Ratings based on 514 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario CANADA

Relax Relax Relax

Posted Feb 16, 2015
This was our second time at this location the first was I 1991. It was a time share then and the overall feeling hasn't changed much. The peppery has although and for the better vast improvement to the water front area with new break walls creating nice swimming areas. The bars on the beach and at the adult pool all have ice cold beer but not all doused drinks. The alacarte resturants are very good and buffet is most acceptable. Keep in mind the price point for this property I feel we got good value for our dollar. Most excursions are a short drive in either direction if you want to see more of the Island. This is our 9th trip to Jamaica to several different properties and I will say I've never really been disappointed. This trip was for a friends wedding that came off perfect. The ceremony on the Jetty and dinner on the beach an event to remember.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Queens, NY

Great rooms

Posted Feb 10, 2015
The hut where I stayed was the best part but overall a decent resort best for older people
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Second visit to this location.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The grounds were kept up and always clean.
Cons: Plumbing seems to be an issue. Toilets don't always flush and water temperature hard to control.
Location: Very close to a bar/restaurant we went to last time we stayed in Jamaica, Sharkies had excellent staff and food.
Overall experience was good, however the weather did not cooperate, not the fault of the Hotel, the room was cleaned everyday early, which we appreciated. The plumbing needs updating, the hot and cold water was irratic hard to shower without scalding or freezing - that would be my only complaint. My husband didn't care for the fact that the beer at all three bars ran out of Co2 regularly, the staff was apologetic and did get him some bottled beer to accommodate. We will definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom United States

Price Equaled Expectations

Posted Feb 4, 2015
When Couples and Sandals Resorts charge $400+ per night and Royal Decameron charges less than $200, you have to expect some concessions in your experience. The positive: The grounds were in great shape. The staff was helpful.The beach is wider and bigger than I expected. Plenty of chairs are available. The snack bar served good burgers and fries. There is a nice gift shop near the front desk and the prices are cheap. The negative: The food was not as good as previous reviews led me to believe. The daily buffet did have many options, and the salad and fruit was ok. However, the actual entrees were disappointing. The beef was fatty, the chicken was mostly bone, and the seafood "casserole" did not have any seafood in it. One night there was a pasta bar, which was the only "highlight". I booked the trip months ahead and reserved a king bed, but I got two doubles. The room sometimes lacked running water; and it took 5 minutes to get in the shower because the water temperaturwas scalding hot. The room itself was spacious and clean. Probably the biggest issue I had with the room was that it was located next to a club which either played very, very loud music or had someone screaming into a microphone until well after 1 A.M. I'm not an old fart, but when I'm at a resort and want to sleep/relax, I don't want to hear a siren wail every minute after midnight. I recommend the hotel based on the price/location. But remember you get what you pay for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Spacious Property

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Grounds was well kept & spacious. This allowed for comfort & ease in navigating bars, restaurants and other facilities. Night activities are very entertaining. Additional training may be needed for front desk staff; I encountered unprofessionalism and unfriendliness.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emiliofrom Cayman islands

OK option for a budget stay with very nice

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The resort was ok, the staff is very friendly and you can arrange any trip from the hotel. The buffet was nice. It has an ok beach(comparing to Cayman beaches).The staff tries to entertain the guests as much as possible. On premises you have: tennis court, nice gym,good pool,lots of board games.You can definitely find something to do. In case you want to just sleep and eat,and procrastinate you have the TV, the food and pretty comfortable beds:P and unlimited drinks from the bar. The wifi doesn't really work, it is promised at the main desk that wifi works in every room, but it only works in the main hall, and not super well. Advice: buy a local sim card, it was cheaper than the not working hotel wifi. An advice for the ones with allergies, booking a hut is a risk. The hotel by itself is not super modern, though is kept clean. So you will have a strong smell of old wood and old furniture. The smaller rooms are much better, less wood, less furniture and seemed to be much cleaner. When we asked to change to the room we had no trouble with it. The hotel also has a store on the territory where you can buy everything (souvenirs, clothes, snacks). The ATM is not on the territory of the hotel, but in front of it. Advice: try not to make friends that look for tourists from the hotel... To sum up, it's an OK option for a budget stay with very nice staff, lots of activities on premises, ok food, average rooms and close to most of the Ocho Rios tourist attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fentonfrom javc, boston

wonderful stay

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel offer just as described, great service, and, atmosphere plenty to do never a dull moment, wish I could have stayed longer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Glenroyfrom Jamaica

Best all inclusive for the price

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my eighteen anniversary and my time spend at Royal Decameron was enjoyable for the most part. Food was great with excellent drinks.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sherronfrom st catherinr

so so

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Requested a cottage did not get our room right next to a bar
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not be staying again

Posted Dec 13, 2014
For an all -inclusive you don't even get a mini bar in your room, just bottle water in fridge, room very basic. Was set meal times, nothing out in afternoon to snack on. Chef nice guy, food nice but no nibbles out in day, for what I paid, I felt did not get money worth.