Ratings based on 1,804 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Towels and bed sheets were like sand paper.

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Everything. This hotel needs a full makeover.
Location: The location is lovely. But everything is run down.
The room was dirty and rundown. There were leaks on the walls that left the floor wet. The base of the toilet leaked and left that floor wet. The sheets and towels were hard and rough. The bed was like a cement board. The pool water was dirty and foggy. They charged extra for everything. The food was bland and horrible. I will never go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

Great hotel right on beach, great food, great room

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Beautiful beach, great food, very spacious room and bathroom, great pools, friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom connecticut

Sunset Resort

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Nice beach, great snorkeling right at the hotel. Bring a cup if you want a drink bigger than 7oz. Food was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario Canada

Great location and perfect resort size

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Service / food / location
Cons: ?
Location: Lots to do on the resort and included in cost.
The beach is steps from all other activities but without the distraction of a lot of noise. There are enough spaces that you can be as far away from or close to the action as much as you like. The staff go out of their way to service you. We were impressed with how very hard and enthusiastically the staff does work. The entertainment staff, in particular, work long days and with smiles!!!! Beautiful bay and sunset views from 'beachview rooms'.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom NewYork

Great Getaway location if you have kids

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Bar on the pool.
Cons: Sit down dinners - We arrived late on Saturday and by Sunday 12:00pm we could not get reservations to any of the three choices available
Location: Margaritaville
All inclusive package was a plus, great place for kids to enjoy water park, pool, beach and water sports all at one location. The extras were expensive. Food was nothing to rave about, the beach BBQ was awesome. A lot of cocktails, however the quality of alcohol was not that great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom '

Experience

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Great place full of wonderful staff that really know how to make your stay fun and full of joy! Lots of excursions and opportunities to leave the resort and explore but also plenty of activities and games on the resort and great entertainment every night at dinner. Absolutely loved my visit and will be back for longer next time! Garcia, Dionne, and Tony were a few of our favorite bartenders. Great people, super nice!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa, USA

Good food, great reef snorkeling

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: It was not hours in the taxi from the airport like many resorts along the north coast. It's just through Montego Bay proper to the Freeport peninsula.
Cons: Self-service beer, like they have for the soda, or an additional bartender.
Location: It's close to a mile walk to the house boat restaurant, otherwise grab a cab to the "hip strip", other shopping or Scotchie's. Negril is a jaunt.
It was a very pleasant stay. Although, I'm not a fan of the "high-rise" experience due to inevitable waiting on the elevator, I enjoyed a great view from my west-side 9th floor room where I spent very little time. If you do a lot of trekking back to the room, a lower floor could more readily be accessed via the stairs? The resort was clean and the staff was friendly and efficient. (Most folks would agree that every resort could use "one more bartender"!) There's a water slide and "lazy river" that would be great if you had children in tow. There's a separate "family" pool which was where the "animation" staff hung-out. Two other pools are joined by a swim-up bar - oh, that delicate balance of chlorine and urine. Not for me, thanks! The food and the coffee was good and, of course, the Red Stripe was cold and on-tap. There's a lot of concrete on this resort. The beach was okay and there's a shallow reef a very short swim from shore that was awesome. This property is separated into two resorts, I stayed at the cheaper of the two, Sunset Beach. Guests at the pricier section could enjoy all offerings. What I could tell that I missed-out on was: Red Stripe in bottles, more restaurant choices and the guest rooms appeared to be in two story buildings. I didn't bother with the restaurants to which I had access and the buffet was very suitable. I'd go back there again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brooklyn

Wonderfu

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Had a ball!! Want to visit again! Staff was very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Very friendly staff ready to help Beautiful beach area. Kid friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

April Vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff- every one of them! We didn't meet anyone who didn't have a smile on their face. We were always being asked if we needed anything.
Cons: The room and bathrooms are in need of an update. Bedding/pillows and blankets should be updated.
Location: We didn't leave the resort even though we had planned on it. There were theme nights that our families wanted to attend that made us stay.
We returned last night from a week's vacation at this resort. Initially we were a little disappointed with the look of the hotel and the fact that it is in need of an update (room décor, bedding, bathroom overhaul). But, I have to say the hotel staff did an amazing job with keeping our room and bathroom clean and smelling fresh. The hotel facility is managed by a wonderful staff of employees who appear to truly love their job. From the minute we walked in the lobby we felt welcomed. We read prior reviews that stated that the drinks were watered down and the food was terrible. We did not find that to be the case at all. In fact, some of the drinks that were made for us were too strong. We loved Tony and Clifton as our bartenders!! Hats off to the entertainment staff- we had many laughs each day as they involved guests in their daily list of activities. We were happy to say we witnessed the Sunset Beach staff's first loss in Flip Cup! Our kids- ages 9 to 15 met other kids their age and spent the day running from one activity to the other. In their eyes it was "the best vacation ever".