Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by isabel from vancouver

Nice hotel on a hill with fabulous views

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The views are fabulous, the staff friendly, the food excellent.
Cons: Better room maintenance and attention to little details.
Location: Dunns River and Dolphin Cove are fairly close
This is a training hotel - most of the staff are getting practical experience to go along with the theory they have learned in the classrooms (which are at the back of the same property). Service levels can therefore vary but overall the staff are friendly and anxious to please. Unfortunately there were a couple of problems in my room that housekeeping should have done something about before I checked in, but they were not enough to impact my overall impressions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Marilyn B

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nicely maintained old-style charmer, located on the hills overlooking Runaway Bay. Beautiful gardens, beautiful views. Excellent staff. Very comfortable rooms. Quiet and off the main drag, but close enough to the beach and other attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Simon Bunting from Kingston

Great Location

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fantastic spacious room & great value. Will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marjorie Lowe from NYC

Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great! Staff was warm, accommodating and professional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sonya L. from NJ

Awesome

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2014
The only problem that I had with this hotel is that they had our check out day wrong. When my husband and I went to go to our room after a long day out, our key to the room didn't work. Went to the front desk to see what was happening that is when we found out that they had made an error and thought we were supposed to check out on that day. Another thing is that when we finally got back into the room we saw that the room hadn't been cleaned because of this, which was a major inconvenience to us. Spoke with the supervisor and he was very sorry about it and so on. This was my only complaint with the hotel. Other than that I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Winston from Atlanta, Ga

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
My room was upstairs from the kitchen and it was very noisy. from very early in the morning to late at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Theresa from CT,USA

Gem!!!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
The hotel is a nice casual laid back hotel but the rooms are very nice and modern and cozy. Location is out of the way which is nice to get away from hustle and bustle. Food very pricey which is my only negative. Key card system works well and gives no problem getting into room at first try. Second time my mother and I have stayed there but took my daughter who was pleasantly surprised after three days in all inclusive resort. We all would definitely recommend and will be staying there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice view from the hill

Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
All the staff at the Cardiff were very kind and welcoming, if not terribly informed about the sites in the area (e.g., they were totally unsure about what time Dunn's River Falls opened). In general, we found the hotel grounds perched on a hill overlooking the ocean to be very peaceful and beautiful, but the surrounding neighborhood down at sea level felt a little dicey, especially once the sun went down. Unfortunately, the hotel staff couldn't recommend anywhere to eat closer than Ocho Rios (1/2 hour drive east) so we were on our own to explore since we didn't particularly want to eat at the hotel restaurant, which was pricey, as you'd expect. Our room was comfortable with lots of pillows and a great balcony, but there was a slight mildew smell when we got there. Fortunately after we opened all the doors to the balcony it dissipated for the most part. We stayed for one night only and it suited our needs. It's not the most luxurious place, but it's cozy and except for what I've already mentioned, we didn't really have any complaints.