Ratings based on 361 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful place with a great beach.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The Hotel was great. The staff is very slow at dinner. That's the only downside. I would recommend it to every couple!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Outstanding Resort!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The room, food, drink, beach, pool, and staff.
Cons: I'm trying to think of something...oh yeah the prices in the gift shop are really high as opposed to out in town.
Location: The location is great, right on the beach in a pristine part of Montego Bay!
The rooms were very nice and comfortable. The restaurants are top notch! My favorite was the Bordeaux. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, everything was "No problem mon". Highlight of the trip was the Horseback riding excursion, booked through Chukka tours!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach!!!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Awesome hotel. Friendly staff. We went here for our honeymoon and had a great time!!! I highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect vacation

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Great vacation perfect pool, perfect beach, perfect service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Folsom CA

Beautiful hotel, but hotel staff needs work

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The hotel is beautiful, landscaping is excellent, the pool and the beach is beautiful. The service is one star out of five. The workers I have no idea what customer service should look like. Almost all female staff is rude. Guys are okay. The hotels need to improve the quality of their food. The World Cafe is good the breakfast, and Italian restaurant is cool. The other 7 hotels are probably two stars out of 5. The biggest issue is staff, we will not return or recommend because the staff is not well trained on basic customer service, like smiling. It is unfortunate because if the staff was trained the hotel would be 5 stars out of 5, oh and if the hotel restaurants had better food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale

Beautiful Hotel.....Wonderful Staff

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Everything was great The piano Bar was awesome.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We were close to the airport, there was no need to leave the hotel...Everything was available on site.
The setting was beautiful, The hotel was well staffed and everything went smoothly. The staff was courteous, helpful.....Cust. Service @ its best. Troy - Waiter @ blue Mountain was an excellent waiter, he was kind, patient and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vouchers

Posted Jul 4, 2014
The vouchers you receive when you check in should be used any way you want instead of specific things. Other than that everything is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best experience and vacation I have ever had.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The service, the food, the location, the staff, and the price was all wonderful
Cons: The food when ordering room service. It is an ovoids drop off and differentiation between hotel room service food and the food in the restaurants.
Location: Mayfield falls
Everything was excellent! I enjoyed the scenery, the hotel staff was pleasant , everything is easy to comprehend and follow. Perfect get away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N. Tonawanda, NY

Secrets should not be kept a secret

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Secrets has beautiful clean accommodations, a plethora of food & drink, personable & helpful staff, gorgeous well-kept grounds w/ wildlife preserved
Cons: Checkin could have been smoother, room fridge not stocked regularly, concierge not always available & friendly, transportation to/from hotel expensive
Being Sandals members, we were very skeptical about staying at a Secrets. However, we found a great deal for Secrets St. James Montego Bay. Upon arrival, we were offered cocktails and snacks. The room was not ready, so they directed us to one of the all-inclusive restaurants, where we ate a quick lunch. By the time we were finished, we were able to check in and go to our room. When we entered our room, we were amazed. It was just as beautiful as the pictures on the internet and more spacious than it appeared on the computer. We were very impressed. There was a whirlpool bathtub, shower, large double sink vanity, and private bathroom that could all be separated in the open layout with a curtain. A giant bed, big screen tv, couch, table and chairs in a suit-like setting. There was a private hot tub on the porch, with a table and chairs to sit at and enjoy watching the pool and ocean OR sit with the peacocks, friendly kitties, and wildlife that are literally right at your sliding glass door step! There were two infinity pools in our VIP section, one heated and one unheated. We used both. The food was delicious, with many choices including Italian, French, Chinese, & Mexican. The dining staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The beaches in Montego Bay are more rocky & less spacious than Negril, but there wear plenty of beach to walk along. Long story short, we ended up becoming Vacation Club members at Secrets. Secrets is comparable to Sandals…it's that wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington,DC

nice hotel ideal location

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Cons: better response to noise complainants
food was great excellent service, had one negative experience with the quest located in the room next to mine the night before we were to check out . Evidently the quest went to the the disco and left the television on blasting the music at 12 midnight, several calls were made to the front desk to no avail. Had to wait until the quest finally came back to the room for relief.