Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Different, quirky, a breath of fresh air

Posted Aug 28, 2014
This is a lovely place, a pretty group of buildings nestling under a cliff right in the middle of town. It's quiet (except for a few minutes on garbage collection morning!) and feels very secluded even though it's just 2 blocks from Highway 1 and a 15 minute stroll form either the wharf or downtown. We had the Tennyson Suite as this included a sofabed for the kids, and we were relieved it was above the lobby so that no other guests would be disturbed by the patter of not-so-tiny feet in the morning. Very comfortable and roomy, we all slept well. The kids loved playing in the garden and we enjoyed the aperitif (wine and simple snacks) each evening. Staff were lovely and very helpful. Lots of nice touches to make sure you enjoy Santa Cruz - maps, directions, restaurant recommendations and menus. We'd happily stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful Gem in Santa Clara

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was served within a specific time period, instead of AT a specific time.
Cons: We found the temperature to be a little on the warm side, the room didn't have air conditioning sothe traffic noise came in through the open windows.
Location: Right around the corner is a really nice bakery called Emily's.
We're two old friends who booked this inn for our "Lovely 50th Birthday Adventure" across the central coast of California. This beautiful inn located a little off the beaten path in Santa Clara was just delightful! We arrived a little late in the evening and were greeted and shown to our room. The room was lovely and more than comfortable. We lingered over our breakfast the next morning in a lovely room and then enjoyed the grounds before heading on down the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Love This Bed and Breakfast!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Loved everything!
Location: As you will see in other reviews, it is by a busy road.You do get traffic noise until around midnight . I just put in earplugs and slept fine.
I had stayed here 22 years ago and was a little worried about what I might find. I was pleasantly surprised to see that everything had been nicely maintained. The rooms and grounds were kept up and were very pretty. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous, and efficient. If you go make sure you arrive by 5 for wine and cheese. They put out an amazing spread of fruit, cheeses, nuts, flavored oils, vinegars, bread cubes, crackers, olives, alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks, and they also made bruschetta the night we were there! It was delicious! Then they have fresh baked cookies for snacking or dessert! They have little tables, chairs, and benches tucked all around the property so you can enjoy the gardens, large coastal redwoods and the large water wheel on the grounds. Another nice detail was a Keurig machine in the room and a rubber ducky in the bathtub! I loved this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from antioch,ca.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Very green and lush landscape. Close to mission street in one direction. And within walking distance to beach, and food.
Cons: Breakfast
Wonderful staff. very helpful. Didn't care for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, beautiful grounds and great breakfast bar
Cons: window tintiing on higher windows to block out light. Upstairs rooms have a only one fire escape other than jumping off the balcony terrace outside
was overall a nice pleasant experience and would stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Matthew from Edmond, OK

Very Beautiful

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The balcony was great. The landscaping, on a scale of 1-10, is a 20. The table and 2 chairs in the rooms are a nice touch. The waterwheel is great.
Cons: More savory dishes on the breakfast offerings would be nice.
Location: Downtown area is a walk of a few blocks. It is very robust.
My wife was thrilled when the staff person showed us our room. The decor and layout are terrific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Amanda from California

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This quaint little place is not for the party scene of SC. If you want a quiet oasis with a gorgeous view than hurry up and book a room! The best kept secret of Santa Cruz! This is the kind of place you want to keep a secret and keep it all to yourself!! So serene and yet close distance to everything Santa Cruz has to offer. For those of you who are used to a Holiday Inn type stay then you wouldnt enjoy this place, it has much more character than you would be willing to appreciate. The garden is lovely, the tub was relaxing, the views and privacy were both appreciated and welcomed and the breakfast, well it topped off the whole stay! Nothing like taking it to your private patio and sipping a cup of fresh coffee to start any day on a good note! Recommended stay, cant wait to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa and Mike from Canterbury, UK

Enchanting hotel - something different

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Setting - wooden buildings with separate room and small balcony overlooking the gardens. Staff - very friendly and helpful with any questions we had
Cons: Nothing we can think of
Location: Easy to find just off main road into Santa Cruz. Plenty of parking. Walk or short drive into Santa Cruz centre or into prettyy Capitola
This is a delightful, different establishment with very friendly staff and a lovely setting. Our room was characterful, beautifully presented and clean, with classical music playing in the room when we arrived, adding to the relaxed and pretty setting. The gardens had wild humming birds buzzing around, which was magical. We were made very welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill & Shirley from Elk Grove, California

Loved staying at Babbling Brook

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Rooms with character.
Location: Handy restaurants on the nearby wharf. Boardwalk has lots of carnival rides including a full-size roller-coaster. A drive along the nearby sea cliffs.
Beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms with amenities. Evening cheese, olives, crackers, wine and veggies were awesome. Good location near central Santa Cruz and the beach. We met some nice swedish tourists at breakfast.