Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Stacie from Clovis, CA

DISCUSTING!!!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: NOTHING!!!
Cons: BURN IT DOWN! If not that...how about try burning all the carpets in all the rooms and getting new carpets for starters! New mattresses!
OMG!!! Okay, I know I wanted to save some money for my family by trying to stay near the Santa Cruz boardwalk so we could walk to it instead of having to park. WRONG!!!! It's worth the frickin $12 parking pass instead of this place. DO NOT STAY HERE. I saw the Comfort Suits about two blocks away and wanted to MOVE sooooo bad but didn't want to loose or money. SO bummed from this stay. The beds were uncomfortable and GROSS! The bathroom and SHOWER WAS SMALL!!! The room was facing an alley and there were homeless people outside our window. Oh yeah...you had to PAY FOR ICE!!!!! YOU GOT THAT PEOPLE...YOU HAD TO PAY TO GET ICE FOR YOUR BUCKET IN YOUR ROOM!!!! NEVER EVER HAD THAT BEFORE!!!! CRAZY! Lets not forget the PEE STAINS on the carpet ALL OVER....I didn't allow my kids to take off their shoes and socks. Don't bother changing rooms because they WERE ALL LIKE THAT!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kevin from Sacramento, Ca

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was great. Rooms were very clean and the location was perfect. Within walking distance to the boardwalk and downtown. Good price for a one-night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert from Sweden

Ok for the money and location

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The motel is in an area with many motels, located only a 10 minute walk from the boardwalk. The room was clean. The furniture was very old and worn and it had an old tube TV. If you are ok with that I am sure you will like it. We were happily surprised that the two queen beds were in separate bedrooms. Breakfast was like most of these types of motels... lots of sugar... awful juice and coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jarrod from Vancouver

December visit

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean, but outdated. The bathroom was the nicest part of the room having been recently redone. Free parking was very convienient and with a car the hotel was relatively close to everything. Not the best for walking from to get downtown or to the pier as you walk past some less desirable parts of town. Breakfast was enough to get you started, but not substantial or healthy. All in all it was a decent stay for the price if most of your time is spent taking in the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jenn from Bay Area, CA

Close to the beach but not the best room.

Posted Jul 20, 2013
This hotel is a five minute walk from the SC Boardwalk and it isn't a bad room. The only thing that we had a problem with was that the walls were so thin and we could hear everything that the people in the room next to us were doing. From pushing the buttons on their microwave to the lines that were being said in the TV show and their personal conversation. And they were up all night and even when we woke up the next morning. If I wasn't so tired, I wouldn't have been able to fall asleep. But, maybe all of the rooms aren't like that. I don't know. Other than that, it really was a decent hotel to stay at within easy walking distance to the boardwalk and other nice walking areas.
2 out of 5
by Shelly from Castro valley, ca

Worst case senerio Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Location: The location was ten minutes walking sistance to Santa Cruz boardwalk.
I recently stayed at the Americas Best Value Inn and it was an overpriced, low quality experience. The room was small, shower had sand in it from the last hotel guest, paint in restroom was peeling, staff was unpleasant, and the carpet looked as if it hasn't been vacuumed in weeks. For the expensive price we had payed to stay there, I'd assume they would be more clean and welcoming but they weren't. Worst case senerio stay there, if you have another option I'd most likely go with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA

Nice comfortable stay!

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Parking was ample and spacious. Also beds were comfortable
Cons: Bathroom shower was really old & dingy
Location: 7 on scale of 10. Not bad, not great.
A little old/dated, but kept up in good condition. Very clean and no riff raff. Beds were very comfortable. It is NOT two blocks from the Boardwalk, more like 8-10 blocks, but still very walkable. Would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Traveller from CA

Will not stay here again

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Quite disappointed especially given the price (yes, I know it is in the middle of summer). When the internet did not work, the staff gave me a number to call, and said they could not do anything themselves. Terrible breakfast--rudimentary to the extreme.
1 out of 5
by ReRe from Sacramento, CA

SC Beach Boardwalk & all nearby hotels are a dump!

Posted Jul 6, 2012
Pros: The TV worked although the room has an old funky odor
Cons: located in Gangsterville on Thug Street
Location: located in the center of Filthyville
Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk is a rundown dirty place. I used to go there on field trips as a kid and it used to be fun. NOT ANYMORE. The place is filled with gangsters now too, so in addition to being completely filthy, it does not feel safe at all. Don't bring your kids to Santa Cruz. This hotel was among the nicest that were near the Boardwalk and it too was rundown. The worst hotels by Disneyland are better than the best hotels by the Boardwalk. Save up your money and go to Disneyland. Don't go to any hotel near the Boardwalk, do not go to the Boardwalk!