Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hydes, MD

Definitely recommend!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Cons: Our only "complaint" would be with housekeeping. We did not always have enough towels and two evenings had to request towels and wash clothes.
This was our third trip to Jamaica and our first stay at The Jewel. We loved it. Every staff member was friendly and it was important to them that we were comfortable. We liked the small feel of the resort and the beach was beautiful. The pools were amazing and service at the bars terrific. There was food to eat at all hours of the day and we were even able to eat dinner, in our bathing suits, at the bar when we did not feel like getting dressed up in the evening. We would definitely recommend The Jewel and will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Not what I expected.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Water beach and people working for this resort including the security staff as well.
Cons: Replace food - cooking equipment. Improve a food quality and building. Designate an area specifically for the wedding ceremonies. More ice cream.
People and staff very friendly and helpful. Water and beach nice. Resort quite old. A lot of food but the overall quality is like a fast food grade. The food cooking equipments, coffee machines, etc is very old and needs to be completely replaced. Very poor ice cream offer for kids. BE AWARE, if there is a wedding ceremony, you have no access to the beach because they need a clear ocean view for the pictures and wedding video recording. The resort staff will force you out until ceremony is over and it could be easily a couple of hours. This is was such a disgracing and terrible experience for me and my child being kicked out of the water. I did complain to the manager, but never got any follow up except a simple "sorry". An apology can not fix my feelings and we felt very bad. I noticed and based on my conversation with some of them, they were frustrated as well. Internet access was horrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Stay was great but too short. The staff, prosperity and food was excellent. Can't wait to go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida Keys

16th birthday trip for granddaughter

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Rooms we stayed in were old and need updating. in the 2000 building.
Location: close to Dunns River Falls, Blue Hole, Dolphin Cove and Mystic Mountain
Hotel staff was Great. Our two rooms were old and need updating. Black grout all over floors and patch work tile job. Sliding doors would not close properly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta,ga

On the beach

Posted Aug 2, 2014
It was a great choice, celebrated my 60th as well as vacation to myself. Lots if activities and live entertainment daily and nightly. Each day there is a flyer placed in your door to keep you abreast of what to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Overall experience.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Hotel was ok. Staff friendly. Activities was ok. Show was not so great. Buffet food was a 5/10, very bland. Restaurant food was excellent. Burger stand burgers were dry and overcooked. Everything else was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Jewel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will pass your comments to the staff involved. We hope you will visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Georgia

Great Resort

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Loved the staff, the beach, things you could do for free , the Hobie Cat sailing, and the Japanese steak house.
Cons: The beds are a little firm. Bathrooms are enormous, but to make a 5 star, it would invest in some better mattress's.
Location: You don't really need to leave resort. They offer sailing, snorkeling, boat rides, kayaking, etc. for free
This is a great resort tucked away about 45 minutes from Montego Bay airport. The resort is a 4 star but the staff simply makes it a 5 star place to stay. The resort is a little older, but roomy. Our room had its own private pool. Really cool!. Love that the water sports are included as is the alcohol and food. The fridge was restocked everyday for free. The buffet was not my favorite except for breakfast, (OMG- The french toast is the best ever but the other restaurants were very good. What I also loved: riding the horses in the ocean. Now, that being said, it is not part of the resort. You have to walk down the beach a bit to where they keep the horses, but it was wonderful and worth the money. Its was definitely a great trip and would highly recommend: My hats off to : Miguel and Javan (concierge workers) THE BEST! And EGGBOY the egg cook! BEST PERSONALITY!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: The piano in the lobby - I hopped on for a session, and was amazed by how poorly maintained it is. The regular piano man is outstanding.
Location: Luminous Lagoon - worth the trip. Although it's mucky, go into the water. Scotchies - get your jerk chicken/pork fix from here. It's delicious.
Jewel Runaway Bay is a great family resort. Here's the breakdown from my trip - Food was great, Staff was friendly, Ocean was beautiful, Common areas and outdoors were well kept, music was great (house band in the buffet area and a piano man playing at the lobby bar at night). The only negative things I'd note is that the rooms were not all that it should be. There were some cracks and wear-and-tear in the bedrooms and bathrooms. They were clean, but if you're uptight about having a pristine room, this isn't the place for you. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway, so it didn't matter to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Friendly staff!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I stayed 4 days and had an overall good experience. The food was okay but I did enjoy the drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The room was great and the property was beautiful. The staff was so nice that my seven year old daughter asked why everyone was so nice!