Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 9, 2015
After reading the reviews, I felt I was prepared for the hotel. What I was not prepared for was the beauty of the setting, the kindness of the staff, and the general order and organization of the place. We did not get the bungalow we were supposed to get, but got a room and free WiFi instead. The room worked fine, but was dark and bordered on the edge of the property that butted up to a bar that played music until the wee hours of the night, though I slept just fine. The shower worked just like I had read, namely the temperature fluctuation. The food was pretty good, and the drinks were strong. The staff was super kind and willing to help. The property, while aging, was well kept and clean. I would totally come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Perfect for the family

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Very clean and staff was nice. Beautiful beach. The pool, chairs and grounds were maintained daily.
Cons: I would have liked more food from the country. There was mostly American food with just a dish or two jamaican.
Location: Runaway Bay, about half an hour to Ocho Rios. Take a drive and enjoy the scenery and the real ness of the hard working Jamaicans.
We vacationed with our children and niece ages 23-4. There was something for everyone. We had 6 people in our party...the gave us 2 suites side by side, garden view. We were upstairs and the view was beautiful. The staff was great. All of them were very nice and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family. I already told a friend and she says she is going in June. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Relaxing Beach Atmosphere

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: We loved that we could find quality beach chairs away not directly next to people.
Cons: They allow smoking, so we were often downwind from smokers.
The beach was beautiful! There were always beach chairs available in ideal locations, both sun and shade. Bars were close to all beach areas. Sadly, the wind was crazy when we were there so we could not swim in the ocean or use any of the included non-motorized water gear. We got sunburned the first morning even though we put sunscreen, so remember to keep putting on new layers of sunscreen!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom arizona

Budget Resort, NOTHING for kids to do.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly for the most part. Rooms were large. Lifeguards of duty and attentive at pool and beach swim areas.
Cons: Lots! Somewhere in your description you ought to let people know it isn't really a place for young children. Be honest with description of activities
With the exception of the staff who were really very good, this place isn't all it advertises. We stayed in one of the cottages (garden) that was very comfortable until about 11:00 when the disco across the street pelted the music full blast until after 2:00 in the morning! It was almost impossible to sleep even with ear plugs. Forget asking to move, EVERYONE wants to move away from the racket. We were told by some other guests that the rooms near the lobby were also noisy with the "live" entertainment each night but at least that ended around midnight. If you are wanting a quiet place to stay find somewhere else. We were also disappointed with the food. Bland, dressings watered down and meat dishes frequently with small bones throughout. The best meal was the Jamaica night and the food upstairs. Everything else was pretty poor quality. I will credit the resort with good access to drinks but I personally found them too sugary and it is very annoying to wait in line for a soda and get about a half a cup by the time you account for the ice. Those in the know brought bigger cups so you didn't have to order four drinks just to have a normal drinks worth? The hotel also states it is kid friendly. I assumed that ment that there were things for kids to do, not so. The playground was broken and closed, the kids club is really just a room with a TV and a game station (no toys). There is no pool just for kids and the shallower area was used for various adult activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Overall it was a good experience, we particularily liked the individual huts as rooms, they were comfortable and clean and the staff was very pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Nice resort on the beach

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Smiling, happy staff. Totally relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: Furniture in rooms has seen way better days, including the beds! Does need replacing!!!!
Location: Good location, about 30 minutes to Dunn's Falls and 2 1/2hrs to Negril.
Staff always smiling, always something going on if you want to join in. Very nice atmosphere. Guests from all over the world. Right on the beach. Food more than acceptable. Drinks not watered down. Negative for sure - We reserved Garden view cottage, they said none available upon our arrival. We were "upgraded" to luxury suite. It was at back up big set of stairs, in big double room, yes but totally out of the way at back. Then, we were moved to Garden view cottage on 2nd day. very nice. When we asked to stay another night, we had to move again! Would recommend- definitely good value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Nice hotel, great staff, good location

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The staff, the food on most days, the entertainment, and the personality of the hotel as a whole.
Cons: How loud it can be if you are staying in the southern rooms. Not quite sure what can be done about it, but the proximity to the bar was troublesome.
Location: In the immediate surroundings, there is very little to do. We had fun lounging in the sun, chatting with the staff, and used Chukka for a booze cruise
I went to Royal Decameron from March 7, 2015 to March 13, 2015. I went with my wife, and two other friends. I had read various reviews and was worried at first, but stuck with my choice because of the great price. I will do my best to give an honest review that covers my bias of what I wanted from my trips to Jamaica. My ultimate goal was to escape the frigid Michigan weather and spend some time in paradise. By going to the Royal Decarmeron Club Carribbean Hotel in Runaway Bay, I was able to do this. There are many people who have said that it is isolated, and it is. But keep in mind that you are only 20 minutes away from Ocho Rios, and most of what you will find there is commercialized shopping for people on cruises. You will probably find the same in Montego Bay as well, but I did not spend much time there. Nonetheless, Royal Decameron is right on the beach and is somewhat secluded. The best part about the hotel is the event staff. I noticed that many have said that on here, and I will reiterate it. The staff will make you want to come back. The one item that I can legitimately complain about is that our hotel room (located toward the south end of the resort) was just behind a bar that would play music until two o'clock. The first night did not go well with that. My wife and I, however, adapted and stayed out late (even sometimes going to that bar) we slept well after that. I enjoyed this hotel, even if it might have some wear and tear, and I would still recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Accommodation good. You will enjoy if you like a Butlins type holiday. Lots of food and drink and entertainment
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Disco noise.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
DO NOT BOOK here if you get a garden view room. It is right next to a disco. The first night we got there. Round 5pm. We were shown to our room, which stunk like mildew. We went to dinner and came back to the base of the music next door. It was horrible. Very loud. You could near it plain as day over the t.v. and air conditioner. This went on until 2:30am. Our neighbors also said that on Fri. and Sat. the music went on till 4am. The next day we wanted to upgrade, get different rooms away form the music. We were told they were booked. We called them on 3 separate occasions 3 weeks prior to change rooms due to previous reviews. They said we had to wait until we got there. We called Expedia after we paid the $5 for an hour of WiFi. Expedia transferred us to their sister hotel in Montego Bay. We were transported within the hour and greatly enjoyed the rest of our trip at the Royal Decameron in Montego Bay. We also received free WiFi and a safe for the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta Canada

Excellent service

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Although this is an older resort it was well maintained and clean. The staff was exceptional and friendly. There was a variety of food at the buffet that catered to every taste -food was tasty and fresh. The bar service was great and they did not scrimp on the drinks. On the resort there was 4 beach areas that were small bays created by break waters. This created areas for playing in the water that were protected and calmer which was perfect for those who arent strong swimmers or are afraid of water. Overall a relaxing enjoyable stay.