Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darlene from New York, NY

Hidden Gem of a Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at Moxons a few times. The outside of the hotel is very misleading. Once you get past the outdated and unkempt entrance, the hotel is quite nice. The rooms are very nice. They are somewhat small, but the furnishings are lovely and modern. As I mentioned, I have stayed at Moxons about 5 times in the past few years - I have yet to encounter another guest. On each visit, it seemed as if we were the only ones staying there. I have had meals there that were excellent. Great drinks. Great service. Although the hotel is right on the main road, it's very nondescript, making it very easy to miss. While I like the fact that there is always availability at the hotel when I want to stay there - I'd love to see the hotel full of guests and full of life one day.
2 out of 5
by Joanie from Newfoundland

Too many stairs

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Can't think of much!
Cons: More attentive, caring, responsive staff.
Location: We loved the Catamaran cruise; suggest you book it yourself BY PHONE. Hotel location is in a run-down area. We didn't feel comfortable walking around.
The extremely tiny beach was located at the bottom of a cliff. I can't do stairs so we never bothered to go down. The swimming pool looked cloudy so we didn't use it either. Our room was up about a dozen stairs as was the bar & restaurant. No hot water until the morning we left. (Complained to staff 2 times about it.) Some drinks at the bar were $8 or $9 which we found to be very expensive. Had dinner there one night. Meat was good but sides (potatoes & veg) were cold. We requested the receptionist to make a reservation for us with "Cool Runnings" Catamaran party cruise with snorkeling & trip to Dunn's River Falls with hotel pickup (as per an on-line advertisement) but she later told us that the cruise people didn't do that. We ended up booking it ourselves on-line & made our own travel arrangements to the cruise dock. We found out that they pick guests up all the way to Montego Bay & way past our area, so the girl lied to us. The whole ambience of the Hotel was "tired" 80's style as well as being too long a distance from Ocho Rios.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Justin from Boston

Quiet and secluded

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Definately one of the more peaceful places I stayed. The exterior shows age but it is still a very nice place. Stayed Feb 2014 and almost nobody else there from what I could tell. Their upgraded rooms are worth it. Base rooms have no view at all. A/C didn't really work but weather was nice enough that it didn't really matter. Nice bad reasonably priced. There are quite a few markets in the area where locals shop that have great deals. FYI their beach is very small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from London

Posted Jan 5, 2014
The pluses: a beautiful location with great views and access to the sea. Most of the staff were helpful and pleasant. Our rooms were kept clean etc. The minuses: we booked two twin bed rooms quite specifically: when we arrived the receptionist said there weren't two twin bedded rooms available and wouldn't accept the hotel's responsibility for the booking. One of us ended up sleeping on quite a hard day bed. The food, particularly breakfast, was disappointing at times. Continental breakfast with just one croissant. No fruit available.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by c.m

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Family from Kingston

Close to beach j'ouvert

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Liked the look of the hotel very much. Friendly staff. The room was great, lovely comfortable beds and nice decor for a 3star hotel. But the food was not good, and was expensive. If you have two coffees at breakfast they charge for the second one! We would have had better value eating at the 5 star restaurant down the road.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Affordable and peaceful

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
A quiet retreat well worth the money. A little strange the hotel room doors didn't have deadbolts. Neat cliff side steps down to a long deck over the ocean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2013 by jobeth, Hotel Management
thank you for coming to moxons beach club and we hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Suburbs, Pennsylvania

Great Hotel, Highly Recommended

Posted Jan 26, 2011
My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at this hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. We spent most of our time hitting up the Ocho Rios attractions and found it nice to come back to a peaceful hotel. The hotel is in a excellent location away from the city but close enough to all the attractions. The hotel also had kayaks available to us free of charge and a pool table. The restaurant has an amazing view of the ocean and good Jamaican breakfast. The staff was extremely helpful with answering all our questions and giving us directions. In conclusion this one of a kind hotel was everything I expected plus some.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2014
hi, thank you for coming to moxons beach club, it was a pleasure havig you here and we hope to see you again.