Ratings based on 1,258 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Breakfast buffet, staff, beach, and jerk chicken hut on the beach (we loved it).
Cons: The dinners at the speciality restaurants need a great deal of improvement. We will not do those on our next trip.
Location: Dunns River Falls, Luminous Bay, and the beach (quiet and serene).
From the time we entered the spacious open air foyer we knew that this hotel was well worth the ride from Montego Bay airport. The staff that greeted us were warm and welcoming and answered all of our questions. One staff member especially made our trip wonderful her name is Kernian. She works the front desk. I had mentioned that we'd be here during my husbands birthday and she on her own arranged for a birthday cake and champaign to be delivered on his special day. We also enjoyed the day trip excursions that are available. We plan to stay here again in the not too distant future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall not a bad hotel, but they can do better

Posted Jan 16, 2015
I was there for a week with my wife and one year son. It was an ok experience, not impressed with the hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Family Resort

Posted Jan 15, 2015
We had a great time at the resort . Very nice pool . Has shallow areas for kids and weak swimmers. Food was decent . The breakfast buffet had a large variety. Beach is nice and clean. The rooms are spacious. Our shower and faucet was leaking and the flush did not work sometimes!!! The hotel main water pipe broke one day so there was no water in the room. The staff is friendly. The kids club is a joke. The pool in the club is size of a large bathtub. The restaurants have plenty of seating and a variety of food. We had a great time at the resort because we were in a large group . And we found that there were several groups here on family vacations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort on a beautiful beach.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Location, clean, beautiful beach and water
Cons: The only thing we didn't like about the resort was the dining in the evenings. They only had 3 restaurants and we could only eat at each 1 once.
Location: super easy to get a cab to take you anywhere you want to go.
We had a great time at the RUI. Beautiful resort. Love the beach and the fine sand. Awesome to body surf the waves and take the Hoby Cat out into the beautiful water The only thing that we didn't like was only 3 restaurants and you could only eat at each 1 once. The food was great but not so much at the buffet for dinner. They need more restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Santos/SP - Brasil

Hotel muito bom, comida excelente!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Apesar de não ser um destino procurado pelos brasileiros, eu e meu marido passamos o reveillon no resort Riu Ocho Rios na Jamaica e adoramos! Lugar lindo, mar azul e limpo, ambiente familiar, comida excelente e funcionários super atenciosos!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom long island, Ny

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015
My experience was great, I had mentioned I wanted to upgrade to the deluxe suite because i was celebrating my bday/wedding anniversary and when I got there I got a free upgrade,which was great, I had free WiFi 24/7 and access to premium alcohol, the drinks were good, bartenders were friendly, all the food except breakfast was really good, there was alot of shrimp, mussels, salmon, n Jamaican food, the beach looked beautiful and the pool although I didn't go in the water, the entertainment duriNG the day could be better. But the night time entertainment was cool , I especially liked the discotheque ,I ate at 2 specialty restaurants and went to Dunn river falls on the catamaran , overall I had a good time ,which ithe was a longer vacation.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom D.

Not good

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Bed felt like a board. no hot water in shower when complained maintenance told us we had to keep both sink faucets turned on hot while showering (waste of water). Shampoo & body wash same, had to purchase conditioner. Would rather have coffee in room than more alcohol. Speaker system in pool area for entertainment very poor. Chair cushions in stage area need replacing very thin not comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom palm beach county.florida.

Hotel,beach.facility excellent.Will return.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Wonderfully.staff excellent.Beach clean.Plenty of activities for all ages.Babies to seniors.Very calm,relaxing environment,social activities well planned and executed.Staff very cheerfully,professional.Willing to please.There is also a casino that's not advertised.Most of all the food was delicious.Lots of varieties, abundance.I will definitely return with family and friends.The price was affordable.got it on sale.I
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great hotel, very close to the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Outdoor facilities: pool, beach area
Location: great excursions.
We really enjoyed our trip. The hotel was great, food was very good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Beautiful view

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness and beautiful views from everywhere!
Cons: The food needed more variety and flavor. If we didn't come back, it was because the food was just average.
Location: Location was PERFECT. Close sailboat ride to Dunn's River Falls and close to shopping and Dolphin cove (which was a must do, in my opinion).
Overall this was a very enjoyable vacation with things to do for everyone. Relaxed, sailed, walked, shopped. We did it all.