Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Small quiet

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Staff was friendly and courteous. Very annoying that you are ask each time you go in or outside your room number and where you are going ! I thought that was a bit too much !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014
We stayed in the butler suit and had Nigy as our Butler. He was wonderful, went above and beyond our expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom R

Very nice. On the small size, which was nice.

Posted Mar 9, 2014
We are looking forward to our next trip already. Sandals is a top rate all inclusive hotel
3 out of 5
by Soosfrom Milford,CT

Street between a public, tiny beach and Carlyle

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Service is excellent, food is great, bar is cozy, Aqua-size instructor gave an excellent workout, free shuttle to other Sandals in MB
Cons: Accurate pictures of hotel, street, beach size, and wires.
Location: Go to the other Sandals as they both have private beaches.
Staff was wonderful but even with a top 3rd floor room with a view of the ocean, great food, drink, great staff and Butler service, I felt deceived. There is a busy street in front of the hotel that you have to cross to get to the tiny public beach. You sure don't see that in the photoshopped pictures of the hotel. Tons of and noisy traffic, honking horns, car alarms going off from early morning until late at night. The beach is tiny, tiny and filled with Jamaicans, not on Holiday, and looking to sell something to an obvious tourist. Also, there is a whole strand of electric and telephone wires obstructing our view. Don't get me wrong - we had a great time!!! We left the Carlyle every day on the free Sandals bus and spent the day at one of the 2 other Montego Bay Sandals resorts. They were both gorgeous, great restaurants and fun free water sports and much more expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary

Christmas in Jamaica

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The Staff where super. Very friendly. The food was better than the other resorts.
Cons: Street noise is bothersome. Breakfast potatoes are terrible. Tasted like they where cooked hours earlier.
Location: Close to airport, quick shuttle to other resorts for beaches.
The staff at this hotel make the difference. Even though there is no beach you can get to one via the free shuttle and it's only a 15min ride. We didn't have much luck making reservations at the other restaurants so we mostly ate at the buffets or our hotel. We thought our hotel had better food. The bar service was average at best no matter which hotel you where at. It was hard to get the same drink made correctly twice. But it's free so you just go with the flow. This hotel is on a busy street and we where kept awake for two nights until 2am. Having said that I would stay here again if it proved to be a good value. It's great to have everything included in the price and not get nickeled and dimed with other fees.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paula and Georgefrom Kingston

Needs to get more coordinated

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
While the staff are polite they are not very coordinated. When we checked in the person who took us to our room noted that the safe in the room was not working and said that he would send someone to repair it. After about 30 minutes we had to call maintenance to request the help. When we later saw that the bath tub had no stopper so that it was impossible to take a bath we did not bother to call maintenance. In Jamaica is it common to drink coconut water directly from the coconut so we asked how we could get some coconuts the person he took us to our room said he would get us some the next day--- they never came. To help differentiate the Jamaican culinary experience from that of other countries more Jamaican food such as ackee and saltfish (a breakfast staple in Jamaica), breadfruit prepared multiple ways, more local fruit and jams could be available. There is a shuttle service to two other Sandals hotels in the area. The communication between these three hotels is weak. A daily schedule of the events at each of the hotels is published but not coordinated so that twice we traveled to one of the other hotels only to find out that the event we traveled to participate in was not scheduled. There is an extra charge for Internet access but each hotel does not agree if the account paid for in one of the hotels can also be used when visiting the other hotels. Reservations for restaurants is not well coordinated between these hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenfrom washington DC

Wonderful experience and staff

Posted Dec 8, 2013
We had a fantastic stay! It is the smallest sandals resort, but we think the best! It's more intimate, and friendly, all the staff get to know you by name and you make more friends with other guests! Excellent service and food, great view of the beach, fairly quiet, and great evening atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by R.J. Sharpfrom USA

ENJOY YOURSELF

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall this is a wonderful, clean, hotel to just relax and regroup. Great location close to airport. I can't praise the staff enough. Every night the chef made spectacular entrees. This might have been an all inclusive but the food was top notch My only complaint is about the beach. It was dirty and a gathering place for the locals selling their wares.We did snorkel in the crystal clear waters although there were bags, cans, wrappers on the ocean floor. I snorkel in Jamaica, this place left a lot to be desired.
2 out of 5
by Lisa & Johnfrom New Jersey

Noisy hotel across the road from a public beach

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Clean room, friendly staff, comfortable mattress
Cons: If it were possible to physically move the building would be the only way to make it better.
Location: Located right on the street - no buffer for the sounds of the cars and horns and local beachgoers. No ocean view.
We booked the Carlyle based on reviews and its lower price compared to the other 2 nearby Sandals (Montego Bay and Royal Caribbean). We booked for 7 nights but after our first night of being unable to sleep because of late night and early morning street noise, we worked with the management to switch our stay to Royal Caribbean and so glad we did. This resort change cost us more money, but well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Saleemfrom Trinidad, Caribbean

Nice hotel. Rooms are old. Staff is great.

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: I like how it is small and the staff is so nice.
Cons: The rooms need upgrading they feel old
Location: The location is good in terms of it being near to the airport but it is a distance away from the main attractions. The beach was easy to get to.
Overall a great stay at Sandals Carlyle. The room was a bit old but the Sandals experience was there. Food was great and we loved how we could take the shuttle to the other resorts. That really made it even better.