Ratings based on 406 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great resort!!

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Really comfy beds, not required to make dinner reservations for any of the restaurants, friendly staff, great beach and pools!
Cons: The band that plays some nights was great, but I think more nightly entertainment could be improved upon.
Location: Close to the airport, 1.5 hours from Dunn's River Falls.
We've only been to one other all-inclusive resort, but we felt like Secrets St. James was amazing, if not better. The resort is smaller compared to your larger resorts, so it's less crowded, the staff remember you by name, and there isn't a need to make reservations for any of the restaurants. From doing some research, we reserved a private car for airport transfers, and couldn't have been happier with that service. Would also recommend booking a private tour through any of the local companies if you are interested in any excursions. Non-motorized water sports are free! So we took advantage of paddle boarding and snorkeling. The food at Bordeaux, Blue Mountain, & Portofino were great! El Patio was a little too salty for our tastes, but still a good experience. The breakfast buffet is decent, but nothing out of the extraordinary. The jerk chicken is spicy, and the beef patties are addicting! Appleton rum is great, and so are the Bob Marley drinks! We definitely loved this resort and highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Hotel was great and the staff was exceptional!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Hotel rooms were nice a large! The grounds were beautiful and well kept. This is one of the newer (if not the newest) all inclusive resorts in Montego Bay. Visited some of the resorts and I have to say that the staff including the entertainment staff is what made this stay exceptional. They work hard to keep you entertained, some of the staff are very talented and can sing really well for you (shout out to my man Herbie (George)) not only that but they are really personable and seem like you have been friends for a long time. Anyway Tamara and Herbie you all were awesome and my wife and I look forward to coming back and visiting again! -Travis
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Nashville Tennessee

Great place to stay for all inclusive

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Our first all inclusive vacation was great. from the check in person to the housekeepers and èven the gardeners, everyone on staff was super friendly. I liked the variety of restaurants, bars & lounges. my only suggestion is that it would have been nice to see more selection of food and desserts on the overnight menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Posted Aug 28, 2014
We stayed at St. James only because it was about $100.00 cheaper than Wild Orchid. Our room had a great view from building 3, very close to the ocean, but I didn't realize all the restaurants and entertainment were at Wild Orchid and you shared. This was not a big deal for myself, but for someone that's not able to walk long distance, I would recommend staying at Wild Orchid for convenience. Great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Beautiful resort, excellent service.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Friendly, attentive staff. Fabulous location. Good restaurants.
Location: Resort has its own private beaches with non-motorized sports included. They offer excursions off-property for an additional fee.
Excellent resort, excellent service. The staff attend to your every need. The hotel is extremely clean and well-kept. We were very happy with the resort and would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from houston,tx

Beautiful resort. .

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Food staff and entertainment and most of all, all adult.
Cons: View from room.
Location: We went sailing.
Only negative, no ocean view from room due to trees. Loved the staff who were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bugkeepsie N.Y

5 stars and beyond

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Very professional staff. Beach and pools was perfect. No problems with security issues. No attitude with employees. The resort is beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Food was good could have been a little better
Hotel was Beautiful clean staff was great no complaints at all would go back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Will return.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Entertainment was great.
Cons: Better training for the bar staff at the larger pools and the night club. Especially the night club staff, they need to be more attentive to all guest
Spent three nights at Secrets St. James in August to relax after enjoying the Dream Weekend festivities in Negril for six days. The majority of the staff were great, the resort is well maintained, the food was good and the nightly entertainment was awesome. The only unpleasant experience we had was with the bartenders in the nightclub. They need to be more attentive to all the hotel guests and don't walk away taking repeated breaks, standing around away from the bar when the bar is packed with guests trying to get drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Beautiful resort. For the most part there were no issues and most of the staff was great.