will definitely revisit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Just OK for us

Posted Apr 1, 2015
We had a short stay - only 4 days - and I do think our experience with our nanny was improving with time, but overall this was just OK for us. Our son is around 20 months and he didn't really take to our nanny - that impacted our entire stay. The resort is nothing fancy, but the grounds and amenities are doable. Was nice to have the bar close to our room and the bartenders poured generously and we drank top shelf the entire time. The rooms were definitely dated, but clean and comfortable. Food was just OK; the jerk chicken and wraps at grille by the bar was our favorite. We went off site for dinner one night to Sharkies and that was not worth it to us (too long of a wait, overpriced, but quality food). Our only real complaint is that our nanny had such a hard time with our son. We just expected to get someone more experienced with children, and it was pretty obvious that she wasn't really comfortable tending to our son. We may try this resort again when our son is older and will want to run and make other friends - it really did look like the older school aged kids were having a ball and so were their parents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

AMAZING hotel for kids.

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Cons: Overall appearance
We just returned and can't say enough good things about our overall experience. Our nanny Sam was amazing with our kids. The kids loved the beach and playroom. We got to relax! Our son loved the big blue waterslide and the smaller one for kids. they have a ton of sand toys for kids. Everything was super clean!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom newyork

Mediocre

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Clean. Try hard
Cons: Better food.
Location: There's scotch near by.
Cons-This place is too Americanized. I Felt like I was I in US. Their food is like your local buffet and They focus too much on kids they forgot about the parents. There is no activity for adults. They did have karaoke nights and poker nights but it wasn't for me. Pros- nanny. Clean property. Lots of good activities for kids. This place is for people with older kids older parents.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom A

Great for kids and parents alike!!

Posted Mar 15, 2015
This place is wonderful. Caters wonderfully to families! Upon check in our nanny met us at the front desk, took us to our room, and gave us a tour of the facility! She was very good with our 4yo twin boys. Since we had our very own nanny to help keep our kids entertained, my husband and I could relax! We even took an excursion to Dunns River Falls while our kids enjoyed a day of toddler friendly activities! Very happy with our trip. We WILL be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ronfrom Philadelphia

Overall great and unique family vacation.

Posted Mar 2, 2015 
Pros: 1. Nanny service was terrific. Felt very safe. Staff very attentive. 2. Wonderful activities for the kids throughout the day. We have a 3 year old and 18 mo old and both had a great time at the beach, playground, etc. 3. Great ocean view from our room, but beware not all beach front rooms are the same, some have obscured views. We were able to switch to room with a nicer view. Cons: 1. Food was mediocre. The adult restaurant had the best dishes. 2. Beach is small. It's ok for the size of the resort but you have to leave the resort to see a wider beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Best family vacation!!!!

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The nannies! Many options for meals at the buffet, excursions planned, size of the room
Cons: Meal times could be a little different- lunch starting at 12 instead of 12:30.
Location: There were daily excursions but we did not do any of them
If you're looking for a vacation where you actually get to relax and enjoy yourself, this is the place to do it. The staff is amazing and our nanny is like another member of our family. She was with our two small children 9-4:40pm and then after that for us to enjoy an adult dinner. The hotel itself a little run down, however, they are constantly maintaining it- renovating rooms, landscaping, etc. We got a 2 bed, 2.5 bath two story room- it was fantastic for our family- highly recommend it. We loved how small the hotel was- you ended up meeting a bunch of families, knowing the staff, and felt safe with your kids around the hotel without you. We always felt that someone had an eye on our kids, even with us there. The food is average for an all-inclusive, but there are adult only restaurants and they change food options each night (jamaican, italian, etc) The buffet was my sons favorite part. Lots of choices for him (even healthy ones! veggies, fruit, smoothies, yogurt, along with the standard kid favorites) The beach is small but perfect for little kids. There are a few pool options for everyone (including Big Blue!), and there are activities scheduled every day for kids and adults. We did not leave the resort, but there are excursions every day. We were so sad to come home because we had the best time! This will be our yearly vacation. It is perfect for families.