Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spa was the only excellent thing

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The staff needs more training in customer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I will be returning, for sure

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The staff and the entertainment. The overall experience at the hotel was excellent
Cons: The beds are too hard and the food could be improved. Particularly at dinner.
Location: Beautiful beaches and pool. Shopping near by was safe.
Overall, I loved the hotel and stay. All of the staff were extremely nice and made the experience great. The entertainment staff was excellent! The beds were hard and the food, at times, wasn't very good. But it wouldn't keep me from going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The grounds was beautiful, staff very helpful & pleasant. Food at he buffet was delicious. Rooms comfortable.
Cons: Pool in the adult section need to stay open longer for nightly swims. A few of the restaurants on the resort should serve more of the island cuisine.
Location: The location was wonderful. Long drive from the airport but u get to see the island along the way. Dunns River, Dolphin Cove, 9 Mile, Botanical Garden
Love it. Was a great experience. I will be staying at the Riu Hotels wherever I go. There are a few things that could be better but overall it was wonderful staying here. Very friendly & helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Nice Place

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: beach and drinks
Cons: customer service at front desk. could be a little nicer
Location: Call Maryvn Paradise Tours 413-7755
food was good, service was pretty good most of the time. room was nice but not the view was not as nice as last time. tried to get staff to move us but they were not really interested in that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Grat place, food is good, the staff were wonderful

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Wonderful experience , great beach, the stew beef, and rice and peas was great, the best. We will be back there soon. The price for the hotel was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location on the beach

Posted Oct 2, 2014
I booked an Ocean view suite in the adults only section. Our 4th floor room was a good size and nicely decorated. We were however extremely disappointed with our balcony which was fronted by a solid wall which only allowed a view of the ocean when you were standing up. The front desk staff were very helpful in trying to change our room for one with railing fronted balcony, but they could not accommodate us until the 3rd day of our 4 day stay. So if you would like to enjoy a view of the sea make sure to ask at check -in if your balcony has a wall or railing on the front.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

facilities great but customer service LOUSY!

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: the pool, the bars, bar staff, restaurant staff.
Cons: customer service is AWFUL
Location: enjoy the beach and pool, see the dolphins
They took 12 hours to replace batteries in a tv remote and LIED about not being able to get into the room. not a big issue but reception could not replace the battery at 7am as we went to breakfast so left it with them for maintenance! when back at 6pm there was no remote. Guy said we had the do not disturb sign on. Not true, housekeeping could verify that. It took from 11:pm till after 2 am to get someone to the room to deal with an army of ants running from somewhere behind the nightstand up into the ceiling. was told after the first 30 minutes that someone had already been to our room! really! I eventually walked down to reception to ask if I could at least have some bug spray. not a hope it had to come from maintenance. Eventually a guy turns up with bug spray, leaves it with me... no sleep that night. No apology from the hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Amazing hotel

Posted Oct 1, 2014
This was my second trip to this hotel in the last 18months and it was amazing. The ENT staff are wonderful and the mighty along with daily entertainment were spectacular. The children and adults had an amazing time and the food choices were wonderful with the meals simply delicious. I stayed in September 2014.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn ,NY

Great, Wonderful, Fun, Go to RIU Ocho Rios Now .

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Everything room, location , food, entertainment ,staff, beach, seriously overall fantastic .
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location horse riding ,dolphin swim and lots of other activities close by.
Oh wow this place is wonderfully me and my daughter had a great time. We were on the adult section as soon as I came back to NY I told my husband we have to go there next year .I have no complaints about this place its a place you want to make a habit of going anytime you have vacation .You can stay on the family side or skip the kids and upgrade to the adult section either way its a fantastic place to be in .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ocean view property amazing

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The entertainment crew and staff that kept us happy
Cons: The restaurants we got to the restaurant 15 minutes late and could not be seated with many tables still open then was told we could not be seated at 9
Location: Dunns river falls amazing experience, go to the cliffs hidden spot
I have stayed at many RUI this was by far the worst. The signs are not clear enough. Getting attacked by staff for clothing when there is no sign posted. They were very rude and repeated themselves multiple times as if talking to a child not needed.The shows games and entertainment crew kept us a float as we would have left.