Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from wisconsin

Perfect!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Entire experience was amazing. Staff were extremely pleasant and genuinely wanted you to have a good time. Food was excellent (except desserts). Highly recommend.
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest: It was our pleasure to have been given the opportunity to host you for your recent vacation. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and food. I am happy that you had a great stay overall and must also thank you for your recommendation of us. Best Regards, Christina Smith eConcierge Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by kevin from michigan

Very nice resort

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Resort was kept up well. Drinks were fantastic.
Cons: Food was not great.
Location: Close to airport. We never left the resort.
Our room was in great condition and bed was comfortable. The drinks were fantastic and most bartenders were very entertaining. The food was not great. Breakfast was consistently good, lunch options are not great and most sandwiches, burgers, hot dogs did not taste very good. The jerk chicken cart was great. We ate dinner at the French, Italian and Japanese steak house. The Italian was good and the others were very average. Most of the wait staff didn't seem to care much about our experience/service. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. I did not appreciate Omar trying to sell us a " time share" when we first arrived. He tried giving us a guilt trip for not attending the 90 minute presentation/breakfast on the first morning of our stay.
Comment from
Jan 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your experience at our resort. I am pleased that you, like many other guests, enjoyed the jerk chicken as well as the location and atmosphere provided. We do value all feedback very much as we do reference them for making improvements to our services overall. With that said, we do appreciate your honest opinions concerning your food and the service given by our wait staff. Your comments have been forwarded to the relevant department heads and necessary changes will be implemented to improve these areas. Thank you for having visited our resort. Best Regards, Christina Smith eConcierge Assistant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christi from New York

2 Vegans in Paradise (mostly)

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds, good staff, perfect place for peaceful vacation.
Cons: Facilities are starting to show wear and tear. Doesn't always live up to 5-star luxury in some areas of service.
Overall, we had a wonderful experience. First, we were really pleased with the way the resort handled our dietary needs. If you are vegetarian or vegan, you can make it work with just a little bit of effort and open communication. We were very pleased with our room (1410). We opted for the Preferred Club to enjoy the services of the concierges as well as the smaller and quieter pool/beach area. The room was beautiful but definitely showing signs of wear and tear. It did not hinder our vacation, except that I was a little creeped out by the parade of tiny ants on the railing of our balcony. The property itself is starting to show some wear and tear. They are certainly taking good care of the property, but it may soon be time for a renovation. The beaches were clean, as were the pools. We never had a problem having towels or finding chairs with umbrellas. In general, the employees were friendly and helpful. We tipped fairly often, though it was rare that we felt any sort of pressure to do so (mostly the bellhops). My massage at the spa was excellent. The women's locker room was luxurious and well appointed. My one quibble was that the spa is not particularly quiet. I could hear all sorts of banging, clanging, and conversation in the hallway -- not really what one expects in a spa experience. There are entertainment options each day, but we were there to simply unwind and relax. In a nutshell, we had a fantastic vacation and would recommend the resort to others
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenn from Annapolis, MD

Pleasantly Surprised

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff - pleasant and friendly always trying to ensure we were having a great time. The resort was beautiful and well maintained.
Cons: I would give the food a 7/10. But they did have great variety. One evening I didn't love my dinner so we just went to another restaurant easy fix.
This was our first stay at an all-inclusive and we had a blast! We typically try to fit in as much site-seeing as we can when we travel to another country trying to get a feel for the culture but decided after 4 kids in 2 1/2 years that we would be well served by doing "nothing". My husband typically does not do well doing "nothing" and even he had a great time! While we both enjoyed relaxing by the beach, we also enjoyed enough activities to keep my husband busy like kayaking, taking out the Hobie Cat, the swim out snorkel, the gym, yoga and had several delicious cocktails to boot. It was exactly what we needed and we would return again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sheila from TN

Very nice resort with a great beach

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: I like the hotel being all inclusive. It was very nice and very clean. We stayed in the Wild Orchid Preferred Club worth the extra money!
This was a great vacation at a great resort. There were plenty of options for food and drink. The hotel and beach were very clean. If I wanted to really search for something to critique I would say Bordeaux was not worth the wait and the spa was just OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from South Carolina

Excellent all-inclusive resort

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Cons: The music on Thursday night was too loud and lasted too late into the evening.
Location: Plenty to do at poolside or the ocean (snorkel, kayak, scuba, sailing, etc.)
Rooms were spacious with a double-sink, shower, and a garden tub; along with a private balcony overlooking the beautiful blue-green ocean. All restaurants had great menus; many restaurants overlooked the ocean, and even the poolside grills had a large salad bar and great food. Drinks and food were available at poolside or at the beach. The staff everywhere you went were friendly and helpful. Every detail about this resort was exquisite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mrs. Stott from Charles Town, WV

The perfect romantic getaway!

