Ratings based on 252 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was excellent: staff,services, food and beach.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The service and staff was excellent.
Cons: I was not too empressed about the entrainment . It was too cliche, it reminded me of the locals making themselves look like idiots to impress tourist
Location: The location was fine but to Tavel outside of the hotel area by taxi was highly overprice. It would be nice to have reasonably priced transportation.
My experience at this hotel was very good. I really enjoyed my vacation there. The staff and the services were great. The only thing I did not like was the entertainment . That needs to be improved. Please stop doing that stupid one cent dance. I am sure that they have great dancers and performers in Jamaica that can entertain without the stereotypes of the locals trying to impress the tourist by acting as idiots . Please get some real Jamaican talent for your entertainment .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2014 by Jewel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.We hope to see you again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

A Relaxing Vacation

Posted Sep 8, 2014
We stayed at the Jewel Runaway Bay for a relaxing 4 day getaway. It was everything we could have expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Comfortable family resort with friendly staff

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The beach is nice and pools are never that crowded. The food is really good.
Cons: The decor is dated and the rooms need a bit of maintenance. The humidity makes it hard to close some doors, like the bathroom door.
Location: Ocho Rios is about half an hour away for shopping and party boats/snorkling and Dunn River Falls.
Most of the staff is very friendly, especially 'Purple', who is a big hit with the kids. We've been to the resort twice and there are many activities for all ages. The fitness center is a bit run-down and the rooms are a bit dated. The food is really good. The specialty restaurants are really good, especially the Samari Jade, which requires reservations. The chefs are very entertaining as they cook your meal in front of you. We enjoyed the Platinum Club, which serves 'themed' dishes. For example, if you order a potato appetizer, Mr or Mrs. Potato head comes with the dish. If you order fish, your dinner is served on top of an aquarium with a live fish swimming in it. Very fun! The resort is smallish and has a homey feel to it. Part of a tree limb fell onto a pool lounge chair that my son was sitting on. He moved quickly when he heard the lower branch snap. The limb broke the chair. No damage to my son, other than the initial shock. Staff asked whether he was OK, but didn't take room details or do any follow up with the parents, which I found odd. They took care of the tree immediately. The buffet staff were not as friendly this year, and don't seem enjoy people. The cooks, especially Egg Boy are very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom jamaica

Beautiful property and great restaurants

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Wonderful family vacation. Rooms with plunge pool are fantastic. My son loved the games room but they needed more game options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Beautiful beach

Posted Aug 25, 2014
My family of five just returned from Jewel Runaway Bay. The entertainment staff are fantastic. My teenage boys said they "will return to Jamaica every year for the rest of their lives". We requested connecting rooms and were placed in the der part of the resort. We heard that Mosquitos were a problem in some of the rooms so we brought a repellent that you can hang up and we placed them by our sliders and only had a couple here and there. Other than that the rooms were comfortable and clean. The food was okay. This was my husband and i's 5th trip to Jamaica and have had better food elsewhere, but it was fine. The beach is fabulous. We snorkled right there every day. Lots of fish. The weather was perfect. There are lots of kids at this resort, even at the pool with the swim up bar... Overall, the resort puts a lot of effort into little things that make some of the other things less important. If you stay here, you will enjoy it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Mr nice

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hydes, MD

Definitely recommend!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: Our only "complaint" would be with housekeeping. We did not always have enough towels and two evenings had to request towels and wash clothes.
This was our third trip to Jamaica and our first stay at The Jewel. We loved it. Every staff member was friendly and it was important to them that we were comfortable. We liked the small feel of the resort and the beach was beautiful. The pools were amazing and service at the bars terrific. There was food to eat at all hours of the day and we were even able to eat dinner, in our bathing suits, at the bar when we did not feel like getting dressed up in the evening. We would definitely recommend The Jewel and will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Santa Clara, CA

Not what I expected.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Water beach and people working for this resort including the security staff as well.
Cons: Replace food - cooking equipment. Improve a food quality and building. Designate an area specifically for the wedding ceremonies. More ice cream.
People and staff very friendly and helpful. Water and beach nice. Resort quite old. A lot of food but the overall quality is like a fast food grade. The food cooking equipments, coffee machines, etc is very old and needs to be completely replaced. Very poor ice cream offer for kids. BE AWARE, if there is a wedding ceremony, you have no access to the beach because they need a clear ocean view for the pictures and wedding video recording. The resort staff will force you out until ceremony is over and it could be easily a couple of hours. This is was such a disgracing and terrible experience for me and my child being kicked out of the water. I did complain to the manager, but never got any follow up except a simple "sorry". An apology can not fix my feelings and we felt very bad. I noticed and based on my conversation with some of them, they were frustrated as well. Internet access was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Samantafrom Virgin Islands

Wonderful place

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I enjoyed our stay. We were satisfied with the food, the entertainment and the friendly staff. Thanks for making recognition of our wedding anniversary. We enjoyed the anniversary cocktail party.