Ratings based on 816 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Honeymoon destination

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: NA
This was the best vacation experience we ever had. Usually towards the end of vacation, I'm ready to go home. Not this time. I wanted to stay another week. Customer service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view, nice facilities

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: Some of the hall areas seemed in need of freshening up
Location: We just wanted to relax so we didn't plan to go on excursions .. it sounds like there were many things to do and see. Maybe next time!
We had a great time at this friendly, clean and beautiful resort! The morning view was beautiful, we loved the beach area and the spa was a nice splurge! We were celebrating retirement and had such nice weather every day and it was so relaxing. We don't travel too much .. yet .. but this trip was really nice. The only drawback was the long trip from the airport, but it was not snowing like it was in Wisconsin, so it didn't matter so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Great location and atmosphere
Cons: Clean room earlier
Location: Tours of all kinds to do nearby and hotel is right on the beach
Staying at the Jewels was great! The food and drinks were both pretty good and the Japanese restaurant for dinner is very nice. I definitely like how you can just walk to the beach and that the hotel isn't giant - it only fits about 250 people so it's not like you are wondering around trying to find some place. Also, the hotel is central to a lot of things you can do nearby which made tours very easy for us. Only negative was that sometimes our room wasn't cleaned until like 4 or 5pm when we were back from our tours. It would have been nice if they were cleaned like around 11 or 12.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Wapakoneta, Ohio

Excellent resort

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: The layout, staff, and entertainment
My husband and I just got back from Jewel Dunns river Resort and we had a wonderful time! When we first arrived, we were greeted with rum punch and cool towels for our faces (I LOVED this!). The staff was very friendly and helpful in all aspects. Each night there was entertainment which we thoroughly enjoyed. The entertainment crew by the pool was so much fun. We already miss Cocoa, Sassy, Happy Feet, and the Mayor! Loved them :). I have already recommended this resort to a few friends and I'm hoping to go back one day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice resort relaxing and comfortable

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The employees are great and the grounds are beautiful
Cons: The beach is kind of small but theirs nothing that can be done about that. Never seemed to crowded and we always found a chair.
Location: The cruise ship pier and shopping is 5 minutes away by taxi.
The resort is really nice and the people who work there are great... They work very hard to make your stay a pleasant one. The rooms are spacious enough and very clean. We had a balcony room in the diamond building, well worth the money.The food is good and their is plenty to choose from at all meal times. You can actually get food until 7am at the outside grill. The Jerk Chicken is awesome. Drinks are strong if you want them that way just ask and don't forget to tip a little, these people work hard and deserve the tips that they get. Would i go back? Yes . Get the Mobay package at the airport, its worth the money. They met us at the plane ramp and whisked us through the crowd in customs to the front of the line. Then took us to the club for food and drinks while we waited for our shuttle to the resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Syracuse, New York

Special treatment when I was sick

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: It's small enough to be manageable. No lines, excellent food, peace and quiet if you want it, and I noticed most of the resort is smoke-free!
Cons: It would be nice to have a small "grab and go" section for late night snacks. Maybe some cookies, tea, apples, that sort of thing.
Location: By far the experience of a lifetime is the Luminescent Lagoon! Pitch dark, boat ride, magical swim, and the best surprise of all.
The people who work at the Jewel--Dunn's River are extraordinary. This was my second visit, which is quickly becoming an annual adult family vacation. This year I came down with a cold near the end of our week, and lost my voice the day before departure. Shaniece from the Coral Cafe made me a special concoction of freshly squeezed lime juice and honey; the staff at the Spa prepared a steam bath with eucalyptus oil; Montgomery made me a lemon tea with honey; the gift shop lady commiserated as she gave me some Dayquil; and, a gardener gave me a beautiful flower that smelled heavenly! All of this personal treatment was unsolicited. It just shows how much people care, and how kind everyone is. I highly recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom richmond mi.

nice hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Cons: entertainment in the evening.
the food was awesome as well was the staff. Not enough things to do in the evening.maybe a nightly show of comedy or dancers , singers ect.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: 1 thing, free use of pool floats so we didn't have to bring ours.
Cons: New staff and a good cleaning
I have been to plenty of all inclusive resorts and for the money this did not measure up at all. It felt like we were staying at a Holiday Inn not a resort. Food was lacking, liquor was mostly bottom shelf. Bars would have staff behind them and when we walked up to grab a drink they would tell us they were closed and we would have to go to the pool bar. I mean if you can serve a beer why have staff behind the bar? There was zero variety for food. That's not to say they didn't have enough to eat it just lacked variety. Had to eat the same stuff every day. Pool was pretty dirty too, straws, cups and debris. We felt like we were cleaning up others messes more than the staff was. I know you typically get what you pay for but we have paid less and got a whole lot more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Stress Free Vacation

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Location: We relaxed and didn't leave the resort. On previous vacations we had done excursions in Jamaica. Maybe if we had stayed longer.
A smaller resort with a small beach. The rooms are spacious and we had a balcony overlooking the beach. Very clean and the staff were so attentive and friendly. We tried the food in each restaurant and were totally pleased with each experience. I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Large rooms, nice balcony, clean, decent beach, and good drinks
Cons: The breakfast buffet and staff friendliness
Location: We asked a driver to take us somewhere local for souvenirs and jerk meat. We went to Scotchies which was very close to the hotel and AMAZING.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay. The beach was nice, the pools were clean, we had nice lunches and dinners, and drinks flowing. Although, with the reviews being so fantastic, I had pretty high hopes for the staff and resort. I have to say, we were disappointed with the staff and with the breakfast buffet. It seemed as if we needed to tip everyone, all the time, in order to be treated the same. Some staff were short with us and not helpful during our stay, in important places like the coral cafe and at some of the bars. Again, we were overall very happy, but for such amazing ratings, I don't know if it's because other resorts are really bad, or if people really had an amazing time when they went.