Ratings based on 497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New york

Nice room, very slow bar service

Posted May 26, 2015
Had a great time. Small intimate beach, friendly staff, beautiful and clean room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff was great.

Posted May 25, 2015
Our vacation experience was amazing!!! Will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by Caulette, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: We are very happy to hear that your experience was amazing and we are certainly looking forward to Welcoming you Home once again. We do appreciate that you took the time to share. Warm regards, Caulette
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

This is not 4 and1/2 stars

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The beach was nice. Bar guys were on the most part friendly though I had to wait a long time for a drink
Cons: Up to management. But I stayed the same week at a 4 star that was twice as nice as this one.
Location: Location was a bit hidden. Road to hotel had pot holes and lots of pavement bumpers
Room too cold. Tv too far to see from couch bathroom didn't flush. Request to change room not accepted. Room was still not cleaned by 3 pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atl

Hopped from patio to beach

Posted May 16, 2015
Truly magnificent and wonderful!!! I am still daydreaming about my paradisic trip. You just can't beat the hospitality that Jamaicans bring. Isn't Jamaica known as one of the top 5 destined nations to visit because of the people, the culture, the hospitality and their service? I have no doubts about this statement after my visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Take me back to Secrets St. James in Montego Bay

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: STAFF STAFF STAFF AND GROUNDS AND ROOM, BEACH, ETC., ETC.,
Cons: some OF THE RUDE GUESTS
Location: No need to leave the premises....
This is the first time I have been to Jamaica...and the property was magnificent....the grounds and greenery were so well taken care of AND THE STAFF WAS UNBELIEVABLE ...THEY COULD NOT DO ENOUGH FOR ME AND I DO PLAN ON GOING BACK....my only problem is that guests use the excuse that it is "all inclusive" and do not tip the staff...which makes me very unhappy...these people work hard and deserve tips...I find the people that demand the most are the ones that do not tip. I will only book through Expedia since they give me the best service and there is never a problem with flights, room, etc. I am a senior and take these trips on my own so the kindness of the staff is always important...my room was magnificent and I loved the Jacuzzi in my bathroom...can't wait to see all the wonderful people again at the end of the year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort & excellent staff!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
My husband and I went to secret at James for our 5 year anniversary. Jamaica and the resort exceeding my expectations. The food was good, the drinks were awesome, and the atmosphere was great! The staff including glen at the pool bar and Leo were on point with drinks and service. The entertainment team including Mello, Sparks, and Baby Boy were there to make sure everyone had a great time. I will definitely go back and recommend the resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Best vacation ever!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: the location
This place has thought of everything and the staff is so friendly. So many choices for food, and activities. May only complaints are that the mini bar was not always restocked, the gym is small and gets really busy in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Caulette , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest: It is great that you loved the variety of food and activities as well as the general friendliness of staff. We do aim to provide the best and so, your positive feedback is much appreciated. Your feedback about the fitness centre and mini bar have also been noted so that improvements can be made in these areas. Thanks again for having visited our resort and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Kind regards, Christina Smith eConcierge Assistant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Home away from home..

Posted Apr 11, 2015
First time to Jamaica although family comes from there and I felt as if I've been there several times with how warm and hospitable they are. Welcomed with " Rum punch" and a cool towel. Eat until your stomach hurts! My girlfriend and I went to 3 restaurants in one night! The rooms are gorgeous and the view is to die for. Several restaurants and bars within the resort as well as a mini bar within your room Once at the pool bar you MUST SEE GLENN OR LEO or your trip won't be the same! The liveliest and funniest bartenders I've ever encountered Only down side is the fact that if you need to see a nurse ( which my gf needed to for a heat rash) you have to pay 30 USD before they can even suggest something for you.. Great live entertainment and private beach Overall wonderful trip and will visit very soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeanne from Memphis, TN

Fun Trip

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
From the minute we walked in the door our experience at Secrets St James was incredible. The staff is so friendly and wants your stay to be perfect! Our room was beautiful, food was good lots of variety, and plenty of staff to meet all your needs. Pools are beautiful and the beach was a little smaller than I thought it would be but never too crowded. All in all a fabulous get away. Would love to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

I have found my home away from home!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The service, view, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, entertainment, food, drinks, etc. It was all fantastic!
Location: I did the Luminous Lagoon excursion. I highly recommend everyone do that excursion. The most amazing experience of my life!
This place is absolutely amazing! I was treated like royalty! The staff was more than accommodating and extremely attentive to my needs, and they are very happy, quite friendly, and quick to resolve situations. My room was always clean and attended to twice a day. The view was unbelievable from every location, the beach, the restaurants, the pool, my room, etc. I was never lacking in basking in beauty while I was there. The thing I loved most was that after 11 pm, everything was quiet. I was able to sleep with my balcony door open and listen to the ocean and breeze blowing through the palm trees. The most serene experience...I will go back again and again and again!