Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
sometimes the bars ran out of a certain type of liquor but it was usually quickly replenished. Not at a lot to do after midnight on the resort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice close to the beach

Posted May 3, 2015
Very pleasant experience Everything was just perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Real Honeymoon

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Private, tropical, well cared property, staff, food.
Cons: The retail checkout process in the boutiques was painfully slow and a quicker checkout using a scanner and a better computer system would help greatly
Location: No real beach, go to Negril for that. The town was close by for shopping. Catamaran tour to Dunn's river and tours to Appleton Estates.
We've been to Jamaica 2 times previously. Both times were to Negril on a smaller budget. Although this trip was pricey, we experienced the kind of comfort, food quality and service that would make this the vacation to compare all others to. It was very romantic and that was re-enforced by the staff who made it our "real honeymoon". We actually celebrated 17 years on April 17th while we were there and could not have asked for a better experience. We have experienced many of Ontario's Finest Inns and feel accommodations and food from this resort would rank high with those experiences. Dunn's River Falls, and catamaran cruise were great!. Every restaurant was a dining pleasure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Loved the hotel, location on the ocean, but

Posted Mar 16, 2015
it is a beautiful place and all the staff was very friendly and accommodating. my only complaint is that there was constant construction on the beach side and we had to walk through it every day to get to the beach, bars and restaurants. the path through was never the same. But aside from that, I would definitely go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
We had a wonderful time at Sandals Grand Riviera. We would like to say that the luxury room was much smaller than expected. The staff of Sandals is what made the stay for us. We even asked it they had to go to training to be so nice and smiling. We believe the people of Jamaica are just that way. We would stay at Sandals again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia PSA

Beach areas are very limited.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Nothing-too tired!
Cons: Cleaner lobby....
2/16/2015 Just returned from a 5 night stay and really not able to say anything favorably regarding the property. Our room was directly over a construction site with never-ending noise of machinery. The lobby in our building (Great House) was also under construction-continuous noise and last but least at breakfast my husband had a pot of coffee poured down his arm-fortunately he was not injured. His shirt however was stained and they never followed-up with cleaning as we were assured it would be provided. All of this is totally UNACCEPTABLE! This being the "peak season" for vacationers I cannot and will not recommend Sandals Grande Riviera Beach & Villa Resort to anyone going to Ocho Rios. Your facility scored a big 0! EJB
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New England

Be wary of "oceanview room"

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The room with ocean view was about 1/2 mile up on the hill. They have shuttles to get you down to a very small beach.....so pack every thing you need! The hotel had no elevators to your room or dining facilities. So we had to move to the "ocean side" of the complex to the "gardens cottage". Probably built in the 60s and lots of construction going on. We asked for a credit in that our room had no ocean view. We were offered $6. a day! Be aware that there are 42 stairs to climb to get from beach to dining, lobby or your room!!!! We signed onto Sandals Grande Riviera, while at Sandals in St. Lucia because the beach, food and facilities were wonderful. The staff was lovely and grounds beautiful in Jamaica, but that's where the Sandal's experience ended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jonathanfrom UK

Great resort

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
First time at Sandals and we were very impressed compared to the other all inclusive resorts we have visited previously. Great choice of a la carte restaurants, premium brand drinks included, very friendly staff, spotless grounds. We will return to Sandals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Detroit

Excellent Escape

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: restaurants convenient, no screaming kids, pools rowdy or quiet depending on what you felt like that day.
Cons: Steps around buildings steep, wife had trouble with some of the drops, not clearly marked.
Location: Great house - good restaurants, pool Ochi beach house - ocean cove, pool, bar
Sandals Grand Riviera - excellent location, close to ocean. Pools clean and convenient - although getting chair difficult in some locations. Food in restaurants very good. Ambiance and attentive staff great throughout.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southbay CA

Nice hotel too far from the beach

Posted Feb 16, 2015
My girlfriend and I were expecting to be on the beachside of the resort. We were not. Our room could not have been in a more busy area. Noisey to say the least. And walking up a flight of stairs to exit in the am was not fun. When we landed at the airport we were surprised to hear from the sandles employee that we had to tip the non sandles employee to take our bags to the shuttle bus to the resort. I'm 6 ft 190 and capable of rolling my own luggage. And then we had to wait for a sandles employee and tip that person to remove our luggage from the shuttle. Ridiculous. We paid a handsome fee for the trip to begin with and the costs just kept going up. We paid for an extra candlelite dinner on the beach which had to be moved into the outside restaurant due to the Mosquitos. As if this wasn't an issue before....perhaps nets in addition to the useless citronella candles. Waste of my $. If I was ever to visit this resort again it would have to be at a discounted rate and I would be sure to wear a T-shirt that said " no means no". The photographers were pushy and rude. You expect pushy sellers away from the resort but not on site. The food was 3 out of 5, at best.