Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Jun 23, 2015
great resort with comfortable rooms, clean beaches
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
sometimes the bars ran out of a certain type of liquor but it was usually quickly replenished. Not at a lot to do after midnight on the resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice close to the beach

Posted May 3, 2015
Very pleasant experience Everything was just perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Real Honeymoon

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Private, tropical, well cared property, staff, food.
Cons: The retail checkout process in the boutiques was painfully slow and a quicker checkout using a scanner and a better computer system would help greatly
Location: No real beach, go to Negril for that. The town was close by for shopping. Catamaran tour to Dunn's river and tours to Appleton Estates.
We've been to Jamaica 2 times previously. Both times were to Negril on a smaller budget. Although this trip was pricey, we experienced the kind of comfort, food quality and service that would make this the vacation to compare all others to. It was very romantic and that was re-enforced by the staff who made it our "real honeymoon". We actually celebrated 17 years on April 17th while we were there and could not have asked for a better experience. We have experienced many of Ontario's Finest Inns and feel accommodations and food from this resort would rank high with those experiences. Dunn's River Falls, and catamaran cruise were great!. Every restaurant was a dining pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by seymour from usa

Honeymoon stay

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is awesome and accommodating, I would go there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Loved the hotel, location on the ocean, but

Posted Mar 16, 2015
it is a beautiful place and all the staff was very friendly and accommodating. my only complaint is that there was constant construction on the beach side and we had to walk through it every day to get to the beach, bars and restaurants. the path through was never the same. But aside from that, I would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patricia from hoboken, New jersey

GREAT DEAL for discounted price!!

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
We got upgraded to a private villa from an Ocean View Room and it was really amazing. We had such a great time and everyone there on the hotel staff was truly ALWAYS in a good mood. The first few times you get "YA MON" as a response you think they are playing it up but thats really just what everyone says at the end of every sentence. We lucked out that we were able to get reservations at each of the restaurants. If you cant get reservations is anywhere from a 45 min - 2 hour wait for a table at any of their other venues. Highly suggest the french restaurant, that was our favorite. It could have been a restaurant in NYC. I wish they had a few other options for lunch that was the only meal that got old after awhile. It is a little scary driving through some of the poor areas heading to the resort. You would never realize being on the resort that two minutes down the road people are living in shacks. One downside after our first day there they began to start a lot of construction projects. They tried to be very accommodating around it but it was a little bit of an eyesore. Overall we have already recommended this hotel to ALL of our friends and definitely intend to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time at Sandals Grand Riviera. We would like to say that the luxury room was much smaller than expected. The staff of Sandals is what made the stay for us. We even asked it they had to go to training to be so nice and smiling. We believe the people of Jamaica are just that way. We would stay at Sandals again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia PSA

Beach areas are very limited.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing-too tired!
Cons: Cleaner lobby....
2/16/2015 Just returned from a 5 night stay and really not able to say anything favorably regarding the property. Our room was directly over a construction site with never-ending noise of machinery. The lobby in our building (Great House) was also under construction-continuous noise and last but least at breakfast my husband had a pot of coffee poured down his arm-fortunately he was not injured. His shirt however was stained and they never followed-up with cleaning as we were assured it would be provided. All of this is totally UNACCEPTABLE! This being the "peak season" for vacationers I cannot and will not recommend Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Resort to anyone going to Ocho Rios. Your facility scored a big 0! EJB
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New England

Be wary of "oceanview room"

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The room with ocean view was about 1/2 mile up on the hill. They have shuttles to get you down to a very small beach.....so pack every thing you need! The hotel had no elevators to your room or dining facilities. So we had to move to the "ocean side" of the complex to the "gardens cottage". Probably built in the 60s and lots of construction going on. We asked for a credit in that our room had no ocean view. We were offered $6. a day! Be aware that there are 42 stairs to climb to get from beach to dining, lobby or your room!!!! We signed onto Sandals Grande Riviera, while at Sandals in St. Lucia because the beach, food and facilities were wonderful. The staff was lovely and grounds beautiful in Jamaica, but that's where the Sandal's experience ended.