Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Loved the hotel, location on the ocean, but

Posted Mar 16, 2015
it is a beautiful place and all the staff was very friendly and accommodating. my only complaint is that there was constant construction on the beach side and we had to walk through it every day to get to the beach, bars and restaurants. the path through was never the same. But aside from that, I would definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time at Sandals Grand Riviera. We would like to say that the luxury room was much smaller than expected. The staff of Sandals is what made the stay for us. We even asked it they had to go to training to be so nice and smiling. We believe the people of Jamaica are just that way. We would stay at Sandals again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia PSA

Beach areas are very limited.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing-too tired!
Cons: Cleaner lobby....
2/16/2015 Just returned from a 5 night stay and really not able to say anything favorably regarding the property. Our room was directly over a construction site with never-ending noise of machinery. The lobby in our building (Great House) was also under construction-continuous noise and last but least at breakfast my husband had a pot of coffee poured down his arm-fortunately he was not injured. His shirt however was stained and they never followed-up with cleaning as we were assured it would be provided. All of this is totally UNACCEPTABLE! This being the "peak season" for vacationers I cannot and will not recommend Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Resort to anyone going to Ocho Rios. Your facility scored a big 0! EJB
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New England

Be wary of "oceanview room"

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The room with ocean view was about 1/2 mile up on the hill. They have shuttles to get you down to a very small beach.....so pack every thing you need! The hotel had no elevators to your room or dining facilities. So we had to move to the "ocean side" of the complex to the "gardens cottage". Probably built in the 60s and lots of construction going on. We asked for a credit in that our room had no ocean view. We were offered $6. a day! Be aware that there are 42 stairs to climb to get from beach to dining, lobby or your room!!!! We signed onto Sandals Grande Riviera, while at Sandals in St. Lucia because the beach, food and facilities were wonderful. The staff was lovely and grounds beautiful in Jamaica, but that's where the Sandal's experience ended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Excellent Escape

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: restaurants convenient, no screaming kids, pools rowdy or quiet depending on what you felt like that day.
Cons: Steps around buildings steep, wife had trouble with some of the drops, not clearly marked.
Location: Great house - good restaurants, pool Ochi beach house - ocean cove, pool, bar
Sandals Grand Riviera - excellent location, close to ocean. Pools clean and convenient - although getting chair difficult in some locations. Food in restaurants very good. Ambiance and attentive staff great throughout.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southbay CA

Nice hotel too far from the beach

Posted Feb 16, 2015
My girlfriend and I were expecting to be on the beachside of the resort. We were not. Our room could not have been in a more busy area. Noisey to say the least. And walking up a flight of stairs to exit in the am was not fun. When we landed at the airport we were surprised to hear from the sandles employee that we had to tip the non sandles employee to take our bags to the shuttle bus to the resort. I'm 6 ft 190 and capable of rolling my own luggage. And then we had to wait for a sandles employee and tip that person to remove our luggage from the shuttle. Ridiculous. We paid a handsome fee for the trip to begin with and the costs just kept going up. We paid for an extra candlelite dinner on the beach which had to be moved into the outside restaurant due to the Mosquitos. As if this wasn't an issue before....perhaps nets in addition to the useless citronella candles. Waste of my $. If I was ever to visit this resort again it would have to be at a discounted rate and I would be sure to wear a T-shirt that said " no means no". The photographers were pushy and rude. You expect pushy sellers away from the resort but not on site. The food was 3 out of 5, at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Good resort. Good butler service and good number of activities to do!!! Semi-private pool was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Centreville, VA

Great getaway for couples

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: It provides the perfect environment for couples to have fun and unplug to achieve total relaxation. Well stocked mini fridge.
Cons: I was surprised that the bathtub only fit one person and the shower was a regular hotel shower. The facilities need a good refresher overall.
Location: We had everything we needed on location to completely unplug and unwind.
It was an amazingly relaxing experience. Exactly what we needed. The variety of types of foods (Mediterranean, Italian, French, Caribbean, etc) made every meal an enjoyable experience with amazing care by the entire staff. The ride from the airport was safe and smooth. The blend of group activities and the ability to have truly quiet time for us made this location special, one that we have already recommended to others and will continue to do in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissafrom Franklin, Tn

not what i expected of a sandals

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
the pools closed down by 5, we went snorkeling at 4, Came back wanted towels. they would not get us any, said it was to late, if you did not claim a chair by 9 Am you probably would not get one.. Trash laid all over the grounds and was never picked up
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by paulfrom louisville

Sandals Scandal

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
There are no elevators. Room had a ceiling leak and ceiling fell in. The room was poorly furnished and very basic fit out. Staff were annoying - too friendly. The executive staff were always trying to sell something. The owners have a good concept, but they have created it to be like a cheap cruise ship or a Holiday Inn.