Ratings based on 1,182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Nice and pleasant stay. It was my first time in a ressort and i was on my own. The two nights I spent were very relaxing. I would come here again. Very friendly staff. Only thing to remark is the long waiting time for check in/ check out/ information.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Beautiful hotel on the beach.

Posted Oct 25, 2014
When they say "all inclusive" it is not an exaggeration. Spent 4 wonderful days at this hotel and can't wait to go back. The staff was attentive, the food and activities plentiful. I booked the adult side of the hotel and was not disappointed. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, Georgia

Nice hotel, nice scenery, helpful staff.

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: My room was clean and nice. Nice beach, beautiful garden and beautiful scenery. The staff was also very courteous and friendly.
Cons: more clean elevators and the drive way leading to the hotel be less congested.
Location: Dunns River Falls, Mystic Mountain, shopping in Ocho Rios.
all in all a wonderful experience, however, the elevators weren't clean as guests left drinking glasses and plates in the elevator and on steps and these do not get cleared away in a timely manner. I noticed the same drinking glass with half finished drinks in the same elevator overnight and into the next day. Everything else seemed to be in good order and I was surprised that they did not have staff to monitor and clear the plates and glasses that were left all over the place and keep the elevators clean. Also the hotel was full and getting in and out the drive way was a challenge at times with all the cars parked along one side of the driveway. Apart from that it was good and I would definitely return to the Riu
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Beautiful resort, Amazing entertainment & Staff

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was A+! I was extremely impressed with the cleanliness of the pools and beach as well. We also loved the entertainment!
Cons: The food was just okay, nothing really impressed me about it. Overall, the buffet was much better than the "fine dining" restaurants.
Location: The country seemed a little dangerous, there was not a lot to do outside of the resort which was disappointing. The tours we did were great though.
We loved our week at the Riu Ocho Rios! From the minute we got there, the staff was persistent upon making sure everything was keen to our needs. The entertainment was phenomenal every single night, regardless of the theme! The food was good, the staff was even better! Everyone was super friendly, there was not one employee that would let you walk past without a "Hello" or "Good Morning." The pool was every bit of relaxing; very quiet and peaceful in the early morning and filled with fun and laughter in the afternoon. The room was nice, perfect for our needs. I loved everything about the Riu, I cannot wait for my next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Excellent hotel next to the beach great amenities

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The fully inclusive aspect. The location, pool and beach.
Location: Went on the cool runnings trip which included snorkeling in the carribean sea, also climbing the Dunn's waterfalls and then partying on the catamaran.
We were here for a wedding, it was great location very good facilities and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami, florida

Posted Oct 22, 2014
My only complaint is the food .. It needs improvement. It's definitely quantity over quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Very large. Good size rooms and comfortable beds. Great staff!
Cons: Bathroom lighting was a bit poor.
Location: Beautiful hotel right on the beach. Excursions are easy by taxi or arranged thru hotel. Close to the Dunn's falls which is an absolute must.
Footsteps from the beach. Lively pool area but not obnoxious. Staff was very nice and friendly. Tons of food both local and international. It was a quick trip but I relaxed more than I have on a full vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Kingston, Jamaica

Great Stay but the SMELL!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The room and amenities, the beach, the staff and the food
Cons: Overall property management due to the large size of the hotel. I felt that some areas were neglected as a result of this.
Location: Good location. As a local, I didnt need to leave the hotel but for foreigners, it is near to dolphin cove, dunn's river falls and mystic mountain
Stayed in the junior suite for one night and I loved the room itself. Clean and great view however, before we got to the good part the parking dilemma was insane! The hotel was clearly fully booked, being a holiday weekend and all but Good Lord RIU! with a property this huge, more parking spaces are needed. Check-in after that was a breeze and I was pretty impressed.....UNTIL, after leaving the lobby and heading in the direction of the elevator to the suites, I was greeted by the most horrible smell (something like sewage, no doubt). After walking past the area a couple times that day and the smell still in full force, we mentioned it to one of the customer service reps seated in that area and she was polite about it and said that she had actually mentioned it to the relevant persons from she arrived at work that morning. Even though the smell was gone by the next morning, what worries me is the source of such a smell. Big hotel properties have to be careful about things like this that can really degrade the entire experience for travelers, whether local or international. Smell aside, RIU is a great property and the junior suite is an excellent value. The beach is clean for the most part and the overall stay for my first time was mostly pleasing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa was the only excellent thing

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The staff needs more training in customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The room was nice and clean, the beach was long and sandy. Location is good - there is no real reason to stay close to the city here.
Cons: - Hot water was present only sometimes. - Snacks were poor - Wifi was slow, and expensive for the non-deluxe rooms.
Location: Beaches are nice, Dunns River falls is nice but expensive. The town is not much and you'll be harassed by vendors constantly.
Given the price, this all-inclusive was pretty good. We had a junior suite where there was free wifi and no children, and rooms face on to the pool with swim-up bar. The stocked bar fridge and liquor dispensers are good. A few gripes: the all-inclusive method makes it seem, at first, a bit like a school camp more than a nice hotel: bands you must wear around your wrist the whole time, cards for the towels etc. I appreciate they have to run it this way. The buffet food was sometimes great and sometimes seemed a bit less fresh, but there is a good variety. Snacks are mentioned but there is really nothing much to choose from, and being serve-yourself popcorn and nachos kept in a shady corner of the sports bar makes me worry about hygiene. A la carte restaurants can only be booked once you arrive but then can be booked days ahead, meaning you may find them booked out for your entire stay when you arrive.! Overall you are there for the nice warm beach, which you certainly get, and the included food and drink means one more thing you just don't have to worry about. Treat it that way and you'll have fun.