Ratings based on 1,354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

My Destination Wedding

Posted May 21, 2015
Everything was perfect!!! Would love to thank the ladies in Renova Spa along with Stacey for making all of my bridesmaids and myself look absolutely gorgeous on my wedding day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Destination Wedding

Posted May 18, 2015
Everyone was so helpful. Stacey the reception manager helped get us as well as all of our guest in great rooms in the same wing. The bellhop Davaughn was available for all of our needs from check in to check out. The photographers from Irie Images are on site and took great pictures of our special day. Last but not least the onsite wedding coordinator Patricia, organized our wedding ceremony and reception in Jamaica. She did an amazing job. Absolutely everything was wonderful. I could not have been happier. Thanks guys you were great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Nice Hotel Overall

Posted May 12, 2015
Had a great time. Place is huge. Well maintained. Food is good, I give the food a B+. Staff are friendly, but sometimes TOO friendly, they can bug you from time to time, try too much to fraternize with the guests. It's a matter of self control, but I (and I'm a thin well-disciplined person) found myself eating and drinking WAY too much; of course this isn't the Hotels fault. One sour thing that did happen however was that (we are >90% sure) the maids stole my wife's watch out of her luggage (and perhaps a few other odds and ends). They do have safes, I suggest leaving ALL valuables in the safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom rodriguez

Great service

Posted May 12, 2015
Great customer services.de hotel people and nice and they care about the customer
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted May 11, 2015
When I get to the hotel they give a regular room with a partial ocean view instead what I paid for which it was a junior suite with ocean view. They put me on a double bed room instead a king bed and it was my honeymoon. The staff was horrible they try to convince me that, that was the room that I booked because they were sold out. Worst experience I ever had in my life!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

pleasant stay

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: good location, very close to excursion locations.
Cons: bleach cleanliness and buffet food.
Location: Definitely visit the Blue Hole and Duns River Falls.
overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone.This resort was quite pleasant. Our stay was from Sunday through Thursday. It did not seam like the party atmosphere the first few days but then it picked up with a beach party and Raggee music. The casino was very small and they had a night club witch was open for one night. The drinks got very repetitive, pretty much a slushy with Rum. I suggest bring your own plastic drink mug so that you don't have to return back to the bar every 10min.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Lovely country, weather...won't return to resort

Posted May 10, 2015
We've been to a number of locations and all inclusive resorts throughout the Caribbean & Mexico (for less $) and this was our least favorite. We stayed in the adults-only deluxe side. The room was very nice & clean and housekeeping staff did a nice job. Customer service and friendliness of staff were only average, not nearly as high quality as other places we've traveled. Customer service was more typical of what you'd expect at an average hotel chain in the US. Pools nice but closed earlier than other places - 6pm. Premium beverage options were promised as part of the deluxe package, but these were only available at one bar that also closed at 6pm. Food was average with the exception of the beachside jerk BBQ stand which was quite good but only open mid-day. Evening entertainment was generally nice especially the steel drum performers and live reggae band. Overall, this was a 3/5 for us. Lovely location & weather so hard to complain too much. But we wouldn't stay at this resort again or recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rifton, NY

Love the Riu

Posted May 9, 2015
Third time back to the Riu in Ocho Rios and loved it. Great view of the ocean and pool. Beach and pool are very close as are all the restaurants. Very friendly staff and great entertainment crew. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Experience

Posted May 9, 2015
We traveled as two couples and all of us really enjoyed our experience. The entertainment was not very good in our opinion. This didn't matter so much as we know how to entertain ourselves on a tropical island paradise. The food was also repetitive but it was surprisingly good, especially the breakfast buffet. Despite many negative reviews regarding the pool I found it was absolutely fine, except near the bar which was no big surprise. The bed/bedding in the room is in desperate need of upgrade as the comforter is like a 1980's window curtain. That being said it is Jamaica so if you're using a comforter there is something wrong with that. The issues I brought up are petty little issues that, if addressed, would make the Riu Ocho Rios almost perfect. Even with these issues we all absolutely loved our Jamaican experience. Great views, beautiful beach, great staff, fun excursions. I can't wait to go back to Jamaica and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Riu Ocho Rios again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice beach, pool. But bad food

Posted May 7, 2015
First off let me warn anyone not aware because it's not evident on Expedia, prepare for a 2+ hour trip from airport to get here using shared shuttle. Private car prob like 90 minutes. Second, they wouldn't do early check in by like an hour. Never had that before. Third thing, food is pretty bad. If others say they liked it, well honestly they don't have very good taste buds. Italian food was disgusting. Drink selection also limited. Just red stripe beer, which was warm at times. And liquor was bottom rack. And no good wine. Lastly... Before complaining I couldn't get into any of their restaurants except like 5 or 9 PM. After talking to manager, who didn't help at first, finally did get in. Food there was better but not great. Oh and they have only 3 restaurants. Sites make it seem like more. But overall a really nice beach and pool. And staff generally nice. Entertainment staff did nice job.