Ratings based on 1,339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germantown M.D.

Run down!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Very old and run down resort. Dirty musty and humid rooms, pool area dirty and run, empty cups and plates left out for hours. Food cold and bland! WiFi suck, alcohol drinks weak and nasty. Warm beer and wine. Who serves warm white wine!!! The list goes on and on. U get what u pay for. I will never stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

TERRIBLE!!!!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: This hotel has potential to be a great place if managed right.
Cons: EVERYTHING...Definately in need of a major overhaul. Need waiter/waitress service on the beach, better food selection, a more enthusiastic staff.
Location: Great location, near Dunns River Falls.
Wish I would have known the hotel was closing down in a few weeks and getting a major renovation. What a disappointment is all I can say. Dirty floors, stained carpets, terrible service and/or no service at all. Sofa's in lobby were worn and torn, awful, just awful. Elevators were the WORST!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N.Y

Disappointment

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The workers tried very hard to please the guest but were short handed One cook One bartender ect......
Cons: Food. . Service. Elevators. More staff
Location: Ocean. Is beautiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from md

Hotel operated like a recession

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The bathroom was dark, only 1 bulb in a 2 bulb fixture. Most of the plug sockets were covered, you pay for wifi but can only use it in there lobby, you have to get a voucher to get a towels for the pool & if you don't return the voucher you will be charged $15 per voucher, you only get 2 sets of towel even though they are 4 people in the room. There buffet was limited and they only served jamaican food at breakfast & very little at dinner. I would give Sunset Jamaica Grande a 1 out of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Nice hotel, multiple pools, shows some age around

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The elevators were fast, large open areas, shows age in hallways, north tower bar was never opened during out stay, Staff was very friendly always nic
Cons: The resort is going to be closed in August to be remodeled from what we have been told, new owners. You would think that they would serve seafood? ..
Location: 1 1/2 hours from airport, located in Ocho Rios, Shopping, Dunns river falls, Dolphin cove, Mystic mountain are all close by.
There are two hotel towers at Sunset Jamaica Grande the north and south, the north has 11 floors, the south has 15. The north appears to be more aged, the south, have been told was remodeled, from what I saw it was a bit more modern than the 70's in which this place was built. The elevators were fast in the north tower to the rooms. Room was nice, clean anyway, was a bit aged however, but not bad had a few updates and small balcony with small round plastic table and only one plastic chair. Air conditioner worked well. Took a bit to get hot water to the shower but it was hot when you need to take shower, at any time. The bed was ok, not my own you know, nothing like home. There were things to do like snorkeling, wind surfing, kayaking, swimming, even a large slide, which there were two and only the green slide was operating at the time we were there, don't know why the white slide was not, both out of a light house building. There were bars which you could swim up to in two pools, the deepest pool was 1.45 meters (not quite 5 feet). Also you could reserve diner times at five different restaurants, La Diva, South tower grill, Asian, Seafood (which was an extra 35 dollars per person), why I don't know and the Terrace (which was a combo of all the restaurants but seafood, they had a dress code in like three of them. You make the reservations at the guest desk area in main lobby. The bars had a drink of the day, however we noticed that the same drink not alike...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Ok food. Bad entertainment. Great pools. Nice water slide. Ok restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Needs remodeling, building falling apart

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Everything
Location: In the center of town
This hotel is in disrepair. The tiles were falling off the walls. Front desk, Guest services and management refused to answer the phone. The food was horrible, Spanish rice, BBQ chicken and old veggies were served everyday. Shut This Place Down!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Had I known Better

Posted Jul 12, 2014
I don't usually partake in reviews but this horrible experience warranted a feedback. The facilities were in very, very poor condition. I purchased a total of 4 rooms for a family vacation and had to apologize everyday for making such a poor choice. Additionally, the staff was not professional and the service was even worst. I challenge a representative of Expedia to stay there for two days. I guarantee Expedia would no longer list Sunset Jamaica Grande on their website.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenacres FL

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Jul 10, 2014
My mom and I have been going to this hotel for a couple of years this was her sixth visit and my fourth. You really get your moneys worth and the food is out of this world.we were told that they have sold the property and they will be getting new owners I hope they will keep this hotel affordable so we can continue to go back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Super fun staff...

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The staff is what made this trip the best. The entertainment staff was above and beyond. Lots of activities for all ages and kept things going from morning till night!!!