Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Beautiful Hotel, lots of activities in the resort, had lot of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Great experience overall! Would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

DELIGHTFUL

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The housekeeping staff was wonderful.
Cons: My butler was broken.
Location: Right on the beach.
Best vacation EVER. Hotel was gorgeous, staff was friendly and helpful, and the drinks were delicious! First time to Jamaica, but definitely not the last.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

We had a good time

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: The beach area, The pools, room size, certain staff in particular, the buffet, the beach party, the steel drum band. Overall, good value.
Cons: Find an alternative to plastic ID bracelets, prohibit smoking at the pool, get a real Sushi chef, get deeper closets or smaller hangers.
Location: Great location, good proximity to Montego Bay.
I have been to Jamaica many times, wanted to take my wife, and decided an all-inclusive would be best. I went with Iberostar Grand based on photos and reviews. When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff. While checking in, I was surprised to find out we would be wearing plastic identification bracelets for the entire stay. We were led to our room, which was on the lowest level, so we were on the same level as the pool area. Given a choice, I would not have chosen this level. I asked for a different room and was told the hotel was full. The room was large and comfortable. The closets were not deep enough to fit a hanger properly. The shower floor had some standing water after a shower, a problem I would have expected fixed. The hotel allows cigarette smoking at the pool area, which surprised me. When we were in the pool at 5pm on our first night, the staff asked us to retrieve other people's used drink glasses for them! We had confusion at the pool when we sat at some chairs where another couple had been, and the staff had removed their towels. The guests came back and made it an awkward confrontation. Waitstaff enthusiasm was uneven, not uniform. Particular waitstaff should mentor their peers. The buffet was quite good, a highlight. The restaurants were good, but some of the meals were lukewarm. The Sushi was not authentic. The Teppanyaki chef was a highlight. The pool and beach areas are the best features. The steel drum band was fantastic. We had a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Greensboro, NC

A must stay in Montego Bay!!!!

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: The Staff!
Cons: More times available at the restaurants needing reservations.
Location: We took advantage of snorkeling, kayak and other activities. There is plenty to do on the resort and they can setup tours easily.
Sorry for the cheesy title, but this place was unbelievable!!! The people are extremely nice and are genuinely happy that you are staying there. Rooms are great, especially with your butler assisting with anything you need. If you are looking for a great relaxing Jamaican resort, without the kids, this is the place to be!!! What a great place to celebrate my 50th Birthday!!! We will be back for sure!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fantastic vacation

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Wonderful time, fantastic service, and great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom las vegas

Beautiful resort, slight issues

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Location, quality and overall satisfaction . I wouldn't ask for a better location, sand is racked every morning so no seaweed or rocks. Rooms we amazing with high quality furniture and bedding. Only issue was power went off a couple times as long as 25 min each time. Our room ac never truely recovered, as for the remainder of our trip the room never really got cold after the power outages. Also some restaurants also had ac issues after the power outage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, food could have been better

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The staff was eager to make the stay enjoyable
Cons: The wait staff at meal times and the quality of the food, particularly at the restaurants. Buffet was typical. Could have been better fruit as well.
The hotel room was clean and nice with plenty of staff to attend to your needs. The drinks were surprisingly well made for an all-inclusive. A number of the wait staff during meals could have been more attentive, but overall my stay was quite pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New york

Very nice hotel can't wait to go back again.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
The is an amazing place to stay the meals was great the room was awesome I think I will always stay there on my yearly vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: The pools and the beach were great. The hotel is a 5 star hotel with the exception of the food. We have had much better quality food at other hotels.
Cons: The hotel could mention the services of Mobay so travelers aren't surprised when arriving in Jamaica. Most people would never know of this service.
The hotel staff are friendly and accessible. They do everything possible to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable.! The bartenders at the swim up bar in the pool are great. They definitely will keep you in a great mood. The restaurants were average overall, the Japanese Steak House was by far the best. The wait staff all did a great job serving and going out of their way to make sure you were satisfied.The staff did a great job with the cookouts on the beach, the jerk chicken and pork were great. We met the Butler when we arrived and he set us up with anything we wanted in the mini bar. It's a good idea to make your dinner reservations online about 2 weeks before you travel to insure you get the meal times you would like to have. Definitely consider using Mobay at the airport to assist you getting through customs and immigrations. People were standing in line for 3 to 4 hours, not a pleasant experience. Mobay will walk you through and express lane and it saves you a ton of time.