Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2015
The hotel needs to dradtically improve on their food selections. The buffet offered minimal selection with most dishes comprised of jerk. Little continental cousine offered which was odd since most guests were from USA or Canada. Overall I was disappointed and could not wait to get home. Would not recommend the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice place!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Hotel and staff wonderful. Only issue during my stay was the bees around the beach bar. Several workers stung while I was there. Other than that, food good, service and staff excellent. Nate and Dani, sorry I missed you on your last day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina

Great Ocho Rios resort!

Posted Jan 22, 2015
We just returned from Jewel Dunns River Falls Resort and had such a wonderful time! Pros: good food & drinks, great pools and beach, awesome open-air gym, fun activity options, close to awesome all-natural Jamaican attractions (Dunns River Falls and Blue Hole), nice *smaller* resort (some have close to 1000 rooms! this resort only has about 250, which we appreciated) Cons: a few of the front desk staff were not so helpful- not rude necessarily but definitely not interested in doing us any favors; our king size bed was much harder/ firmer than our bed at home so sleeping wasn't as comfortable as what we are used to; our "mountain view" room was on the 3rd floor so the mountains were actually blocked by trees on the property- we asked to switch & were told nothing was available, although we are pretty sure the person we talked to never actually checked the system. Overall, this is a great resort. If you decide to stay here, definitely check out the Tree Bar at night-- its magical!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, smaller, adult-only, all-inclusive.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
The staff was great and the food was pretty good for an all-inclusive (especially Moonstone for dinner & the brick oven pizza).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Perfect!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The staff was great! You never have to wait for anything and everyone is really helpful. The resort wasn't overly crowded. Very relaxing.
Cons: The beach is very small, but once again, we never had a problem finding a chair. I wish there were more choices of things to do at night.
Location: The ride from the airport is a little long (about 1.5 hr), but the resort is right next to Dolphin Cover, ziplining, & other excursions.
Just got back from JDR yesterday. My boyfriend and I stayed from Wed-Sunday. The weather was perfect, mid 80s and sunny everyday. As soon as we arrived, we were offered a cold towel & drink. Check-in was quick & easy. We stayed in a diamond room & had a nice ocean view. We could, however, hear the constant party going on at the resort next door (Riu club hotel or something), which we actually didn't mind because we liked the music, but it could bother some people. The staff were all so friendly. The bartenders were great and really funny. We never really had to wait for a drink. In fact, we didn't have to wait for anything during our whole trip. We tried each restaurant. The only one you need a reservation for is Jade (hibachi) which I definitely recommend because it's delicious and the chefs are entertaining. Make the reservation as soon as you can because it does book up. We ate at Platinum for breakfast once and we weren't overly impressed with the inside so we didn't feel the need to get all dressed up for a dinner there. Try the jerk chicken from the snack bar, it's open really late! Booking excursions is really easy once your there. I recommend doing that rather than booking ahead of time because they usually have deals & you might change your mind once you're there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Gorgeous, not crowded, perfect vacation.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Everything. Absolutely everything. This will be the only place we stay in Jamaica.
Cons: The spa staff were a bit pushy, but that's how they make their money. We were approached every morning, but only once, so t's not terrible.
Location: We didn't go anywhere. We didn't need to. Dive instructor took us to local waterfall so we skipped dunn's river falls tour. That's the way to go.
We stayed for 7 days, and are so glad we did. The resort was small, which was really nice (looking at the next door resort, which was packed, made us really glad about the choice) The staff knew us by name, the beach vendors weren't pushy, we never had to wait for anything. Drinks are mixed STRONG (awesome!) food is amazing and generally pretty fast, there were always deck chairs/beach chairs available, and we weren't required to do anything. The staff were super friendly, even before we tipped, but especially after ~_^ they do a great job of maintaining the property. Getting the things we wanted was no issue at all, and the staff were more than happy to pick things up for us from off the resort (we got coffee from the SCUBA instructor, Asha, who is a doll, and saw to it that we got the best deal available and went home with SUBA certification - nothing like taking a new skill home from vacation!) We learned that $5 and a meal/stiff drink is an excellent tip, which is awesome because we didn't have to pay for food. Tipping isn't at all required, or even encouraged, but the staff don't earn much for wages, and gave such amazing service that we'd have felt awful for not tipping. All said and done, we only spent about $100 on tipping, and it was so greatly appreciated. Everything was perfect. neither I, nor the BF, have any complaints about anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Staff terrific, food great, small but nice beach. Lots to do. Nice grounds also. For beer lovers Red Stripe only and only local rums. Top shelf scotch thou!!!! The resort is a not quiet after 10 or so but after a day at the beach, pool or excursionost don't need to dance till dawn. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

NIce hotel for a nice vacation.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Great customer service. All smiles. Cleanliness
Cons: Restrooms: Clogging sinks and bathtub. The water stopped coming out of the faucet once.
Location: There is a lot to do inside the resort, however there are many options outside the resort as well,
The Jewel Denn Resort is a really nice resort. Me and my wife went there for a couple of days which was pretty short but nevertheless pretty fun. We landed at Kingston which is about two hours from the airport. I wouldn't reccommend landing there due to the distance and also because of the route that you take to get to the resort. Its really complicated. Though Montego bay airport is quite far as well, the route is much simpler. Really pleasant staff and extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedfordshire

Welcome Home

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: The size of the hotel is just about right. The complex next door looked way too big. So the hotel never felt too crowded. And no kids!
Cons: Nothing. It's perfect!
Location: There is a department in the hotel that deals with excursions. Really helpful & funny staff. I visted 9 Mile, Ocho Rios, The blue Mountains to name 3.
This hotel, this hotel... I'll start with the staff. Never have I stayed somewhere, where everyone & I mean everyone - from the gardener, the chief, the bar staff, the maid, the receptionists and the kind lady who turned down my bed every night (leaving the light & radio on for when I went back to my room was a wonderful gesture for a single traveller) - they were all so kind, so friendly and so helpful. They truly were wonderful. Travelling on my own I am used to being not chatting much on holiday, but the kind staff were always happy to chat, share advice or even just a smile. The staff are who made this hotel so special to me. The spa facility is well worth a visit & highly recommended (they cured my neck pain!). And the grounds - there's so many places to relax, swim, drink and eat. This is a "no children" hotel, which, allows (for those of us that don't have any) a relaxing holiday (no offence intended). If you want a relaxing, trouble free holiday in Jamacia in a hotel staffed by some of the nicest, warmest friends you'll ever make - stay at Jewel Dunn's River Resort. When the staff said "Welcome home, you're in Jamacia now man - your second home", I now know what they meant. I will be returning home just as soon as I can!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation spot!

Posted Jan 13, 2015
This stay was for our honeymoon. Food was great and the staff always took care of us. If you plan to leave the resort Dunns River Falls and Dolphin Cove are a must. Otherwise the resort has everything you need. If we ever go back we will definitely be staying here again!