Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tweetz from London

Nice hotel

Posted May 7, 2014
Hotel was nice but if you don't like bullfrogs like me then be prepared as the hotel is in a forest but it is a beautiful location with a spectacular view. One downfall was that the shower curtains in our room had someone's hair all over it and air con stopped working on our last day and boy do you need that. Great location and central to everything. Do not use hotel taxi, very over priced, just go out on the street and get one if you need it. Would consider staying again minus the frogs
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Errol Villiers from Florida

Good location but quality not that great.

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was not up to par for the price. The room was not that great and there was no hot water on many occassions. In addition, there was not enough parking spots available. The staff was okay.
2 out of 5
by Lanny from Winthrop, MA

Was probably nice 20 years ago.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely friendly, polite and very helpful. The rooms were spacious. We had a nice view from the room.
Cons: It needs to fixed up, a fresh coat of paint. Add a TV in the living room area, or move the bedroom TV to the living room. Need more water pressure.
Location: Good location for access to Ocho Rios center, but a steep up and down hill walk.
The Internet wasn't working from Saturday to Tuesday. When it was finally available, the signal was so weak, you had to sit on the patio to get a connection. And, it was for only one device. We could use another connection from the restaurant, but we had to be on the patio for that one too. The bedroom lamp by the beds was missing the knob for the switch, it's bulb was broken (They replaced the bulb by removing one from a lamp in the reception area), so we turned the lamp on and off by twisting it in the socket. The poolside bar looks like it hadn't been used in many years. There were empty brackets for TVs and speakers and empty bar equipment. The bathroom had low water pressure, very little hot water, and the sink stopper didn't work. My wife wanted to take a bath, but there was insufficient hot water to fill the tub. The parking area was full of pot holes. The include breakfast buffet was virtually the same everyday, scrambled, eggs, one of two kinds of sausage, waffles or pancakes, and corn syrup masquerading as maple syrup. There were very few guests. The pool was nice, but was mostly deserted. Some 2 bedroom suites were being advertised for sale as condos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen from US

Reasonably priced and convenient location

Posted Feb 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for four nights. Overall our experience was great for the price, if you don't sweat the small stuff. The hotel is conveniently located near major attractions, although it is up a very steep and long hill! We were pleasantly surprised to have been provided a complimentary upgrade from a standard room to a suite! Our room was clean, and the suite has a stove, full size refrigerator and small balcony. There's also lock boxes in the rooms. Hotel staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. Breakfast was decent. The bed was too firm. The maintenance not the best, cheap paint jobs. There's a discount (although not much) for Mystic mountain, $30 total for the sky explorer and bobsled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Frida from SC

Average

Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place felt like a hotel and not a resort. The standard room was average, the buildings needs painting (would help greatly with the look), the food at the restaurant on site was very good. Free breakfast only means (1 plate) which they do not tell you until you go up for another plate of food, lol. Location is great, walking distance from everything in town. It's one of the those places where you would say, " you get what you pay for, been there/stayed there but wouldn't go back to stay there again."
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashley S from Orlando

Relaxing Enviorment

Posted Jan 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mystic was very nice! I think this hotel is under rated. The staff was amazing very nice caring and pleasant. They made sure I had everything I needed and also were prompt in fixing small issues I had . The food was good. Rooms clean and spacious. House keeping did a good job. Bartender was very nice and kept my drinks flowing. Quiet hotel next to everything. Many places In walking distance. Mystic is a good choice if you want some place nice and cozy without many tourist but still want that Jamaican touch. The only negative is that the bar and restaraunt closes early so you would go out for late night drinks food etc. Over all stay was good and accommodating .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chase from utah

Perfect location with a fantastic view of city

Posted Jan 28, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hasaan from Calgary, AB

Decent hotel, some issues!

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Had a great staff, good location and safe. The free pass to Mystic Mountain was a great touch.
Cons: Better menu at the breakfast. Unacceptable that there was no blankets or even a duvet cover on the first night.
Location: We stayed during christmas, checked out the Grand Market day and the Christmas eve party, had a good time!
First the bad; The rooms were OK. Had an issue on the first day where we were not provided any blankets. I called the staff several times and the issue did not get resolved till the next evening, when we were finally given a duvet cover with which we made do for the rest of the stay. The other issue was that the water pressure for the sink was really really low, but again we made do. The breakfast was OK, however 5 out of the 7 days they were out of eggs (really limited the already sparse menu even more). However I wasn't expecting much for the price anyway The location is good in the sense that its just a a few minutes from the Ocho Rios main street where all the markets are. The disappointment was that for the most part, a little after dark we felt uneasy and unsafe due to some unlit areas and being approached by some shady guys asking for money (on our first night I thought the guy was about to pull a knife on us for not giving him any) Now the Good; Despite these issues our stay in Jamaica was really fun. We had an activity everyday so we were away all day anyway. The hotel felt very safe due to its high ground location and security. The June Plum restaurant was nice and the staff is actually all very friendly and great. We made some great friends on our stay which included some of the staff. Met interesting people who were also staying there and liked to explore Jamaica.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Amy from Seattle, WA

Wonderful staff, great location

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay at Mystic Ridge very much. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The grounds are well kept and quiet but still walking distance to downtown Ocho Rios. The breakfast is very Jamaican and very good. All of the food was great and the prices were reasonable compared to my other (many) visits to Jamaica. The Wifi is a bit slow but was free and available in the lobby and the bar. I would stay here again and I have recommended Mystic Ridge to friends
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dorothy from Georgia

Not bad, but could be better

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is centrally located and is right in the heart of Ocho Rios. Shops and restaurants are all in walking distance. Depending on the location of your room, you can hear Dunns River Falls from the window or balcony. I was even able to see a small part of the falls through the trees. The grounds and exterior of buildings need to be more beautified. Rain fell hard and there was leakage in our room. We were promptly assigned an upgraded one bedroom suite. The rooms are clean and comfortable. My biggest complaint though is the almost non existent wifi from the rooms. I had to stand on balcony to get any kind of connection and even then it was unstable. If they could greatly improve their wifi offering this would be a great place to stay if you need somewhere comfortable, clean, close to everything, and affordable. Their breakfast offerings were authentic Jamaican and the taste was decent.