Ratings based on 1,326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Beautiful All-inclusive Resort in Ocho Rios

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Open bars for most of the day and good/diverse food. Nice beach and relaxing atmosphere.
Location: Definitely check out the Irie Blue Hole! Best excursion we could have gone on. Doesn't seem to be a very crouded, but wonderful experience.
My wife and I just got back from there this weekend and were very impressed. Now, this was our first time in the Caribbean, so I have nothing to compare it to, but it seemed to meet all of our standards for what we were looking for and then some. The hotel took very good care of the grounds making sure the beach was clean, tiles were mopped, rooms were straitened and neat, and food was prepared and presented well. The staff was always friendly and usually seemed to enjoy their jobs, which made a big difference for us. We enjoyed the food, the facilities, and of course the beach. Great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Very nice and enjoyable stay. Friendly staff, beautiful beaches, and nice rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Nice place to go check out!

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Specialty restaurants, surprisingly very tasty food.
Cons: Cleaner pool in family area, better layout for the food buffet, always seemed packed, softer beds, drink presentation.
Location: Dunns river was good, can snorkel off the beach which is cool.
The place in general is nice, the adult section pool is good and is kept clean but the family pool did not look clean, to the point where i would not get into the water. Overall the staff are nice and friendly, the resort is enclosed even the beach so there is no locals trying to push sales on you which is nice. The room was ok, damp, musty smell though as soon as you enter the hotel room corridors that stays in the room all week, could do with softer beds too as I needed to wake a couple of times a night just to turn over. The food in the specialty restaurants may have been the best part - very enjoyable & tasty, the food in the buffet was not so pleasing though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Indianapolis, Indiana

Great location, close to the beach

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: The pool.
Location: There are many options for off site excursions. We did a shopping trip to the city.
The staff makes this place. They are friendly, helpful, and determined to make your staff memorable. The island excursions are reasonable and fun. We did the snorkeling and Dunn's River Falls climb. My only comment would be the condition of the pool needed to be improved. There were many issues with the tile and cement (cracks and loose tiles). The food was excellent and plentiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

March 31, 2015 to April 5, 2015

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Beautiful hotel that is right next to the beach. Amazing ocean view
Location: dolphin cove, dunn's river
It was a lovely hotel to stay at. They had delicious food and clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Awesome trip loved everything everything went very goog and smoothly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach, CA

Riu is a nice hotel on the beach with a good pool

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: It is on the water with a beautiful view. The pool is well stocked with lounges and shade if wanted. Beautiful grounds. Very relaxing.
Cons: The food in the Italian and Plantation restaurants should be improved. The safes are old & easily broken into & there's no security with room keys
Location: Dunn Falls is absolutely fantastic!!! You can do only the falls or get to it by catamaran. Bring water shoes or you'll have to buy them. Don't miss
Checking in was not so good. The desk guy gave us 1 key and it didn't work so LONG walk back to desk. Got 2 keys (no ID or questions as to who we were). Now no safe key so back to desk. No pool towel cards so back to desk again!! No one took us to our room. Food is good in most restaurants but no one could get reservations in the 3 really nice restaurants for 3 days from their arrival (so we were never able to eat in one of them) IF you knew you had to make them at a special desk in the lobby. Italian restaurant is only really pizza and some noodles laying there with choice of sauce. Pizza is very good though. Water is wonderful as is pool and other amenities. Room is nice, comfortable bed. Plenty of pillows and towels in the room. Great service in the restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Great staff. Great stay.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was great. The hotel is very close to the beach. The nightly shows were great.
Cons: The mattresses were a little uncomfortable and could be replaced.
Location: The hotel was close to many activities such as the Blue Hole, Dunn's River Falls, and Mystic Mountain. All of which I recommend.
We had a good time at the resort. There were plenty of activities both at the resort and in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oswego NY

Great Hotel, great shows every evening

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: The staff are amazing
Cons: Pool times, coffe times and selection
Location: Horse back riding 20 minutes away Catamaran trip and Dunes River Falls 10-15 minutes away Shopping in Ochoa Rios 10 minutes away.
Went on two excursions. Horse back riding was the BEST. Catamaran and walking up Dunes River Falls was super.. Pool needs to be open past 11:00 pm for Adult section of Hotel. Coffee not the best especially before 7:30 am. I'm an early riser and finding coffee was difficult. Only one place to get it and it's out of a machine. We are definitely going back and bringing some amenities with us. All in all a great Warm , sunny place to get away and worth the money. Don't exchange US money, bring lots of 1.00 bills for tipping. Approx 50 - 80. On a 7 days vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Some good some bad

Posted Apr 3, 2015
The hotel itself is great, the lobby is awesome wide open and facing the ocean. The staff for the most part, very friendly and helpful. Food was amazing, true Jamaican cuisine. My only complaint is my room. I stayed in 3512 on the 5th floor and that hallway and my room always had a terrible smell, almost septic like. I complained and they would fix it for a day or 2 and the smell would come back. Not sure what that was. That was the 1 thing that spoiled it for me.