Ratings based on 700 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bronx, NY

Outstanding hotel by the beach.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Great food. Great service. Clean. The buffet for breakfast and dinner was great. The hot tubs are spacious as well as the pools. The brick oven pizza made fresh are delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Best Choice

Posted Nov 18, 2014
We were pleasantly suprised when pulling up to the hotel on the shuttle. This hotel was much better than the other 4 we had stopped at to let passengers off. Jewel Dunn's made my honeymoon perfect. The service was impeccable and more than satisfactory for our every need. The private beach was an added plus so that we may relax in peace. Nightly shows and activities were entertaining and fun to attend. The smaller size of the hotel was delightful because we were able to see the same couples and staff daily and have a more personal expierence. My husband and I plan on coming back very soon. I would recommend this hotel anyway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Posted Nov 16, 2014
This hotel was typical of most all inclusives I've been to. Hotel was clean and updated. Food was above average, very good in the a la carte restaurants. Pool and beach were nice, plenty of loungers and umbrellas. And. ... There was booze in the drinks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Absolutely a great stay

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Loved every day spent here. The resort is perfect in so many ways. Staff is very pleasant and engaging, the food is wonderful and full of choice menus, the grounds is well kept and comfort around the resort is made for relaxation. Night life after 10pm is minimal but the Bling club on the grounds stay open till 2 pm for clubbing. There is also a late grill and bar for latenight chats. It's all good here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Diamond suite

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The size of the hotel is as small but big enough to explore
Cons: Night time entertainment has room for improvement
Location: I did not venture into ocho rios town on this stay as I was satisfied with the amenities of the hotel, however there is plenty to see and do outside
The hotel is excellent we were totally impressed with the suite in the Diamond we stayed in room 3418 The view was outstanding. All staff are genuinely friendly and will never pass you without saying morning hello etc, which for me can make a holiday. The night time entertainment was fair, but if you are real party popper you would then need to venture outside of the hotel. The hotel cleanness is of a high standard and the staff take pride in what they do. The beach is kept immaculate, whilst I was there over night a lot rubbish , seaweed had washed up on the beach, and by 8.30am it was totally immaculate unlike Riu next door which looked a total mess! We would diffinatly stay again. If you are planning to stay at The Jewel I recommend any room with an ocean view
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Just an average Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: We enjoyed the staff. The entertainment staff does a great job with activities.
Cons: The rooms seem outdated. They need more staff around the pools and beach to help bring drinks.
Location: Its the closest hotel to Dunn's River Falls but the furthest from the airport. Its a long bus ride to get to and from the airport.
We just got back from a trip to the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort. We chose this resort based on user feedback. Overall it was just an average hotel. The beach is very small. The rooms seemed small to us. The entertainment staff and all other staff are very nice and do a great job. Food was better than average. I wouldn't spend the extra money for the concierge service. The only difference we saw was there is alcohol in your room. There wasn't anyone readily available to help us. The Butler service may be different.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Harbor, Florida

GOOD SERVICE BUT A FEW DISAPPOINTMENTS

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Great beach
Cons: entertainment and food
Location: Blue Hole is awesome
My wife and I stayed at the Jewel from Oct 25 thru Nov 1. We upgraded to the Diamond Concierge room, which I believe was a good choice. We were able to have a few extra perks including room service and a stocked in-room bar. We stayed in room 3503, which was on the top floor (5th) and the view of the ocean was outstanding. We go to the Caribbean or to Mexico every year but this was the first time we stayed in such a small resort. We arrived at the resort at around 2 PM, went to the front desk to check in but were informed that our room was not yet ready. So we returned at 3 PM (check-in time), still not ready and were told to come back in 20 minutes. Came back, still not ready. This happened a number of times and finally at around 4 PM we were taken to our room. Frustrating. Never been to a resort which such unreadyness for their guests. The beach is a little small but well groomed and we both agreed it was the best beach of any resort we have stayed at. The water was so clear and you could see the bottom even at deeper depths. Very little seaweed, no rocks and due to the reef further from shore, there was not a lot of waves making it good for swimming. The activities at the resort weren't much, just some trivia games, beach volleyball and a few other things but we really didn't participate in much. We did go out on the sailboat ride which was very enjoyable and was complimentary. We also went out in the glass bottom boat (40.00 a couple) but it wasn't all that. The empl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Great resort and spa

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Everything from checking in to checking out was first class. Food great, service was excellent made overall experience just wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time and place.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Great to have all inclusive. Be ready to tip a lot. You find out quickly that the service you might expect comes with a very small price in the form of a tip. Example is having your room stocked with all the items that comes with the room. All of the tours and shopping is about 10 minutes away. Beach is excellent. People are very friendly. Food is good. Good shows at night. Top-Shelf Liquors at No Extra Cost but not a huge selection. Did not have a problem with noise. Overall we had a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Looking for Rest and Relaxation mixed w/ Fun?

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: The staff and the hot tubs. Resting on the patio and enjoying the breeze.
Cons: Shorter commute time. After a 4.5hr flight, the nearly 3 hour drive almost killed me. I felt like I was journey across the planet.
Location: Margaritaville is always having some special for this resort so guests could come out.
I loved it There. The staff was attentive and welcoming. Whether it was watching a volleyball game between the staff and guests, and or taking a boat out on the sea, every day was fun! I went alone to get some R&R, but I never really felt alone. Tip: leave a tip for room service. $1US goes far for superb service. I'd recommend their Gemstone treatment - it really relieved a lot of the tension I was carrying. The breakfast was more western than Jamaican, but it was miles better than the limited selection they had for lunch. The best places to eat was the Aquamarina Grill, you can even get grilled veggie wraps, and veggie burgers. And the pizza place - Try the Green Island Pizza - but sometimes the service was slow. I loved the beach! The sand was soft and not too stoney. The surf was welcoming and wonderful to splash in. The nightly entertainment was a hit or miss sometimes, but it was still an experience. I liked participating in them - the entertainment crew work really hard in getting everyone out of their comfort zone. They're all very talented. I went during their shoulder season Oct 27, - Nov. 3, 2014 so it rained every day (as expected) but some days were longer than others, which was a bummer. I really enjoyed the live piano playing at 11:00pm. It was fun, and the bartenders just make me laugh.