Ratings based on 224 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Overall experience.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Hotel was ok. Staff friendly. Activities was ok. Show was not so great. Buffet food was a 5/10, very bland. Restaurant food was excellent. Burger stand burgers were dry and overcooked. Everything else was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Jewel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will pass your comments to the staff involved. We hope you will visit us again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas Georgia

Great Resort

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Loved the staff, the beach, things you could do for free , the Hobie Cat sailing, and the Japanese steak house.
Cons: The beds are a little firm. Bathrooms are enormous, but to make a 5 star, it would invest in some better mattress's.
Location: You don't really need to leave resort. They offer sailing, snorkeling, boat rides, kayaking, etc. for free
This is a great resort tucked away about 45 minutes from Montego Bay airport. The resort is a 4 star but the staff simply makes it a 5 star place to stay. The resort is a little older, but roomy. Our room had its own private pool. Really cool!. Love that the water sports are included as is the alcohol and food. The fridge was restocked everyday for free. The buffet was not my favorite except for breakfast, (OMG- The french toast is the best ever but the other restaurants were very good. What I also loved: riding the horses in the ocean. Now, that being said, it is not part of the resort. You have to walk down the beach a bit to where they keep the horses, but it was wonderful and worth the money. Its was definitely a great trip and would highly recommend: My hats off to : Miguel and Javan (concierge workers) THE BEST! And EGGBOY the egg cook! BEST PERSONALITY!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: The piano in the lobby - I hopped on for a session, and was amazed by how poorly maintained it is. The regular piano man is outstanding.
Location: Luminous Lagoon - worth the trip. Although it's mucky, go into the water. Scotchies - get your jerk chicken/pork fix from here. It's delicious.
Jewel Runaway Bay is a great family resort. Here's the breakdown from my trip - Food was great, Staff was friendly, Ocean was beautiful, Common areas and outdoors were well kept, music was great (house band in the buffet area and a piano man playing at the lobby bar at night). The only negative things I'd note is that the rooms were not all that it should be. There were some cracks and wear-and-tear in the bedrooms and bathrooms. They were clean, but if you're uptight about having a pristine room, this isn't the place for you. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway, so it didn't matter to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Friendly staff!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
I stayed 4 days and had an overall good experience. The food was okay but I did enjoy the drinks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
The room was great and the property was beautiful. The staff was so nice that my seven year old daughter asked why everyone was so nice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Almost what we asked for, but not quite.

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Overall the staff at the bars and restaurants were great. Special mention to Garnett, Godfrey, Jason, Kajun, and others as they kept our glasses full.
Cons: Like I mentioned the resort was very slow, low occupancy and therefore they should have been more accomodating. I saw Scott, the GM once in 8 days.
Location: We did the glass bottom boat ride and Dolphin Cove. Both excellent. Food was a 6 out of 10 by American standards, lower quality since last visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Boogadah

Good All Inclusive Choice

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Choice of food and things to do.
Cons: Constant hot water please
Location: Hotel is right on the beach and there are many excursions to do nearby such as Dolphin Cove, Dunns River Falls and the Lush Gardens.
Hotel was very clean and staff were great. Food and drink were in abundance and the kids club was good. Only problem was we hardly had any hot water in the shower the whole time we were there but had to get on with it. If staying a long time this would have gotten on our nerves. Water Park addition in December 2014 will be a big bonus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from NJ

Great Location, Wonderful Staff

Posted Jun 17, 2014
We had a great time at Jewel Runaway Bay. The staff went above and beyond to make our vacation enjoyable. Everyone was courteous and helpful. The pools and public areas of the resort are very clean and well-maintained. Our hotel room was ok, a little bit dated but the mattress was good and the room was clean. Food was pretty good, alcohol was mostly top shelf, and restaurant service was excellent. We will highly recommend this to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann from New York

A wonderful resort

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the grounds, I thought it was well manicured and peaceful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was great. There is a shopping center close by and a seafood restaurant name Sharkey, which sold great fried fish.
My family and I had a great time at Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort. Staff was great, and very friendly, especially to my 2 years old grand son. The grounds are well kept and the food was great. I would definitely return to this resort in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2014 by Jewel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for spending your vacation at our resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ron from Michigan

Great food, atmosphere and on the beach.

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: The staff was energetic and very courteous.
Great experience. I was there for business but I would love to come back for vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2014 by Jewel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and are happy to host you again, for a fabulous vacation.