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Seriously? Everything! I would not change a single thing...not one. It was perfect!
Cons: No need to improve anything. Secrets Wild Orchid Preferred Club has it nailed!
Location: Location is right on the sea and we stayed within the resort. Plenty of evening/nightly entertainment.
From the booking of the trip to the flight home, everything was absolutely flawless! The resort, staff, room, amenities, food, weather, EVERYTHING was top-notch and PERFECT! The bed and pillows were so incredibly comfortable, I slept so well each night! We had upgraded to the preferred club and highly recommend doing so. We felt like we had made friends with the staff members, everyone was so happy and wore the most gorgeous smiles. Joseph greeted us at the main entrance and saw us off as we departed. Loved this man! Karnellia was extremely helpful and friendly upon check out. The food...to die for! Blue Mountain was our favorite and the breakfast buffet had so many choices. I can't say enough to convey how incredibly happy we were to have experienced this vacation. We can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carolina Gal from NC

Jamaica vacation in January

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Great Trip! 80-87┬░daily while back home in North Carolina 20 & below. Food excellent but buffet dinners occasionally. Otherwise, menu with few choices sm portions. Pref. Club rms nice but dealt with mosquitoes (perhaps while room attendants tidied up daily). Bathroom Stahl very small with little privacy from your roommate/spouse/ partner. Lobby chairs in Club breakfast/reception area only made for med to small sized folks due to enclosed arm rest. Overall still Relaxing & Beautiful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mindie from Pittsburgh

2nd stay with the Secrets chain

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Hotel was perfectly located although the beach was small and did not allow for those nice long walks on the beach. Snorkeling was easily done with the reefs right there and lots of fish and starfish. Even saw a large lobster one night! Restaurants were no problem and the food was delicious and we are pretty critical of restaurant quality. The staff was superb a handful of bartenders and servers genuinely went above and beyond and recognized you daily all over the resort. The housekeeping however needs some improvement. They never filled the mini bar and only a portion of the towels and clothes were restocked when needed. You have a DND light but they knocked when on and once entered while we were out but still had the light on and when we needed them to come they didn't. I would definitely stay again! First trip was Secrets Capri and held our expectations high with that one and they met them again in Montego Bay. Upgrade to the preferred club if you get a deal but it was great without it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenni from Dayton, OH

Paradise

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Everything!!
Cons: Add a nice salad bar at lunch. We also wanted a good hamburger (we're American after all!). The burgers tasted a lot like soy burgers.
Location: We didn't leave the property!! If we had been there one more day, we would have gone to Margaritaville or to Dunn's River. The property is gorgeous.
We came to the Wild Orchid for a long weekend (Jan 8-12) and didn't want to leave. We stayed in the regular section, but requested a room on a higher floor overlooking the pool, which we had read was the best view. When we arrived, we upgraded to get Preferred privileges. Even though we did not stay on the preferred side, we were able to use their facilities. The regular pool was the party pool, and we really enjoyed it from mid-morning to early afternoon, when they had dance contests, fashion shows, and just all around lots of fun. Later in the afternoon (after a few cocktails), we often ventured over to the quieter preferred side, where we could rest by the pool or sit in a shaded cabana overlooking the ocean. We also appreciated their afternoon snacks. We LOVED the staff. Everyone was super friendly, and were willing to chat as much (or as little) as you liked. Tipping is not required, but they were always appreciative. Bring $1s and $5s. We had $20, and quickly realized we were going to run out of money quickly if we tipped everyone that much...service was everywhere, and it was impeccable. We also thought the food was pretty good. We had some excellent meals (italian), and some ok meals (lunch was so-so...go for the jerk chicken cart guy or a jerk chicken wrap). Overall, it is now our favorite vacation destination...we started researching our next vacation on the plane!!! Enjoy!!!