Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from temecula, ca

stayed only because it was monterey, ca

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: bed was comfy
Cons: everything. the place is so out dated.
Location: location ok. not to many food places.
Place is old and dirty. Pool area was dark and scary. Continental breakfast was so sorry
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great Location, Great Rates, Friendly Desk Staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I liked that it was close to Hwy 1, the mall, and the rest of Monterey; clean bed and bathroom, big mini-fridge, friendly staff. Great price.
Cons: CLEAN THOSE CARPETS – so gross! Fix the back door, put a fence between the street and the walkway.
Location: Close to Hwy 1, which takes you to Carmel, Pebble Beach, etc., close to the mall and all the Monterey touristy stuff.
I needed a slightly early check-in (like 30 minutes early), and they were happy to allow that. When we walked into the room for a two-night stay, I was pleased to see that it looked and smelled clean. The bathroom was clean. There was a really nice flat screen TV with plenty of HGTV for me to binge on while I worked all day on my laptop. I was really happy with our stay until I saw the bottoms of our feet on Day 2. Holy heck – they seriously need to clean those carpets. I was appalled at how dirty the bottoms of our feet were. My three-year-old son was playing with toys on the floor, so the bottoms AND tops of his feet were black with dirt. Also, there were sliding glass doors leading out to basically a shared walkway behind all the rooms, with no enclosing fence to keep you from walking straight out to the busy street – not cool when you have little kids who know how to open sliding doors. There was a screen door that didn't really close and was pretty beat up. I would have loved to open the glass door and get some fresh air in the room, but my kids could have (and would have) opened that screen door and gone straight out to the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Newcastle England

Lovely classic motel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Waffles, hot tub, good sheets,staff
Cons: Very little for what it is
Location: Walk down to thw wharfe. Lots of places giving you samples of their clam chowder!
Very friendly helpful staff. Great hot tub and nice pool stayed open floodlit til 10pm. Easy walk into town and wharfe etc. really good breakfast- especially the waffle maker. We thought it really good value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Questionable ...

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Changed to another hotel the next day .... old facility ... staff OK, but not what I would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Made the mistake of coming to Monterey without a reservation at a hotel. Came to find out that there was a ton of stuff going on around town and hotels were sold out. Made some calls to various hotels to no avail. Finally, decided to try Expedia. Very happy they had "one room left". Paid wayyyy tooooo much per night. So NOT worth it for this little Mom and Pop hotel but when you are desperate, they get ya. Not horrible, just NOT worth what we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Budget friendly

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Broken coffee pot was replaced immediately. Clean linens. Nice TV. Free WiFi. We were allowed to park our motorcycle next to the room door.
Cons: Provide bigger coffee pots. Update decor and refurbish.
Location: Convenient to Wharf and Aquarium.
The hotel is old and simple. the negative: Hair on bathroom counter. Coffee pot is very small, good for 2 mugs of coffee and that's it. Coffee pot was broken. Main office had dirty breakfast tables. Coffee spills on the office counter. Nobody behind the counter to check out. The positives: Coffee pot was replaced immediately. Clean linens. Nice TV. Free WiFi. We were allowed to park our motorcycle next to the room door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
It was just ok for the price and being in Monterrey is very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from No. Calif.

Not bad

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The bed was very comfortable, breakfast wasn't bad, better than just muffins and juice, good size TV in room, mini fridge worked great.
Cons: The sliding door to the patio needs help
Location: Munras Ave is convenient for exploring Monterey and Carmel easy access to Hwy 1
One has to wonder about reviews from others. The prices in Monterey are all much higher than they should be. I was worried with the room right up against Munras Ave. The road noise was not that bad. My wife and I slept great. The pool was a good size. Motel staff pleasant to deal with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel - Monterey is lovely

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Basic hotel - we used this hotel as a stopover - Monterey is well worth a visit - try and visit the Fishhopper Restaurant - amazing food and great view
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Too many things went wrong.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
The refrigerator didn't work, the bathtub did not have an adequate plug in order to give my toddler a bath, the hot water knob did not work properly (water was extremely hot or too cold), the blower dryer shorted out while trying to dry my hair, the hot tub was luke warm, my husband woke up with an extremely sore back complaining that the bed was too firm and he could feel the strings.