Ratings based on 1,096 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US Nation Capitol

Staff EXTREMELY rude, uncaring and unorganized

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The beach, the location and the facility
Cons: CUSTOMER SERVICE
The hotel itself is in a good location and is a very nice hotel. The food is mediocre. The beach is lovely, the ride from the airport is quite long but scenic at times. The staff is horrible! Many guests had problems with rooms and check in. Many guests, including me and my family, had to sit in the lobby for hours waiting for rooms. One couple in particular (expecting a child) was told to sleep outside because the staff could not find their reservation. Guests were overcharged, charged extra or had to pay extra just to be on-site or just to sleep in a room with friends due to reservation mix-ups and the extra funds that were paid were not immediately reimbursed as staff told them IT was in Spain and due to the time difference the problem could not be resolved that day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, FL

Excellent Hotel and Service

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything, glad I chose the adult only section.
Cons: No smoking in some of the floors, smoke travels and I didn't like the smoke.
Location: Beautiful, Mammee Bay, enjoyed Dunn's River Falls, a Ferns Gully and the Bob Marley tour. Did not like the drive to Kingston, the winding road. :(
I would like to say that I had an awesome experience while staying at the Riu in Ocho Rios. The staff members from the guest check in and out, the wait staff as well as the servers were very polite and helpful. My room, a junior suite with an ocean view was very clean and I really enjoyed it. The shows, entertainment and food were tops! I will come back to the Riu and recommend it to friends and family, you certainly have a repeat customer in me. Only suggestions, put all the smokers on one floor, did not like the smoking, but that was only minor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Another Good Riu Vacation

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Loved the service by employees, they always do a good job taking care of customers and catering to needs. The jerk chicken off the grill on the beach
Cons: The evening shows and pool cleaning. Either need some stronger chemicals or a 2nd cleaning.
Location: Went to dolphin cove, and that was a waste of money. Too much to do and see and not enough time. Unlike Montego Bay, there isn't a town near by.
Had wanted to stay at Sandals, but it was already booked so we went back to Riu. This Riu wasn't as good at the Riu palace in Punta Cana or Nassau, but it was still awesome for the experience. There are plenty of bars and resturants to eat at. The pool probably needs a little more cleaning, but the beach was awesome compared to the one in Montego Bay. The food at buffet needed some more variety, but thats why there are resturants I guess. We took our child with us for first time and it was a smooth adjustment for us. I liked that there weren't ], any beach peddlers, and really liked the beach shop underneath. The biggest complains for me was the evening shows. They were very poor and not very creative. For the price, it was another good stay at a Riu. Needed some more refill on the water in refrig, but thats minor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Very nice words can't explain

Posted Jul 18, 2014
It was my 2nd time but my mom and her friend 1st time they already planning to go back next year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2014
It was a very nice experience I loved it, hotel was beautiful love the environment and the food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Great hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: The room was great. The grounds were beautiful. Very green and pretty. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: A laundry room would help. Clocks in the room. More than one key to a room would also help.
Location: It was located right on the beach. Close to the attaction like Dunns River Falls, Mystic Mountain, Dolphin Cove, and some shopping areas.
Although I loved the hotel and staff I had some minor complaints. For some reason our maid didn't have a key to our room so she had to wait until we were in the room to clean or on her supervisor to be let in which meant some days the room was cleaned later in the evening. Besides that the maid was great. No clock was in the room. I thought that was annoying since they was a time difference. We only got one key to the room. Didn't like that at all. I must say the fact that the staff was GREAT, the food was great, the hotel (room, grounds, and beach) was incredible so that all made up for the faults. We all had a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
I have to say the most amazing aspect of the hotel is the view of the beach. I've stayed here three times and will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Crescenta, California

Best Trip Ever

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Chukka Ziplining was great. We also went to the Blue Hole instead of Dunn's River. Best attraction we have ever been to.
Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. We have been to several all-inclusive resorts and this was probably the best. Check-in was quick and easy, the rooms we had were clean and very spacious. The beach was so beautiful and clean and the water was warm, yet refreshing. There were lounge chairs no matter what time of day you went to the beach. We were on the deluxe side so we had access to both pools, so when we wanted activities we went to the family pool and when we wanted quiet we went to adult pool. Just perfect. The animation team was fabulous and the shows they put on were so much fun. The music set the mood for fun. As far as the food it was fun to try new and different things. Something for everyone - worked for our family. Oh and we got to try lots of new and fun drinks. The only bad thing was we had to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Re-union

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Food and activities
Cons: Out door activities for children under 12 years old.
Location: Did not visit any near by activity
We had a fantastic time as always(third visit). It was clear to see that the Management and Owners treat their employees as a valuable asset. We did not get the room type be booked, was told due to high occupancy, however, the great staff and food compensated for the difference.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA.

Nice Resort & Hotel on the beach!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Someone urinated on our love seat and the bed is hard as a rock. The people are hard working Jamaicans. The food and entrainment was great. The shops at the resort are expensive and watch fior falling items. Even if you drop it you will pay for the item if it breaks. Dis-functional transportation to and from Airport to resort. Round trip cost $100.00 the safest cheapest Tropical Tours. Ocho Rios is 1.5 hours drive from the airport in Montego Bay. Make sure you bring USD $$$$$ The resort is big make sure you cool with that. Google your visit to which part of Jamaica you are going. The Do's and Don't ! Please don't do the bad stuff. Be smart, Stay safe and limit outside off resort stuff at night. You will enjoy you stay just ask for more pillows!!!!!!