Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: They had three pools, one of them had the kids pool in it and on the other side of the resort was the quiet pool.
Cons: The air conditioning units in the rooms could be updated. Also, some of the rooms smelled from the paint that they use.
Location: It was quite far from the airport in Montego Bay. The closest place to visit was Ocho Rios which was about a 30 minute drive.
I was a little disappointed in the hotel in general but was happy to find out that they could accommodate my gluten-free diet. They offered gluten-free pasta at their Italian Restaurant, as well gluten-free pizza and pancakes were available to eat. The pancakes were delicious with the Rum Butter Coconut syrup.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Carolina

Fun, fun, fun

Posted Feb 10, 2015
This is a fun and laid back resort. The food is nice. The drinks are cold. But the staff is most awesome! My husband, our friends and I stayed here Feb5-8 and were awed by the entire staff. Sunshine, Sparkle, Delroy, Ingrid, Adrian and all others were fun, energetic, accommodating and friendly. I can't wait to take my entire family back in November.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Very Relaxing - Food Passable

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Myself, my wife, and our 7 year old son just returned from Jewel Runaway Bay. The resort is very nice. It is clean and well maintained. It is a little on the older side, but not in a dingy/dirty way. The staff is wonderful. We are easy-going travelers and don't sweat the small stuff, but with the level of attentiveness exhibited by the staff as a whole, I would think everybody's needs could be accommodated well. Our son got a sore throat and we called the on-staff nurse. He was very thorough and helpful. At his recommendation, we called in a doctor and ended up putting our son on antibiotics. All of this was handled very smoothly and to our satisfaction (except the cost for the doctor and medication!) Beach is wonderful, nice sand for sandcastles and such. Plenty of chairs available. They told us the resort was almost full, but there always seemed to be seats available at the pools - which is unusual in our experience. They have a buffet restaurant and some specialty restaurants. Getting in to the special restaurants was easy. However, the food was not to our liking. Everybody has different likes, so your mileage may vary, but we felt the food quality was the one standout negative. Kids club is good. They will have a cool-looking water park opening in April of 2015 - that will make the resort more kid-friendly than it already is. Final note - very casual - no need for any dress clothes unless you want to go that route...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Massapequa NY

great vacation

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Excellent vacation very nice beach golf course was in good shape for the Caribbean caddies were wonderful food was above par
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha NE

Great teamwork makes for a relaxing vacation.

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Staff anticipates your needs, corrects any situation, always with a joyful and confident solution. They make it their business to make sure guest relax and enjoy every moment at the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2015
We had a great time. Staff was very friendly. Needs more nightlife
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For a Beach getaway...theres no other place to go!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
This was our second time going to Jewel Runaway Bay...and it NEVER disappoints! I like to consider my husband and I well traveled...we have gone to some of the finer places in the world...and when we book a quick 5 day beach get away this is the place to go. The staff are kind, friendly just downright amazing, they are there to take care of your every need. For an all inclusive I find the food to be better then some...I highly suggest going to Moonlight (the Italian place) and Platinum. What we really loved was the beach...compared to some other resorts in this area this has by far the best beach. Scott the manager is always a pleasure (I'm sure he will even respond to this review..he makes a point of getting back to just about EVERY single guest on Trip Advisor) All in all it was a wonderful vacation...gurenteed weather...and an amazing staff! Will definitely be back next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oklahoma

Great laid back gem!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
We are pretty well traveled but this place is somewhere we keep going back to! The people are over the top friendly and go out of their way to make everything just right. The purple rain drinks are amazing! The beach is very nice and the water park is opening in March!!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Great beach

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: It is small compared to many and had a lovely beach. Convenience to golf course.
Cons: Food and trying to get rid of the flies.
Check in process was fair. We were a group of 5 couples of which 4 were upgraded to beachfront with plunge pool. We were placed beachfront 3rd floor without a plunge pool or jacuzzi. Our reservation was for a 1 week stay. We were locked out of our room on day 5 because of a reservation error. This was annoying to say the least, as my husband left the beach and went to the 3rd floor (there is no elevator) with his key, came back down to the beach to get my key only to return to the 3rd floor again, my key also did not work. Another trip down to the front desk only to discover they had us checked out. The concierge did apologize and stated she did not know how that happened. Food was fair but again this is a budget hotel. As much as the staff tried to keep the buffet foods covered, there were numerous flies always around especially at the tables while you were eating. The majority of staff were terrific. We did love the "house band". Most likely, we would not go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Paulinefrom London

Holidayh

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Our stay was good. Went to a wedding and that was good. The hotel overall is comfortable, staff very polite and that make your stay enjoyable. Would come back to stay at the hotel. Highly recommended. Will bring my children and grandchildren to stay soon.