Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington DC

Great property but far away from all attractions

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The sports beach and coral beach were fantastic. The food and drinks were great.
Cons: Cleanliness of room and comfort of bed
Location: There is nothing nearby to do. All attractions are far away.
The facility itself is beautiful and we enjoyed all meals and drinks. A must is the jerk chicken hut and try the banana colada which they are offering at every bar. If you are planning on visiting major attractions in Ochos Rios or Montego Bay, this resort is not for you. It is far away from everything and you will spend hours in a bus for 45 minutes of sightseeing. The bed was very uncomfortable and the cleanliness of the room was questionable. Lots of mold in the bathroom and bedroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New England

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Location, grounds
Cons: FOOD
Our experience overall was OK, but just OK. Beautiful grounds and most of the time the staff was professional and friendly. But buffet food was often just warm or even cold. Service in restaurants was so so; servers were often inattentive. Mini bar is supposed to be filled each day but 2 of our 4 days they forgot. The first time I asked them to fix their error; they did but man who came to our room was so rude we didnt even bother to notify them the second time. Check in and check out went smoothly.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Large resort in nice location

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly Sitting at the beach was wonderful
Cons: Change the bed and pillows. Include a blanket in the closet for those from cold climates who have trouble adapting to air conditioning initially.
Location: Location wasn't too bad. Unfortunately, it wasn't the kind of location where you could leave easily unless you were on organized trips or taxis.
We had read there was a lot of walking at this resort, but really didn't know how much until we arrived. We were at the far end of the Grand Palladium, so had to walk the maximum distance to reach the restaurants, spa and fitness club. THe food was ok, better in the ala carte restaurants and mediocre at the buffets. Having fresh tropical fruit was probably the best thing! The room was disappointing - very little privacy when using the toilet and shower. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable and I generally can sleep anywhere with little problem. We had electrical problems in our room when my husband was trying to do some work and they did attempt to fix it; however, they ended up hardwiring a wall sconce next to the bed which we could not turn off unless we unscrewed the light bulb. The staff were friendly overall, especially in the restaurants. In retrospect, we would have been happier at a smaller resort that was not all inclusive, since we do not drink hardly at all.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Rooms were European style. They were clean.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Food and clean facility
Cons: The style of the rooms. Get waitresses in the pool area to wait on us. We are on vacation and don't want to wait in lines for drinks.
Location: Lots of off resort options such as zip line, ATV, cruises and snorkeling.
Overall it was nice, but not great. There was no room service or waitresses on the pool deck. You had to wait in lines to get drinks. No food allowed in the pool area either. The food was good and the facility is clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

This is paradise???

Posted Jan 17, 2015
First off for a place that considers itself 4 stars they sure don't know how to keep a guest happy. The minibar is free, I guess that's why they don't fill it. The food is awful. I survived on breakfast omlettes and salads. The jaccuzzi didn't work. The ice machine was empty. There was no hot water in the morning to shower. The liquor was the worst cheap and watered down crap I've ever drank. There were no fresh towels till after 4 pm because "the laundry hasn't arrived". All in all if it wasn't sunny and the beach wasn't there it would have been a disaster. I will not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tennessee

Good overall experience

Posted Jan 16, 2015
-Location: 10 min from dolphin cove and chukka outdoor adventures. About 30-45 min from Negril (margaritaville, 7 mile beach, shopping, the jungle nightclub). -Room: clean, stayed cold no matter how we adjusted the thermostat, bed flat and hard, thin covers and no extra blankets. Room was outdated and looks exactly like the pictures online. Good water pressure in shower and never ran out of hot water. -Resort: huge, grounds very nice, landscaping pretty. Covered walkways. Shuttles to transport you around resort. -Two resort beach areas. Sunset beach had free water activities: paddle boarding, kyacking, snorkeling(they have snorkel masks but no flippers). The small catamaran was out of order. The water in Jamaica was pretty but seemed to always be cloudy and full of seaweed. -Pool: one adult only pool, one huge main pool. Very nice, large and cold. -Staff: friendly and helpful. -Nightly performances: good, entertaining, dancers very talented, different theme every night. Live music after show was good and mostly reggae style. -Food: average to good. Buffet for breakfast and lunch, good variety, loved the omlets for breakfast. They have espresso machines and can make lattes or cappuccinos. -Restaurants: Asain place was great. Mexican was good. Beach place was okay. Italian was disappointing. -Spa: nice, professional staff, I was very satisfied with our couples massage. The prices were absolutely ridiculous, I offered them a lower price and they immediately lowered it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom R

No way 5 stars, 3

Posted Jan 14, 2015
The food is the worst, only chicken is average, no room service, the drinks are not real brands, the pillows super flat, entertainment always the same, waiting to move to another hotel, I don't quere any more I have 6 days left, big disappointment, I got a day pass in Iberostart for dinner amazing, tomorrow Sandals,
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

A good resort that has the potential to be great

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Nice pool area/beaches (many beach chairs available). Some restaurants and buffets had great food. The live entertainment at Infinity Bar was great.
Cons: I would have liked more information about classes, shows, restaurants, etc. Upon check-in, we were basically handed room keys and sent on our way.
Location: It is not too far from Montego Bay Airport (~40 minute drive). It is between Negril and Montego Bay so you can visit both areas on excursions.
The Grand Palladium is a good resort, but a few negative points keeps it from being a great resort. THE GOOD: Pool area/beaches - There are a lot of lounges available. There are plenty of places in both sun and shade depending on preference. Restaurants/buffets - The food is mixed in quality depending on where you eat. The Asian restaurant, Jamaican restaurant, pool bar/grill, and jerk hut had great food. The staff - The staff was polite but some individuals had better personalities by far. THE BAD: Large resort - It takes a lot of time to find everything. We only had five days at the resort and two of the days we left on excursions. We needed more time to experience all of the restaurants and resort amenities. Room comfort - Our room had a musty smell and the bed was the worst I had ever slept on at a resort. Restaurants/buffets - We could not get a table at Bubba's. The server said it was first come first served, then said we could not wait for a table. Some buffet food was not great. Overall lack of resort information - We didn't know that we needed to bring "towel cards" from our check-in envelope in order to get towels at the pool. There was no place to find information about classes, activities, shows, etc. Names of the restaurants don't match the map. The spa menu in our room had incorrect prices. We called to book a massage and they told us the prices had gone up (a lot) for 2015. The resort website offers no information for guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

Beautiful property

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Truly a paradise to come to. Was extremely pleased with the accommodations, the food and the service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jamaica

This hotel is fabulous really fantastic

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Great stay at this hotel 5 star This hotel is well kept from the grounds to the rooms and facilities of the hotel food and drinks very good