Ratings based on 1,146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach front resort

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: The food was excellent. There was something going on every night which was very entertaining. The beach was gorgeous and the pool was fun.
Cons: Our mini fridge was not stocked everyday but overall, we have no complaints.
Location: Everything excursion we went on was near by. Dunn's River Falls was like 5-10 minutes down the road but the River tubing was a bit further-40 minutes
RIU was excellent. Staff was friendly and resort was overall a great experience. My husband and I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Perfect for a Honeymoon

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Location: Travel companies hang out in the lobby all day long and are willing to take you on any excursions you like from adventure to sightseeing to shopping.
We traveled to Jamaica for our honeymoon and did extensive research on All Inclusive Resorts - we'd never been to one and figured this would be the perfect trip to just relax and not worry about anything. We chose RIU first after good reviews & friend recommendations - and then selected Ocho Rios based on travel guides - sounded like the beaches were less crowded with indie sellers, and it was close to Dunns River Falls. Everything was great! The trip from the hotel was about 90 minutes by bus, the room was BEAUTIFUL - the deluxe jacuzzi suite, they don't do it justice just from the photos - we didn't realize we'd get a 2nd upper balcony via spiral staircase that led to the outdoor jacuzzi! Very comfortable bed & great sea views, very quiet. The pools & beaches were clean and refreshing and staffed with great people. Plenty of food options - although the buffet restaurants were more our speed than any of the special "dress up" options. Their water sports crew took us on a large Catamaran to see the falls & go snorkeling, and their on site spa gave me one of the best pedicures I've ever had. Only two things I would have changed: 1) Would have really loved our own coffee pot or water kettle of some sort in the room - sometimes you just want a cup of coffee or tea on your own before venturing out among the crowds 2) The tiled floors throughout the room & balcony were really slippery! Considering how often we were going in/out of a jacuzzi or pool - it was odd design.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Very Pretty: Customer Service so bad don't bother!

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Immaculate, nicely finished. Large well maintained beach, tons of lounge chairs available at all times. Ala carte restaurants (4) were very good.
Cons: Customer service: Anna (the night manager) advised me when I called arrival night asking move the next day they're full (slow season & 35% vacant)????
Location: The resort is 1hr from Montego airport. 15min from Dunn's River Falls. Adjacent to Catamarans, & excursions like snorkeling & swimming with dolphins
We had to make an instant decision as our scheduled trip to Cabo was hurricaned out. The travel agent at Expedia re-booked us 3 couples into Jamaica with flights and all inclusive "Deluxe" accommodations at the RIU (the locals say "Rio") for a next-day arrival so we were thrilled. The resort has a nice driveway, an impressive open-aired lobby, and immediate access to the all-inclusive bar.......so check-in was smooth. We were assigned "Garden View" rooms that were beautifully furnished and had nice/functional balconies. We were assigned Suite #1115 and our friends had 1121 & 1153. All of the room were identical except for the view. Unit 1153 had the best view: partial ocean w/a great pool view but the longest walk from the food and entertainment. 1121 had a nice pool view and much better access to the activities. Our room (1151) should be avoided at all costs. There is no view as a large fan-palm obstructs everything. I didn't give this much thought; someone had to be assigned this room, and moved right in. By 8pm, room 1115s location it had turned into a complete nightmare. It's is right next to a large restaurant w/no sound insulation....dishes banging, metal carts dragging, supervisors yelling instructions, & guest celebrating 24/7,. It is also over the pass-through from the entrainment area to the pool and rooms in the south wing. There is a very bright orange light directly in from of our balcony illuminating making it impossible to enjoy the balcony
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bronx

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: How clean the facilities were. and the beautiful gardening. The number of swimming pools.
Cons: The food in the resturant
The hotel atmosphere was excellent - the staff was very helpful in every way. they were all professional, from the front desk staff to the gardeners. Everyone was so pleasant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Owings Mills

Jamaica Mon.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Hotel was nice. Disappointed with check in. Hotel didn't have what I paid for. No ocean view nor double beds. The first night we had no ocean view and had to sleep with daughter in king bed.....very unhappy. Not the plan. Hotel didn't seem apologetic. Just an oh well kinda attitude. We changed rooms the following evening after 6 pm. We received no assistance with baggage for check in or to change rooms. Food was tasty and a good variety. Staff was great especially Sasha. Entertainment was fun. Club was too loud and boring. Rooms were well stock with drinks and liquor. We didn't use any. Pool was nice and beach was well kept. Plenty to keep you busy. All in all had a good time. Front desk needs some help with hospitality. The taxi service is way to expensive. The spa is over priced. Shop around for deals. The Blue Hole is a great place to see. Amazing views... Should be somewhat physically fit for the tour. Or you can just swim at the bottom a must see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

nice hotel, excellent entertainment, friendly staf

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: clean, comportable rooms, lots of food choices,
Cons: elevators very hot; Music/sound in the club...very distorted..could hardly recognize the songs that I know.
Location: Dunns river, market is close
4th time staying there, will go back. Good beach; Enjoyed the nightly shows, the entertainment staff very talented. Enjoyed the morning beach aerobics.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metuchen, NJ

Riu was excellent!! Just Go!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I was a little worried after reading the reviews, but the hotel was fantastic! The beach gorgeous, you just got a sense of complete relazation, the rooms were great, I would recommend the adults only section as you have concierge and personal lobby service, no long lines for key changes etc. The staff was mostly friendly, Jamaican people are very warm, I think it helps the relaxed feeling... Really, really good time :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYNY

The best place ever.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
The best place ever. Loved every second of my stay. From the staff to the views. Water was beautiful. Worth every penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from margate, fl

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Free Wifi was allowed only for 90 mins a day....this was a huge deal breaker. I would prefer that the additional cost be added to my itinerary
A very nice refreshing experience, enjoyed my time at RIU Ochoa Rios. Food was great, staff was wonderful, accommodation fantastic
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Hotel on beach.Great location in Ocho Rios

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pro's:Great staff, great beach, great location in Ocho Rios, very happy with the adults ONLY side NO kids what so ever.Con's:HARD BEDS, paid for ocean front received pool view partial beach view, very blend food EXCEPT for their jerk chicken which was only on the 1 side of the beach.Very little food for specialty dinners if the specialty dinner wasn't buffet style.No air conditioning anywhere except for rooms.Off is a MUST a lot of bugs.Gift shop at hotel OVER PRICED.Overall I give the hotel a 6 out of 10.If your looking more towards luxury this is not the place for you.