Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manalapan,NJ

Great Place

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Huge place, great food, and lots to do
Cons: Watch out for the time share sales people...they are everywhere, and don't stay on the first floor to avoid the mosquitos
Location: Dunns River Falls are great and about an hour away
The hotel was great and the food was excellent. The kids club seemed enjoyable although my daughter was a bit too old to participate. There are plenty of shops on the property, a club, lots of bars and entertainment. Be wary of the sales people "inviting you to the celebration", it's their way of trying to sell you a timeshare. The beach is peaceful and perfect for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atl

Great accommodation it was my second time there

Posted Jul 19, 2014
My expectation was what I expected so that spot is gonna be my final destination wenever I visit ja.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Jamaica Grand Bahia (Runaway Bay)

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Everything. The hotel, food and pool was great. Great for a family vacation as well.
Location: Ocho Rios is about 20 - 25 minutes away. Dunn's River Falls, Mystic Mountain and shopping at the market are available in Ocho Rios.
What a beautiful hotel. I would definitely stay at Grand Bahia again. The hotel, food and pool were spectacular! But no vacation is perfect. I did encounter a rude server at the Japanese restaurant (Mikado). It was clearly the server's first night as he had to read from a cue card before the "show" started. He was quite rude when I ordered a drink that was not on the "drink list" but other than that, the stay was fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Okay hotel but nothing like the hotels in DR

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: We like the rooms, no mosquitoes, the children show, and some of the staff like the cleaning person, the restaurant personnel and the photographers.
Cons: The drinks served them in glass improve quality and served by the beach/pool, install fans, make restaurants available with no reservation.
Location: The Dolphin's Cove what a great experience, it is highly recommended.
I traveled with my family to this hotel expecting the same level of service that we had experience in two different hotels in Dominican Republic which were also all inclusive. However as soon as we arrived we realized that Jamaica all inclusive is not the same as Dominican Republic all inclusive. We arrive on a Sunday very early and were told that we needed to wait for the buffet to open and that there was no other place to eat. At that moment we realized this is a different type of all inclusive, in DR they have multiple places open where you can eat all the time and not just buffet type, you can have the actual experience of being seated like in a restaurant and order from the menu and this too was all inclusive. The food sadly was very bad on the day we arrive, my mother told me that we should leave, the days after that the food became better and very diverse but always cold like the type of food you eat after an hour of being cooked. Every time I went to reception to get a safe deposit box service, or get the Wi-Fi or make the reservation for the A la Cart restaurants I was always directed to someone else, because only one person is assign to do each of those services. After 3 times of trying to get the safe deposit box service we gave up and decided not to get it.In conclusion, they day we arrived I said this hotel is a two star hotel towards the end of trip (6 days) I changed my rating to a 3 star, the food became better and the staff were so nice with my son.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Beautiful, clean, wonderful vacation!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, beautiful grounds, clean everywhere, food was wonderful.
Cons: Give guests washcloths, more pillows. Have hallways & elevators with a/c. Not so many people asking you to do the time share.
We stayed for 5 days & it wasn't long enough!! The hotel was so clean, the grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly. Our room was comfortable, air conditioning worked great. The pool was amazing, we never felt crowded. The beach was beautiful, crystal clear water, warm, relaxing, & a nice breeze on the beach. The food was amazing!! We ate at the buffet, loved it! The jerk hut was great, spicy sauces! The restaurants were excellent, the French & Italian being our favorites. Wonderful vacation, would recommend to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We had a over all nice time the staff were great and the pool and Karoke bar bartenders were as good as the get beautiful resort
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

The beach is gorgeous

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The beds are hard, but look beautiful. The bathroom and shower doors would NOT close in three of our rooms (8 ppl traveling together). Only A/C IN your room if you a lucky one. Good luck getting a washcloth! The pool closes at 7 pm. The resort is huge so be prepared to walk and climb stairs. Bees everywhere. The staff is super friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orlando

Nice hotel, nice beach too

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The hotel and food was great. No so many shows to keep people entertain at nigh time. I certainly will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by N Newsome from Atlanta, Georgia

Beautiful Mega Resort

Posted Jun 24, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. My only complaints are that they didnt provide towels and we had to keep calling to request them. The air conditioning wasn't working well either. The service technician did arrive promptly to try to repair it, but it never really got cool enough. Also, you have to keep key card in the slot to run the power to the room resulting in the room staying hot while we were away, taking longer to cool upon our return. You have to pay for the safe in the room, $6USD per day. This has always been included at any other resort. Free Wifi for 1 hour per day, but only in the lobby.The food was excellent considering the large quantities due to the buffet style. Beautiful property and private beaches. Great snorkeling and sea shell collecting. I would recommend the resort and will probably visit it again considering the friendliness of the staff, food, and beaches.
2 out of 5
by BV from Bronx, NY

Bigger is not always better

Posted Jun 22, 2014
When I arrived the receptionist was unpleasant. She didn't give me my wristband or welcome beverage. I received both the following day. The air conditioning was not working at all in my rm and the toilet bowl ran all day. After calling the operator multiple times nothing was done. I understand that the Grand Bahia is a Spanish themed hotel but hello it's based in Jamaica with saying that I wish they had jamaican food. Overall I wasn't pleased and I would never stay there again. Oh 1 last thing the staff excluding 1 person which is the cook down by the beach snack bar cooking the jerk chicken were not pleasant at all. I thought their goal was, "aim to please"