Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Poor Service

Posted May 6, 2011 on Hotels.com
I rarely write a negative review on a hotel. I was always taught, if you do not have anything good to say, don't say anything. But, I feel compelled to write this one. The room was clean. I spent 2 days asking for an iron. I refuse to believe that there was one iron in the entire resort. There were cooking facilities, however, there were no pots/pans/silverware. No microwave to heat food I had to buy because I couldn't cook without cookware. The place advertise suites with cooking facilities but does not state you need to bring your own dishes/silverware/pots/pans. Had I've known, I would have chosen somewhere else to stay. Who travels out of the country with these items. When I finally got an iron, it stained and stuck to my clothes. I couldn't enjoy the pool and take in some sun because the pool was filfthy and moldy and it definitely can use a new paint job. Bottom line is I would not recommend this hotel to even my enemy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee, FL

It's good

Posted Apr 18, 2011
I liked because is clouse to the market restaurants and another things
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sand Castle Ocho Rios

Posted Apr 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
My family and I enjoyed our stay at Ocho Rios, however, the customer service at Sand Castle was not great. We were asked to pay an additional amount per night for an additional quest on arrival even though it was clearly outlined to Hotels. Com that three persons would be staying in the one bedroom suite. My daughter's room was not cleaned for the entire week because the cleaning staff did not have a key to the room. We gave the office the key several times to make a copy, but nothing happened until we complained the day before we departed. We asked for an iron board there was none, a microwave since we had a full kitchen and there was none. All our requests were basically no. No accommodation was made to facilitate our needs. Otherwise the location was the best.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Sandcastles Beach Resort Ocho Rios

Posted Apr 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
We have been waiting for service like four hours waiting. There have one bedroom and living room so the couch is not sleeping bed. My son sleep our bed because no provide for full bed in the couch. It is very not happy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

A Vacation Nightmare

Posted Dec 15, 2010
upon check-in the front desk staff was very courteous, when we arrived to our room it was not the best but you get what you pay for. we left for the day and when we returned ready to take a shower and go to bed we discovered the sheets were dirty with stains on them, the mattress was torn, the refridgerator was not working and there was no hot water. when we complained that evening the housekeeping supervisor came to the room and handed us clean sheets and we were told there was nothing they could do about the hot water that evening, also a drunk maintenance man came to assist with the refridgerator which was not plugged in. the next day we left early in the morning and were gone all day only to come back 12 hours later to find there had been no housekeeping and still no hot water. the staff stated we had the only key to the room, and we were told we could get a temporary room for the night and they would give us another room for the remainder of our trip the next day. the next room was worse, there were two twin beds pushed together as one king which had different heights, the air conditioner made a very loud noise and there was a whole tile missing where you could see the outside, the phone did not work and still no hot water. we went back to the original room and the next morning we checked out. I would not recommend this hotel to a dog as the staff is not accomodating and this place looks nothing like the advertisements.
Comment from General Manager
Jan 7, 2011 by Hotel Management, General Manager
We here at Sandcastles Resort are deeply sorry for the inconveniences the guest mentioned that they had encountered while staying with us. The last thing that we recommend is for any guest to feel dissatisfied. If at anytime our guest is dissatisfied with a room we always try to upgrade or room change them to a better one.We do not allow our staff members to drink alcoholic beverages while on the job, if this is noticed by any of our guest we "beg" for this report immediately.. The Sandcastles family looks forward to hosting you and your family in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from CT

Better than expected

Posted Sep 13, 2010
The number of beds & room size were exactly what I wanted. Very courteous staff and very helpful. The bell hop on call at time of check in was tops in the business. I didn't take time to cash out a few dollars, & when i got to the hotel, he walked with me on the street to change out a few dollars. That was beyond his job description. The only issue was morning of check out. The night before, I asked for a wake up call at 5:00am & at 6:00am, the front desk rung my room & said that my driver was downstairs. I asked what time it was & he(same guy i asked for wake up call), told me that it was 6:00am. The driver had another stop to make which worked out because he(driver) had a few extra minutes to spare. Overall I was pleased & would definely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2010 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2010 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

Not too impressed

Posted Aug 13, 2010
Was not satisfied with the beds old and rundown and the bed covers are old too needs to maintain the rooms a lot more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A nice hotel past it's prime

Posted Jul 27, 2010
The cost of staying there was a plus but maybe that's why our shower stall and face basin kept blocking up. The restaurant crew is good a one or two of the front desk folks didn't give the impression they were interested in being helpful. The maintenance and security staff were professional Our A/C unit was LOUD and made some terrifying sounds at start up!