Ratings based on 1,164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Excellent hotel next to the beach great amenities

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The fully inclusive aspect. The location, pool and beach.
Location: Went on the cool runnings trip which included snorkeling in the carribean sea, also climbing the Dunn's waterfalls and then partying on the catamaran.
We were here for a wedding, it was great location very good facilities and staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, florida

Posted Oct 22, 2014
My only complaint is the food .. It needs improvement. It's definitely quantity over quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Very large. Good size rooms and comfortable beds. Great staff!
Cons: Bathroom lighting was a bit poor.
Location: Beautiful hotel right on the beach. Excursions are easy by taxi or arranged thru hotel. Close to the Dunn's falls which is an absolute must.
Footsteps from the beach. Lively pool area but not obnoxious. Staff was very nice and friendly. Tons of food both local and international. It was a quick trip but I relaxed more than I have on a full vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Jamaica

Great Stay but the SMELL!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The room and amenities, the beach, the staff and the food
Cons: Overall property management due to the large size of the hotel. I felt that some areas were neglected as a result of this.
Location: Good location. As a local, I didnt need to leave the hotel but for foreigners, it is near to dolphin cove, dunn's river falls and mystic mountain
Stayed in the junior suite for one night and I loved the room itself. Clean and great view however, before we got to the good part the parking dilemma was insane! The hotel was clearly fully booked, being a holiday weekend and all but Good Lord RIU! with a property this huge, more parking spaces are needed. Check-in after that was a breeze and I was pretty impressed.....UNTIL, after leaving the lobby and heading in the direction of the elevator to the suites, I was greeted by the most horrible smell (something like sewage, no doubt). After walking past the area a couple times that day and the smell still in full force, we mentioned it to one of the customer service reps seated in that area and she was polite about it and said that she had actually mentioned it to the relevant persons from she arrived at work that morning. Even though the smell was gone by the next morning, what worries me is the source of such a smell. Big hotel properties have to be careful about things like this that can really degrade the entire experience for travelers, whether local or international. Smell aside, RIU is a great property and the junior suite is an excellent value. The beach is clean for the most part and the overall stay for my first time was mostly pleasing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa was the only excellent thing

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The staff needs more training in customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The room was nice and clean, the beach was long and sandy. Location is good - there is no real reason to stay close to the city here.
Cons: - Hot water was present only sometimes. - Snacks were poor - Wifi was slow, and expensive for the non-deluxe rooms.
Location: Beaches are nice, Dunns River falls is nice but expensive. The town is not much and you'll be harassed by vendors constantly.
Given the price, this all-inclusive was pretty good. We had a junior suite where there was free wifi and no children, and rooms face on to the pool with swim-up bar. The stocked bar fridge and liquor dispensers are good. A few gripes: the all-inclusive method makes it seem, at first, a bit like a school camp more than a nice hotel: bands you must wear around your wrist the whole time, cards for the towels etc. I appreciate they have to run it this way. The buffet food was sometimes great and sometimes seemed a bit less fresh, but there is a good variety. Snacks are mentioned but there is really nothing much to choose from, and being serve-yourself popcorn and nachos kept in a shady corner of the sports bar makes me worry about hygiene. A la carte restaurants can only be booked once you arrive but then can be booked days ahead, meaning you may find them booked out for your entire stay when you arrive.! Overall you are there for the nice warm beach, which you certainly get, and the included food and drink means one more thing you just don't have to worry about. Treat it that way and you'll have fun.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

All inclusive hotel that deserves a 1 star rating!

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The rooms were musty(reserved 2). The internet service limited 90 minutes a day only in the lobby. The food in the other restaurants except the Italian wasn't bad, bad. Be sure not be more than 15mins late for restaurant reservation or u won't be served! The sheets are prob 20 thread count-in other words , so poor in quality I'm sure aren't found selling in any store!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Jamaica

Posted Oct 20, 2014
I stayed two nights and enjoyed the atmosphere and the multiple restaurant choices. It's a very family friendly hotel however there is an adult side of the hotel if you just looking to relax by the pool or beach in perfect tranquility. Two days here are good enough. I did want to stay one more night however the hotel was fully booked :( If you want to be near to Ocho Rios it's about a 5-7 min drive away and in very close proximity to a few of the best attractions Jamaica has to offer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I will be returning, for sure

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The staff and the entertainment. The overall experience at the hotel was excellent
Cons: The beds are too hard and the food could be improved. Particularly at dinner.
Location: Beautiful beaches and pool. Shopping near by was safe.
Overall, I loved the hotel and stay. All of the staff were extremely nice and made the experience great. The entertainment staff was excellent! The beds were hard and the food, at times, wasn't very good. But it wouldn't keep me from going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The grounds was beautiful, staff very helpful & pleasant. Food at he buffet was delicious. Rooms comfortable.
Cons: Pool in the adult section need to stay open longer for nightly swims. A few of the restaurants on the resort should serve more of the island cuisine.
Location: The location was wonderful. Long drive from the airport but u get to see the island along the way. Dunns River, Dolphin Cove, 9 Mile, Botanical Garden
Love it. Was a great experience. I will be staying at the Riu Hotels wherever I go. There are a few things that could be better but overall it was wonderful staying here. Very friendly & helpful staff.